We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Carlton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't go”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Came home today, terrible experience. Room had urine on the floor which stunk. Complained on a few occasions but just passed a bottle of odour neutraliser which didn't work. Fully booked so couldn't change room. Didn't get a sorry at any point. Ran out of odour neutraliser so asked the duty manager and reiterated that the room smelt of urine but was only passed another bottle and she carried on with what she was doing. Asked to speak to the manager but she wouldn't let us speak to the general manager. Finally moved us the night before leaving. Don't stay in room 2 unless they rip the urine stinking carpet up. Also, make sure your food is cooked properly before eating it all! Location is good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OoLoopylauraoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Firstly thank you for your review I’m very concerned about your comments. I’m making a full investigation and will be contacting you in person in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    270
    137
    39
    26
See reviews for
100
325
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
frodsham uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Four of us spent four nights here on the 19th of August.The hotel is ideally situated on the front at Great Yarmouth,which is only 100 yards away.
We travelled on a self drive break,which included a sea view room.You can park no problem at night outside the hotel,but gets busy in the day,as it is free,and used by day trippers.Alternately you can book the carpark next door which belongs to the masonic lodge from the hotel at £5 a day.
The rooms were basic but clean,with a good bath/shower.Plenty of space for clothes etc.
The resturant was very good,with efficient and friendly staff.A choice of three or four dishes for all courses.The quality was excellent,as was the quantity and variety.
Entertainment was better than average,including a very good compere.
We found the whole visit excellent,and would have to "nitpick" to find any complaints.
Would recommend the hotel whole heartedly to anybody,good value for money

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunnerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your most positive review it really makes my day to receive such a glowing report of our lovely hotel. We are value for money and we like to give a five star service. I look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewsbury
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

traveled to the Carlton Hotel on a National Holiday 4 day break,hotel in a good position onto seafront, the reception was very modern staff were friendly and helpfull the dinning room was also very nice clean and tidy and was well set out.The waiters/waitress were very efficient/polite and friendly they couldnt do enough for you,good choice of meals well presented hotplates/ and the food was always hot when it came.The Ascot Bard a really was ok but reminded us more of a cafeteria than a bar. Our bedrooms were fine a little dated but clean and functional tea/coffee facilities plenty of hot water and clean towels and a really happy room maid very polite. The evening entertainment room/bar was nice plenty seating good barman.The entertainment was poor first night a comedian who was hopeless he just couldn't get the audience interested, second night it was the resident compare looked like Kenny Rodgers he was good had a nice voice and sang a mixture of songs he kept the people going and singing along, the last night there was no entertainment at all, this is poor because the majority of these coach tours are nearly always of a similar age group who do not want to have to go out on a evening to find other venues.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review I am really pleased that you found our hotel to your liking. I will certainly pass on your praise to all the staff. I look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This was the worst room ever stayed in. Why are singles penalised. Dog Kennel was bigger. Noisy rooms, you can hear other people in bathrooms, not pleasant. The double rooms overlooking the sea were spacious and looked ok. The corridors seemed to go on forever, and only one lift which was in middle of hotel. Miserable Coach driver from North West who couldn,t be bothered speaking seemed to set the mood for the holiday. Food not good even for budget hotel. The staff in dining room were exceptionally pleasant, and in all fairness the breakfast was good. The evening meals were worse than hospital food. They had different chefs during our break which may have accounted for this. Hotel parts quite shabby but bar area very pleasant. Drinks expensive. Great Yarmouth is the worst place ever visited shabby, not safe on back streets, and hotel quite a way from buses and shops. If disabled this Hotel would be difficult. If you are 10 years old and like slot machines, bouncy castles, fairground rides every yard this is for you. Trips to the broads were ok. One was very good on Mississipi boat. Bonus was Norwich lovely City with two Cathedrals. Wont be going back to Great Yarmouth or the Carlton.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daytripper336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your review, I apologise for any discomfort and inconvenience you had while staying with us at the Carlton. All our single rooms meet the required standards and we certainly do not penalise our single guests. I have to disagree regarding the public areas of the hotel, I know you like the Ascot Bar but other areas have been refurbish to a high standard and many of our regular guests have commented on how attractive the hotel is looking. I will pass your comments with reference to the food onto our head chef, Great Yarmouth has many things to offer for all ages.
Kind Regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Hotel sadly in need of a loving touch. Terrible bathroom, no room to move. Friendly staff and food reasonable. Had to negotiate around decorators and it was very cold. Couldn't see out of the windows they were so dirty.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 60yearswed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your review, pleased to hear my staff and food were to your liking. The decorators have left, leaving us with a beautiful bar and reception. I do hope you will return soon.
Kind Regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have been going to the Carlton for 15 years. It has always had good food, good staff and clean bedrooms. This time rooms were clean and most of the staff helpful. Sadly cannot say any thing good about the food. No flavour, over cooked, burnt, The beef on Sunday was the worst. I could not even cut my one slice. One roast potato for each person. Hard pressed to tell it was a roast potato. The Ascot bar is now a 3rd rate tea room. Will not be returning to this place again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your review, I am very sorry to hear your last visit to us was so disappointing; we really treasure our regular guests, especially after fifteen years, your part of our family. I will be making a full investigation into your concerns in reference to the food, as you know we are always credited on how excellent the quality of food is produced. The Ascot since its refurbishment has received very positive reviews, I do hope you reconsider and come to see us once again; you will be assured of a warm welcome.
Yours sincerely
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here on a 3 night weekend break and found it to be in our opinion the best Shearings hotel we have stayed at in the UK. Our room No.8 was very clean with good shower and comfortable bed. I think our room must have been over the kitchens as there was some noise early in the mornings when it sounded as if things were being delivered. The service in the dining room was excellent and food good, I wish the tea or coffee had been served at the table after the meal, not having to get it afterwards in the bar. Thought the entertainment was quite poor on the Friday night, but much better on the Saturday with the Kenny Rogers lookalike singer. Nothing on Sunday. Location was good, plenty of things to do and places to visit. All in all a most enjoyable value for money weekend break, thanks to the staff at the Carlton.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gizmotao17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am highly delighted you found our Carlton hotel to be one of the best!. With reference to tea and coffee, we have found most of our guests enjoy relaxing after dinner in our newly refurbish absolutely stunning Ascot bar with a coffee. I will pass on your praise to all the staff, who will be highly delighted to be mentioned.
Kind Regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#12 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Carlton Hotel

Property: Bay Carlton Hotel
Address: Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Great Yarmouth’s premier hotels, the Carlton is centrally located at the heart of Great Yarmouth’s recently modernised promenade. This elegant 97 bedroom Victorian hotel can accommodate most holiday requirements and all rooms are en suite, with hot beverage making facilities and colour Television. There is the opportunity to upgrade to sea view and Superior rooms in order to make the most of your stay at this hotel, and a comfortable and quiet lounge bar to relax in. For those looking for something livelier, there is a separate entertainment suite and dance floor with a programme operating most nights of the week. Like many of our hotels, the Carlton enjoys an enviable resort location and it is just a short stroll along the seafront to reach the town centre which offers a bustling market and plenty of shops to browse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Great Yarmouth
Carlton Great Yarmouth
Bay Carlton Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing