We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend in yarmouth”
Review of Bay Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just had our 8th visit to the Carlton..we had the same room 203 that we usually have so we liked that...a sea view and near the lift. Food was good and entertainment ok...one thing I would like to comment on this time they have done away with the optics in the bar and using measures..being ex barstaff I cannot understand this as it is old fashioned to use a measure and more work for the barman...otherwise all was really good.

Room Tip: choose a good room with a sea view and near the lift
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear my staff are keeping up our first class standards, I’m sorry you did not approve of the room we would have transferred you if it was at all possible.
Kind regards
Paul Betts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
There are newer reviews for Bay Carlton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Had a taster break last weekend have been holidaying with Shearings for many years but this weekend was one of the best. Had a refurb room on second floor which was excellent value for money(costs an extra ten pounds each) We both enjoyed the entertainment which was varied to suit everyone. Meals were avarage but fine for our needs waiting staff did a sterling job to say they were short staffed. All in all a thoughley enjoyable stay

Room Tip: our room 233 was lovely , no noise on side of building but could just see the sea out of the window...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review this proves that our “taster breaks” give you the opportunity to experience at first hand our beautiful hotel, please return soon and stay a little longer with us next time.
Kind regards
Paul Betts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

we visited the bay carlton over the weekend from the 27th september.
on check in first impression very nice ,..lounge area very comfortable bar area a little bit like a posh cafe but nice clean and comfortable.
then we were given our keys thats where the buts start..
whilst the room was very dated the bed was clean and comfortable .
its when you do a little unpacking you notice little thing that are avoidable with just a couple of minutes attention
the cleaners hoover must have been broken it was never used all week end .
she must have lost her dusters too the dressing table and bedside units were very dusty ..
to a few people this may sound like nit picking (heres another but )
the most important thing has to be the comfort of the guest its first impressions on entering your room ,...
it seems to be a theme with a lot of the shearings hotels make things look great when you walk through the front door and hope people are happy with what they get when they open the door to their room.,,
we had a young man waiting on our table and he was brilliant (heres another but) he spent nearly all weekend making apologies for down falls on the kitchen staff .,3 breakfasts and 3 evening meals all with things that are on the menu not available.,,not the waiters fault i have to add but very dissapointing from a guests point of view ..
all of these little problems could be over come if the manager gave some of the staff a little kick up the backside ,,
all in all we had a most enjoyable weekend and would we go back to the bay carlton YES.,
will the management read this review MAYBE will they do anthing i dont think so ./
shame really because they are little things that are easy to put right

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypojohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your review, I am highly delighted you like the new look of our Ascots Bar we have had many good comments. I have noted your review in reference to the cleaning and waiting staff and can assure you I will be taking action and look forward to your return.
Kind regards
Paul Betts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Room 323 horrid.the smell was terrible.the room was filthy and dusty.the furniture old and worn, and holes in the curtains too.complained about the smell and told that they cannot get rid of the stink.sprayed with care home spray which caused a asthma attack.unable to use the bathroom.all windows open so we could breath.never again.a complete waste of £164.each.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryElliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I will be making a full investigation into all of your comments.
Kind regards
Paul Betts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at the carlton with national holidays which we found very enjoyable. The keys to our room were given out on the coach which saved the wait at reception. Our room at the side of the hotel had been re decorated with a good size bathroom was very clean and welcoming.. Our meals, both breakfast and evening meal were of a good standard and nicely presented by our cheerful waiter. In all ways very good value for money. The chef we thought deserves 5 stars.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank artlesval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your glittering review, I will certainly pass on your comments to all of our team!.
Kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The public rooms of this hotel have just been re-furbished, and are clean and fresh, it is unfortunate that this was not extended to the rest of the hotel. On going up to our room stair carpet badly worn, room badly in need of redecoration and a good clean, the bed was extremely uncomfortable and to add to that, some guests were smoking in their rooms, and consequently setting the fire alarm off, for 4 consecutive nights, which did not lead to a good nights rest.The food was very good ,and the waiter service was very good , they work very hard.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james9james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your review we have an ongoing refurbishment programme, I apologise for the “smoking” guest who continually avoided our detection.

Kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Efficient friendly welcome. Stayed in Room 137. Very dowdy and badly in need of a makeover. Very basic. Clean but dated. Food good but very limited choice if arriving late in Restaurant. Good location. By far the worst Bay Hotel i've stayed in. Young Polish girl in Restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: Definitely not 137
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GymBunny1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Firstly thank you for your review I am highly delighted you found us efficient, friendly and the food good. I will look into your other comments.
Kind regards
Paul Betts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,075 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Carlton Hotel

Address: Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £84 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Great Yarmouth’s premier hotels, the Carlton is centrally located at the heart of Great Yarmouth’s recently modernised promenade. This elegant 97 bedroom Victorian hotel can accommodate most holiday requirements and all rooms are en suite, with hot beverage making facilities and colour Television. There is the opportunity to upgrade to sea view and Superior rooms in order to make the most of your stay at this hotel, and a comfortable and quiet lounge bar to relax in. For those looking for something livelier, there is a separate entertainment suite and dance floor with a programme operating most nights of the week. Like many of our hotels, the Carlton enjoys an enviable resort location and it is just a short stroll along the seafront to reach the town centre which offers a bustling market and plenty of shops to browse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Great Yarmouth
Carlton Great Yarmouth
Bay Carlton Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing