We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another lovely 5 day break at the carlton”
Review of Bay Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“another lovely 5 day break at the carlton”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

this was our 9th visit to the carlton gt Yarmouth...we had a lovely room with a sea view 317 best yet...the food was good as was the entertainment..and dave the compere was still there...the singer lisa marie was just brill we enjoyed all of it looking forward to our 10th

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you Janet Y for your glowing review, it goes to show by your review, that we must be doing something right that you want to come back for your 10th visit! hope its soon? I look forward to your return.
Kind regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    289
    146
    41
    28
See reviews for
108
342
60
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

just returned from another great weekend at the carlton hotel. Brilliant room 2 sea view windows . great food , excellent staff. this place suits us down to the ground. An added bonus was 4 free drinks on Saturday which which was also our anniversary , so thank you for that. We have been going to the carlton since 1998 and hope to return many more times as long as they keep their very reasonable rates. thank you all !

Room Tip: don't go expecting 5 star for their very reasonable rates then you will have nothing to complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emtee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you emtee_12 for your wonderful review, "Happy Anniversary" great to hear you had a fab one! we all look forward to your speedy return!
kind regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

hi,,
have just returned from a 5 day break with shearings holidays at the above hotel. from being picked up by our feeder coach to being returned to our home town i cannot fault this holiday.. Comfortable journey with a safe driver called Derek.
Hotel spotlessly clean, nice newly decorated and furnished room opposite the sea front, warm and very comfortable. hotel is slowly being refitted, but no inconvenience noted.
food excellent, lots of good choices,always hot and pleasantly served, good portions . Staff extremely polite,helpful and friendly. Excursions to Cromer,Lowestoft,Norwich very good.
Broad villages nice and really quite busy for time of year.
Evening entertainment led by Dave Austin good and 4 free drinks per person per day, superb.
all in all a superb value for money break---not sure how they do it.
Will visit again, thoroughly enjoyed. thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12172013ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you Christine H, for your most glowing review, so wonderful to get good honest comments and great to know you had a brilliant time at the Carlton, hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Had a brilliant weekend with shearings coaches, very nice staff and to have a recently renovated sea view room was a bonus which was on the 1st floor. Fabulous food the choices were excellent our waitress was a bit frought at times and would mumble and moan about the customer's she served not in their earshot. Our only one gripe is that the floor boards in the rooms need nailing down the room above and also our room squeaked at every movement. Apart from this minor issue we have to say what a much needed relaxing break !!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you Tracie S for your wonderful review, great to hear you enjoyed the delicious food and our stunning renovated sea view room, the hotel dates back to 1860, so she does creak a little, I do apologise for any inconvenience caused. I look forward to your return.
kind regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I would not recommend this hotel as a place to stay in Great Yarmouth if booking direct, but if a cheap trip is acceptable the price charged by National Holidays for the overall package is ok.
The food was good value & served by well motivated staff to a menu that changed daily. The room was serviced daily to a good standard, but the whole of the hotel needs a lot of major work to bring it up to good standard. Generally the hot water & heating was a source of much trouble to most of the travellers during our stay

Room Tip: Some rooms are reported to have been updated, ours hadn't but ask for the updated rooms if avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you Mick H for your review, many of our guests return every year because the hotel offers extremely good value and service, either by coach or self drive. I am sorry to hear you had a problem with the heating & water, these have now been rectified and more bedrooms are being updated as I write. I do hope you will come and visit the hotel again in the near future, your be amazed at the transformation.
Kind regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Carlton is one of the few Bay Hotels that we had not visited before and generally it compares very favourably with others in the Group. We were able to park in the spaces immediately across the hotel frontage. First impression is that it needs a bit of TLC to the frontage with peeling paintwork and rubbish gathering by the front door in the wind. However, the receptionist handled our arrival efficiently. We had paid the Standard Plus supplement and it was well worth it as the room had modern furniture and looked more inviting than some of the other rooms that we saw that had very dark old furniture. Although it was mid March we found the room very warm - even with the radiator turned off and the window open. We must compliment the Staff and the organisation of the Restaurant which was first class - quick service, good food and friendly Waiters. Now for the irritations: a) The reception was not manned on two occasions when we wanted to reclaim our key and there was no bell or buzzer to ring. I was about to embarrass my wife by climbing over the counter when the telephone rang and a waiter eventually came to answer it and gave us our room key. b) On our arrival I read throuh the Guest Information Booklet in our room and saw that page 12 (Restaurant Times) was missing so I went to reception to see if I could get a copy of the missing page. The receptionist was talking to another client and I spoke with a barman who appeared to be helping out on reception. Unfortunately he didn't seem to know what I was talking about (possibly he was not aware that each room has an Information booklet?). He did not even ask for my room number (235) to rectify the oversight!! c) We decided, on the Saturday lunch time, to have a snack in the Ascot Bar. Andy, a young barman asked if he could help and I asked "What soup is it today?" he replied "I don't know - I don't normally do this job." Fair enough I thought but he didn't offer to find out what the soup of the day was. So I ordered my second choice which was a Ham toastie plus a toasted teacake for my wife. Several minutes later Andy appeared and announced "It's the chef's fault - he hasn't got any ham." My wife asked "Do you have any turkey or chicken?" "I don't think so" said Andy. So eventually Andy trotted back to the kitchen with a fourth choice order for a tomato and cheese toastie. Finally the ordered toastie arrived but the teacake, complete with a portion of butter was minus a knife to spread it with!! - again another dash by Andy to the kitchen. The whole incident was treated by all parties with good humour but it does raise the question - was Andy just lacking experience and a bit of nous or should Management have given him some basic training.?
All in all we enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Carlton - not spoiled too much by the highlighted failures.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkstma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you parkstma for your review, I have taken on all your comments and will be put into action a.s.a.p. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention, I do hope you will return soon and see for yourself the improvements made!
kind regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Retired couple travelling for 5 days by coach. 4 nights bed and breakfast and evening meal for 2 cost 174 pounds. Food was very good, big portions and tasty and it included 4 drinks per person per night included - couldn't beat that. Jane our waitress was friendly and efficient. The bedroom was lovely and clearn on the third floor with a nice sea view. Housekeeping were very good and left the room spotless - thanks Maja! In the evening there was entertainment, which was brilliant - very entertaining - Bingo, quiz, Dancing, singers, comedian and compared very well by Dave - the double of Kenny Rogers! My only moan is that Table 7 in the dining room is by the door and very drafty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bott-the-golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you Bott-the-golfer for your "Great" review, all the staff and myself, we love to get reviews like yours, it makes all our hard work worth it! thank you so very much.
kind regards
Paul Betts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
492 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
191 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,059 reviews
0.6 mi away
The New Beach Hotel
The New Beach Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Carlton Hotel

Property: Bay Carlton Hotel
Address: Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Great Yarmouth’s premier hotels, the Carlton is centrally located at the heart of Great Yarmouth’s recently modernised promenade. This elegant 97 bedroom Victorian hotel can accommodate most holiday requirements and all rooms are en suite, with hot beverage making facilities and colour Television. There is the opportunity to upgrade to sea view and Superior rooms in order to make the most of your stay at this hotel, and a comfortable and quiet lounge bar to relax in. For those looking for something livelier, there is a separate entertainment suite and dance floor with a programme operating most nights of the week. Like many of our hotels, the Carlton enjoys an enviable resort location and it is just a short stroll along the seafront to reach the town centre which offers a bustling market and plenty of shops to browse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Great Yarmouth
Carlton Great Yarmouth
Bay Carlton Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing