We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A typical British seaside hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nelson Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A typical British seaside hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We visited the Nelson with a sports tour group and started with low expectations primarily because I've stayed in UK seaside hotels before. They always seem to be timemachines from another era, full of OAP's where getting a late drink means having a Horlicks after 9pm.
In many ways the Nelson lives up to this stereotype but the breakfast was good, our room reasonably spacious and the whole place kept clean & tidy. The evening menu could be described as 'traditional' although there was what the menu described as an 'International dish of the day'.....it was spagetti bolognese !! However to be fair the roast chicken was fine & not expensive.
As for the bar if you like an aging crooner singing Kenny Rodgers songs to an audience of 5 OAP's, two of whom are playing scrabble then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Whilst our rooms facing the front were reasonably spacious, there are some more cramped rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxton_russian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    78
    64
    31
    27
See reviews for
65
105
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We just turned up and was welcomed by Bernie & John, who we instantly clicked with. We was given a lovely double double room at an excellent price.
The guys found out it was our anniversary and we got an upgrade and was made to feel so welcome by all the staff.
The hotel is in need of some TLC but it was clean and friendly that it didn't really matter.
Will 100% be booking this hotel again.
Tania & John

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TT23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Upon arrival we were greated by a lovely receptionist and given our room key. To my delight we were given a free upgrade to a gorgeous suite. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you for a lovely stay, I just wished we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimheadboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

It was the worst experience ever. The rooms were old and dated and smelt, the plug sockets were loose, the window was way too high to reach so could not close the window, the bed sheets smelt, there was no duvet, just a bed sheet to cover with. The mattress was old and curved in, We were literally sleeping on the springs. The bathroom had no complimentary shampoo or toothpaste. The floor was dipped in as if there was floor board missing, it advertises free wi-fi, when asked for code manager said "You don't need one it connects automatically" that was a lie. There was a private party going on which went on until god knows what time in the morning, this was not advertised, if we were aware we would have chose a different hotel. We had no where to park in the hotel car park because they let the party take all the spaces, there was hardly anyone at the desk to help us. The rooms were tiny all it fit was a single cupboard and the bed, there was no room to move about. The only time we were noticed was when we arrived and paid, there was no warm welcoming or anything. It is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at, For the money I paid I did not receive any kind of hotel service at all. We slept on top of the bed with our clothes on that's how badly looked after the hotel is.There is no kind of hygiene there whatsoever. I was disgusted with how badly run and looked after the hotel actually is. So if any one actually takes into account reviews, I highly recommend you do not stay at this hotel and choose one based upon good review. We had the best time away from the hotel and on few occasions actually thought about leaving and sleeping in the car. Hope my review was helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saricadi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Had a fantastic weekend with the family celebrating my fathers 70th, All the staff are very friendly and were very accomadating, They made all of us very welcome and went out their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Big thank you to Berni, Suzane ,Sheila , Phil. and the rest of the team.
Would recomend and definately go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwok113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at our hotel. I am delighted to read that you and your family had such an enjoyable time. Your comments and support are very much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and once again thank you for your very kind words.

Kind regards,

Bernie Korycki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Staff were great; nothing was too much bother. Food was excellent; plenty of choices and piping hot! Room (on 3rd floor) was very comnfortable and bathroom was huge! Hair dryer not working but reception provided one for the period of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanorsharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at The Nelson Hotel in Great Yarmouth. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time with us.
I hope you will be able to return in the future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance. In the meantime, thank you once again for your kind words and for choosing The Nelson Hotel.

Kind regards,
Bernie Korycki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

my family and i stayed here for 2 nights at the end of may 11. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was faultless, but, to wake up at 1.30am because some one was hovering was not acceptable (or what sounded like it). There were tea stains on the wall / skirting on the landing stairs and the dirt on the skirting boards/ bath panels in the bathroom need attention, never the less, a pleasant hotel. Not sure if this is a family hotel though as the entertainment goes on until past 11pm and my 3 and 5 yr old were unable to sleep as we could hear everything from upstairs.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tilly0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear Guest,
I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review following your recent stay at our hotel.
Thank you also for your construcitve comments. We will of course take these on board.
In the meantime, thank you once again for your kind words and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.
Kind regards,

Bernie Korycki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Carlton Hotel
Bay Carlton Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Hotel

Property: The Nelson Hotel
Address: 1 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nelson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson Hotel is a Grade II listed property that is situated on Marine Parade directly opposite the Sea Life Centre and Wellington Pier. The Nelson is an AA 3 Star Hotel that affords excellent views of the sea front and the promenade.Parking is available free of charge in front of the Hotel, although the car park does not belong to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing