We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful taster break”
Review of Bay Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“wonderful taster break”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Had a taster break last weekend have been holidaying with Shearings for many years but this weekend was one of the best. Had a refurb room on second floor which was excellent value for money(costs an extra ten pounds each) We both enjoyed the entertainment which was varied to suit everyone. Meals were avarage but fine for our needs waiting staff did a sterling job to say they were short staffed. All in all a thoughley enjoyable stay

Room Tip: our room 233 was lovely , no noise on side of building but could just see the sea out of the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review this proves that our “taster breaks” give you the opportunity to experience at first hand our beautiful hotel, please return soon and stay a little longer with us next time.
Kind regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    287
    146
    41
    28
See reviews for
108
341
59
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

we visited the bay carlton over the weekend from the 27th september.
on check in first impression very nice ,..lounge area very comfortable bar area a little bit like a posh cafe but nice clean and comfortable.
then we were given our keys thats where the buts start..
whilst the room was very dated the bed was clean and comfortable .
its when you do a little unpacking you notice little thing that are avoidable with just a couple of minutes attention
the cleaners hoover must have been broken it was never used all week end .
she must have lost her dusters too the dressing table and bedside units were very dusty ..
to a few people this may sound like nit picking (heres another but )
the most important thing has to be the comfort of the guest its first impressions on entering your room ,...
it seems to be a theme with a lot of the shearings hotels make things look great when you walk through the front door and hope people are happy with what they get when they open the door to their room.,,
we had a young man waiting on our table and he was brilliant (heres another but) he spent nearly all weekend making apologies for down falls on the kitchen staff .,3 breakfasts and 3 evening meals all with things that are on the menu not available.,,not the waiters fault i have to add but very dissapointing from a guests point of view ..
all of these little problems could be over come if the manager gave some of the staff a little kick up the backside ,,
all in all we had a most enjoyable weekend and would we go back to the bay carlton YES.,
will the management read this review MAYBE will they do anthing i dont think so ./
shame really because they are little things that are easy to put right

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypojohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review, I am highly delighted you like the new look of our Ascots Bar we have had many good comments. I have noted your review in reference to the cleaning and waiting staff and can assure you I will be taking action and look forward to your return.
Kind regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Room 323 horrid.the smell was terrible.the room was filthy and dusty.the furniture old and worn, and holes in the curtains too.complained about the smell and told that they cannot get rid of the stink.sprayed with care home spray which caused a asthma attack.unable to use the bathroom.all windows open so we could breath.never again.a complete waste of £164.each.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryElliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I will be making a full investigation into all of your comments.
Kind regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at the carlton with national holidays which we found very enjoyable. The keys to our room were given out on the coach which saved the wait at reception. Our room at the side of the hotel had been re decorated with a good size bathroom was very clean and welcoming.. Our meals, both breakfast and evening meal were of a good standard and nicely presented by our cheerful waiter. In all ways very good value for money. The chef we thought deserves 5 stars.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank artlesval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your glittering review, I will certainly pass on your comments to all of our team!.
Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The public rooms of this hotel have just been re-furbished, and are clean and fresh, it is unfortunate that this was not extended to the rest of the hotel. On going up to our room stair carpet badly worn, room badly in need of redecoration and a good clean, the bed was extremely uncomfortable and to add to that, some guests were smoking in their rooms, and consequently setting the fire alarm off, for 4 consecutive nights, which did not lead to a good nights rest.The food was very good ,and the waiter service was very good , they work very hard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james9james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review we have an ongoing refurbishment programme, I apologise for the “smoking” guest who continually avoided our detection.

Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Efficient friendly welcome. Stayed in Room 137. Very dowdy and badly in need of a makeover. Very basic. Clean but dated. Food good but very limited choice if arriving late in Restaurant. Good location. By far the worst Bay Hotel i've stayed in. Young Polish girl in Restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: Definitely not 137
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GymBunny1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Firstly thank you for your review I am highly delighted you found us efficient, friendly and the food good. I will look into your other comments.
Kind regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have just returned from 8 days at the Carlton Hotel with Shearings. This hotel is in urgent need of a facelift. We were in room 323 on third floor. A nice big room but take a look at the window frames, filthy. The rubbish bin was just a "rust bucket" covered up with a plastic bag. Surely a cheap plastic bin would help . Food was average and only one piece of butter supplied per person , the fact that the waiter twice forgot about us as we were sitting right in the corner of the room did not help. The new look in the reception area consists of a dark grey paint on the fireplace and the reception desk, Colditz springs to mind. Come on Shearings, not a lot of cash needed to put these things right.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor as the floors creak with every step, pity the poor people on the floors below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your review I feel your review is quiet harsh, over the past year we have invested many thousands of pounds into the Carlton all of the public areas are refurbished. We also have an ongoing refurbishment plan in the bedrooms. I will certainly follow up all other comments.
Kind Regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
190 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,058 reviews
0.6 mi away
The New Beach Hotel
The New Beach Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Carlton Hotel

Property: Bay Carlton Hotel
Address: Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Great Yarmouth’s premier hotels, the Carlton is centrally located at the heart of Great Yarmouth’s recently modernised promenade. This elegant 97 bedroom Victorian hotel can accommodate most holiday requirements and all rooms are en suite, with hot beverage making facilities and colour Television. There is the opportunity to upgrade to sea view and Superior rooms in order to make the most of your stay at this hotel, and a comfortable and quiet lounge bar to relax in. For those looking for something livelier, there is a separate entertainment suite and dance floor with a programme operating most nights of the week. Like many of our hotels, the Carlton enjoys an enviable resort location and it is just a short stroll along the seafront to reach the town centre which offers a bustling market and plenty of shops to browse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Great Yarmouth
Carlton Great Yarmouth
Bay Carlton Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing