We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good at all! Dont make the same mistake I made....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Nelson Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good at all! Dont make the same mistake I made....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Booked this hotel through booking.com on the 15th april 2014 for 2 days. Canclelled my booking immediately after reading the reviews and getting very dissapointed. Booking.com stated that my card would only be charged when I presented it at the hotel. This was not the case. My card was charged a total of 140 pounds (full charge) and booking.com were unable to recover my money from Nelson Hotel. Adam from Booking.com supposedly rang Nelson to request them to refund the money because the cancellation was made within 10 minutes of the booking but they still refused. In other words, they kept their room and my money and that did not seem to bother them. May God deal with you Nelson Hotel.
Tabbie

Room Tip: read the reviews before booking.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRushworth01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your review. However you are being less than honest with the review. Firstly you made the booking through Booking.Com at short notice and as such were liable for the full payment of the booking especially when you cancelled within 10 minutes, as you say. The conditions of the booking are clearly listed in the Terms & Conditions in the booking.com website and when you cancelled you were liable for the full amount which was notified to you at the time by Booking.Com. You can book a room through Booking.Com without this cancellation charge but again this is clearly notified at the time of the booking. Booking.Com were right in stating that we do not take payment, except the deposit which is taken at the time of the booking, until you check in. But because you cancelled with the times stipulated in the terms & conditions you immediately became liable for the full amount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    75
    63
    31
    27
See reviews for
65
101
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here recently and although the staff were very informal and rough around the edges with regards to customer service they were nice. First impressions on the outside was wow, got inside and it was OMG, very dated, uninviting and in need of a desperate refurb. The furniture in the room was old and rickety, badly stained and the pillows has no substance in them. The mattresses are very uncomfortable and you can count the springs on your back as you try to sleep. The room was very dusty and dirty and the shower I couldn't control the temperature and ended up burning my legs when the temperature changed on its own, good knows how the older generation cope as I can still move quiet quickly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRushworth01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
I am at odds to understand your review as on the date you stated that you stayed at the Hotel, The Nelson was in fact closed for the winter season and actually re-open in about 10 days time. Clearly this is a malicious review and should be viewed as such and was reported to Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed at The Nelson in December after booking a Suite for my partner and I. We arrived early and were allowed into our room, His Lordship's Suite, prior to the normal 3pm check in without any fuss. We were greeted by the Manager (John?) who handled our arrival very professionally and were given all the appropriate information needed to make our stay more enjoyable, even reserving a table in the restaurant for that evening. Our suite had fantastic views of the sea front and along the prom. After reading other reviews of this Hotel I must admit I was a little apprehensive but I need not have been as everything was as you would expect. The previous issues regarding furniture, as reported by previous reviewers have been addressed, certainly in our suite they had and a new settee was in situ. The room was clean, tidy with ample tea/coffee facilities available, the bedroom even had a new bed also.
We came down for dinner on time and were greeted again by the Manager who was very busy behind the bar serving a coach party. Dinner was good, although the Hotel was in the middle of their T&T tours the food that was served was well cooked, well presented and not the usual frozen produce that you get elsewhere which was perfectly adequate for what we were paying.
Breakfast in the morning was a joy, I would definitely recommend the Lowestoft Smoked Kipper and after complimenting the waitress, I was informed that the Manager picks them up personally from The Old Smoke House in Lowestoft.
Later that morning my partner and I asked if we could move to one of the suites that has a jacuzzi bath, this request I thought would be an issue but to my surprise it was not. The request was greeted very professionally and we were allowed to move; our bags were even placed in the new suite for us. The Abigail Suite boasted new furniture also, leather this time, and I was told it was called the Yarmouth Settee, how apt. I was very impressed by the attitude of all the staff involved. We did not eat in the restaurant this evening but asked at reception where we could go for a good meal. We were given lots of information and depending on what style of food you like, lots of options, nothing too much trouble there.
On check out the Manager (John?) was there again and he asked if we had enjoyed our stay. I said we had and it was a fantastic break and well worth it. We chatted about the work that is being done at the Hotel and he was very honest and forthcoming about the plans for The Nelson. He informed me that they have refurbished 11 bedrooms in all plus some work in the three suites which includes the new furniture. Some of the public areas have also been refurbished and more is planned for this year. Its nice to chat to a Hotelier who is very proud of their Hotel and someone who is honest towards their guests.
No The Nelson is not 5 or even 4 star, if you wish to pay this kind of money then fine there are establishments that will charge you an arm and a leg for exactly what you get here, what you get is good honest seaside accommodation, professionally run with the best staff I have ever met. I would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Either pay that little extra for a suite or book a double with a prom view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to John and his team who will be pleased to read them.

We believe that we offer value for money compared with other hotels in Great Yarmouth and were pleased to see that you found this to be the case. We pride ourselves on the level of service provided and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexhill on sea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Yes, the Nelson Hotel is in need of a makeover and needs more use of a duster, but it has a decent lift, spacious lounges, big bar and separate entertainment venue down under.
Our bed was clean and comfy, spacious bathroom, sea view (which we don't usually get!) Excellent position for everything. Food was very good (especially the breakfasts - try the Lowestoft kippers) Staff were quick and attentive. Good idea to have more than one dining room, what more could you want?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catwomanBexhillOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us recently.

I was extremely pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to John and his team who I know will appreciate the feedback. Your comments certainly reflect what we strive to achieve so thank you again.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed in "His Lordships suite" not cheap yet (white) sofa was so stained cushions turned over pink underneath??? Blanket on one end to cover stains Whole sofa should be replaced. Absolutely filthy didn't want to sit on it. Lampshades broken stained bathroom ceiling.
Dining room needs totally modernising its like stepping back in time, a worn out 70's look.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel.

Your comments have been duly noted and rest assured we are working hard on improving our facilities. We are aware that there are some areas which require upgrading.

I will discuss your comments with the Hotel Manager and organise replacement shades for those which are damaged.

Our apologies for the old sofas, we do already have new sofas on order and are currently awaiting delivery of these. With regards to the dining room decor we do have a refurbishment plan in place and we are looking to address this area in our closed season.

Bedroom refurbishment and redecoration is already underway and the feedback on those completed has been positive.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

after being rudely told by our previous hotel they were full for an extra night we called this hotel and spoke to Jackie on reception not only did they have a vacant room but she was so helpful and a pleasure to deal with

we stayed there bed and breakfast

the room was very clean and spacious

went to breakfast the next morning sat watching the seafront cereals, fruit and juice in a side room and cooked breakfast, ta and coffee etc served at the table and not rushed to eat
a beautiful experience and although the decor needs updating they were planning more decoration. dont care about decor staff were fabulous and so helpful. but can assure you had it not been for Jackie being so kind and helpful we would not have found this hotel thank you to her keep up the good work see you soon

Room Tip: sea front facing room looks across the seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynebazeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to John and his team who will be pleased to read them.

We pride ourselves on the level of service We have an ongoing maintenance programme across our hotel group and agree there are some areas which need upgrading, however we pride ourselves on the level of service and hospitality provided and which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyng
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel is in a great location just across the road from the beach and has plenty (in October) of parking out front. We stayed in a Suite which was large, if a little run down (I understand a program of renovation is being undertaken). For the price we paid though it was good value - the breakfast was excellent and all the staff we saw were very friendly. I guess that the hotel is a reflection of the town as a whole - slightly rundown, a bit outdated but undergoing some much needed improvements and renovation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewClareFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us.

We have an ongoing maintenance programme across our hotel group and agree there are some areas which need upgrading, however we pride ourselves on the level of service and hospitality provided and which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#19 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Carlton Hotel
Bay Carlton Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Hotel

Property: The Nelson Hotel
Address: 1 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nelson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson Hotel is a Grade II listed property that is situated on Marine Parade directly opposite the Sea Life Centre and Wellington Pier. The Nelson is an AA 3 Star Hotel that affords excellent views of the sea front and the promenade.Parking is available free of charge in front of the Hotel, although the car park does not belong to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing