We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Nelson Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I enjoyed 5 days at the Nelson Hotel week commencing 4 August.
The hotel is in a prime, central location and our accommodation was superb with wonderful views of both the beach and promenade.
John, the manager, and all his staff were very accommodating to our needs with nothing too much trouble.
The breakfast was excellent; well cooked and presented.
We thoroughly enjoyed the evening entertainment.
Overall, 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: sea and promenade rooms have an excellent outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlynnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRushworth01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your review and I am very pleased to hear that both of you enjoyed yourselves in Great Yarmouth. As you point out, we do occupy a prime site on the seafront in Yarmouth and we are extremely popular both with families and couples alike because we offer very good value for money. Again many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    75
    63
    31
    27
See reviews for
65
101
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked as a last minute get away and got a great room for a bargain price.
Fantastic location, very helpful staff.
Room was lovely, little worn but still very nice.
Breakfast was lovely and couldn't fault the service.
Overall brilliant few days away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyjayne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRushworth01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We feel that we offer great value for money compared to other sea front establishments and your review confirms this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked this last minute after an online search for an impromptu night away. John was very welcoming when we arrived giving all the information we needed for our stay. We were in room 202 that had a lovely sea view . It was small but newly decorated and clean with a standard bath and shower. Breakfast was lovely and the staff was polite. Granted this wasn't the poshest hotel I've ever stayed in but for a traditional seaside hotel it was exactly what I expected. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRushworth01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The room you were allocated is one of our recent refurbished rooms, having completed 19 in total now although the refurbishment programme is on hold at the moment due to the summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The room were nice and had a good weekend, found the lady on the reception rude. We went to the restaurant and the lady working in there was really friendly and polite & the food is good value for money. probably wouldn't stay there again, Location was good at night as was able to go to the arcades and the town. Also asked for a fan on the first night and didn't get one until the last night when really they should have one for every room!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmamay94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRushworth01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you found one of my staff rude, although this seems to be a one off as most of the comments about my staff are very complimentary. We were unable to supply an extra fan as they were is use in other bedrooms although it was supplied as one became available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was part of a group of 30 bowlers who spent a week at the hotel during a very hot week in July, where air-conditioning would have been marvellous. However it was not to be, but the hotel gave us great service, good food and it was comfortable. The hotel is well positioned over-looking the sandy beaches on Marine Parade, but somewhat surrounded by a vast array of fast food outlets & amusement arcades, if you like that sort of thing. The town is about 20 minutes away, but if you walk away from the beach area and head for the harbour area, South Quay, there is an entirely different world to explore. Various museums, interesting places like Gt.Yarmouth Potteries and a vast array of properties in the Heritage Quarter of South Quay.
The hotel does have the benefit of a large amount of free parking right outside, which is a bonus and help with your luggage is included.

Room Tip: A room on the front of the hotel & sea facing is good as you have the benefit of a constant sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRushworth01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for writing your review after your recent stay with us and I am pleasedt evrything was to your liking. It was a pleasure having your Bowls Team here with us and I know they all enjoyed themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Spent a lovely couple of nights here for our anniversary. The staff were very pleasant & the food was very good. Yes - the hotel is a bit tired, but it is a 3 * victorian hotel. It was clean & tidy. If you want a 5 * service in 5* rooms - then book a 5 * hotel and leave these quaint seaside hotels alone ! We were unexpectadly upgraded to a suite which was lovely. The location was perfect - opposite Sealife & on the seafront. We will definately go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadejenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRushworth01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review and I am pleased that everything was to your liking. We feel that we offer good value for money compared to other establishments on Great Yarmouth seafront which is why we are extremely popular with both coach parties and private guests alike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of a coach tour with Grand Uk,owners of this hotel.Attic room allocated was clean,shower was challenging with hot water variable.Wash basin plug was in two pieces,bathroom had two broken tiles at bottom of wall.Lounge area was pleasant with armchairs etc.Food,breakfast had good selection with cereals and hot and cold selection.Dinner, 3 course choice plus coffee.Quality varied,soup usually poor roast dinner good,portions of fresh veg large.serving staff varied most days waiting time about 25mins from ordering.

Room Tip: Top floors quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frank t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRushworth01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your review and in the main I believe that you enjoyed yourself. I feel we do offer good value for money compared to other establishments on Great Yarmouth seafront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#19 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Carlton Hotel
Bay Carlton Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Hotel

Property: The Nelson Hotel
Address: 1 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nelson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson Hotel is a Grade II listed property that is situated on Marine Parade directly opposite the Sea Life Centre and Wellington Pier. The Nelson is an AA 3 Star Hotel that affords excellent views of the sea front and the promenade.Parking is available free of charge in front of the Hotel, although the car park does not belong to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing