We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well done”

Time and Tide Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Set in one of the UK's best preserved Victorian herring curing works, Time & Tide tells the story of Great Yarmouth from its Ice Age origins to the present day. Experience the heady atmosphere of a 1950s fish wharf and take the wheel of a steam drifter. Hear gripping tales of wreck and rescue and meet some of the colourful characters who made their living from the sea.Discover the town's rich maritime heritage and its development as a popular seaside resort. Wander down a tupical 1913 'Row' and see inside the homes of a local fisherman and his neighbours.Explore the smokehouses, where the lingering aroma of smoked herring is a reminder of times gone by.See website for details of of our events programme.Shop and cafe also available. For all other enquiries please see the website or telephone the museum.
Overstrand, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well done”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This historic place is very well done , lots to look at and very interesting , well worth a visit , i recommend a visit to anyone

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank robert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    127
    21
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Well worth a visit. Great for all ages. Hard to find, not many signs but keep looking. Restaurant is good value for money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gt Yarmouth,Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Would revisit !!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Went here on a trip with my dad (76) and daughter (27), we all live in Gt Yarmouth so we know abit of its history. My grandfather worked at a kipper house and the smell of the rooms reminded us of him. We could have spent more time in here but sadly my dad was very tired.
The price is very reasonable and you can hire a headphone set to go round, I feel you would have to know abit about Gt Yarmouth before visiting as it tells the story of the fishing industry from years ago. We ate in the cafe which I must say was excellent and very good value for money, all in all a very good place to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tazzie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Museum for adults and kids alike”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visitied the T&T museum on Saturday, this was our second visit. The museum is very well laid out and has some interesting facts and information about Yarmouth and its fishing industry.
The best bit is the areas where the fish used to be smoked, it still smells lovely :-)
Great for children and adults, theres lots of interactive activities to partake in.
A lovely gift shop and cafe onsite too. Entrance for a family of up to 5 is £12.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cat1Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timet123, Staff at Time and Tide Museum, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your positive review; we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. It's our 10th year as a museum and we have all sorts of family events planned throughout the summer so do come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Local Day Out”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Only from Lowestoft but drove down to the museum for a day out. really enjoyed it the information given was great and we all learned a lot! Thank you

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank edunne29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Time and Tide Museum also viewed

Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Time and Tide Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing