We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Courtyard Guest House
Ranked #1 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply lovely”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The Courtyard was recommended by a friend who knows Great Yarmouth well, and having stayed there we can honestly say that this is the nicest guest house we have been to for a very long time.
The house itself is well situated near the sea front, just far enough back to be off the main tourist track, but close to all the attractions. We stayed in the premier family room on the top floor, and couldn't fault it. The room was spotless, fresh, and very tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable, and the room had ample alternative seating options. There was also plenty of storage space. The bathroom was clean and well lit, a detail sadly lacking in some other guest houses. And to top it all, we were treated to a stunning sea view from the balcony.
Breakfast was served in the cosy breakfast room on the ground floor. Although small, the room did not feel cramped even when full of guests. The food itself was lovely, and Karen and Alan were happy to accommodate us by offering an alternative vegetarian fried breakfast.
Overall, we were very impressed, and booked to stay again before we left.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFabCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    6
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
102
113
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now and have found it excellent each time. The rooms are lovely, the breakfast great and the location could not be better. The room at the top has am amazing view as well.

My partners children live nearby and now that we have discovered this gem we will book it each time we are there.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Having stayed at this guesthouse on numerous occasions we were shocked to read the insulting review as we have only ever had excellent service and hospitality from Alan and Karen. We have stayed in most of the rooms and they are all exceptionally clean and comfortable. The service, standard and choice at breakfast is excellent. We have enjoyed this guesthouse at least three times a year for the past four years ........... That should speak for itself. Joyce and Noel

Room Tip: All the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Courtyard. This was our third visit here in as many years. We always ask for the top room. As its a large room with ensuit including a large shower cubical including an electric shower. There are plenty of clean towels which are changed daily. The room is ample big enought and can sleep upto 4 people There are french doors leading onto a small balcony with a sea view. Not recommended if you have walking difficulties. The decor is bright and kept very clean throughout. Breakfast includes cereal toast juice tea or coffee and freshly cooked full English. The only down side and I think it might be a problem during the high season is the parking although I must admit that we had no trouble finding a spot each time we returned. The b&b does supply a visitors parking card for free parking around the area which they ask for a £20 returnable deposit on your departure. I'm sure that it would cost far more if you payed on the parking meters.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helianthus16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

so where do i start here we are a family with 3 kids and we normaly stay in the malbough guest house in Trafalgar Road · Great Yarmouth
but on this time they never had any rooms as it was october half term so we thought we would stay at THE COURTYARD GUEST HOUSE NORFOLK, NR30 2LD GREAT YARMOUTH, TRAFALGAR ROAD when we arrived at this place we was told we had to pay a £20 pound deposit for the parking permit incase we stole it or lost it we was then told my kids would not get a full breakfast as they was kids bearing in mind the oldest is 14 and the youngest is 8 we said they are and will have a full breakfast as this is what we pay for the owners are rude and the breakfast taste crap as if this was microwaved i wouldent even feed this to my dog we felf this was bad service so cut our holiday short by a day as this is the worst service ever.......... now for the room the room its self was amazing it was nice and large and very comfy this was the only good part of this hotel as we had the room with the balcony room was fabalouse id stay in this room a thousand times over if difrent people owend it now when we stay at the malbough guest house just round the corner that is paradise the owners cant do enouth for you and the breakfast is to die for

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daddykool190726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Courtyard Guest House, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
My wife and I have run the Courtyard Guest House Great Yarmouth for the past six years; we like to think successfully, as we have built up a good clientele with plenty of repeat bookings. But no matter how good you are no guest house is immune to complaints, this is an occupational hazard.

A £20 refundable deposit is asked for the parking permits to ensure they are not lost or damaged; we have never had a problem with this before, and do not think this is an unreasonable request.

Mrs Berry made a comment that her two children (not three as stated in her review) did not want a children’s cooked breakfast but wanted adult breakfasts instead we agreed to do this without complaint or extra cost. When asked at breakfast the following morning if everything was ok she replied yes, so I cleared away the empty plates. After breakfast they left, without complaint or comment. As I am not a mind reader, and was not given the chance to comment or rectify any problems they may have had at the time, we find this review very unfair and unjust. This review was not posted until three months after their stay. And we only discovered it in June.

In the meantime Mrs Berry contacted us on the 25th June 2012, to book a room for herself and her family in July! Needless to say her booking was refused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend we turned up on spec late one Friday evening. There were many places with vacancies but this place stood out from the rest due to the excellent standard of the exterior decor / lighting it clearly was superb. The Inside was also excellent. The decor and cleanliness of the bedroom and ensuite was excellent and had tea/coffee faciclities, towel changes daily & complementary toiletries. The breakfast was again excellent with plenty of choice for all tastes. Karen the owner was very freindly and helpful. My only comment was that for this standard of accommodation I would have expected to pay a lot more per night. Excellent vaule, others should take note of this quality Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.0 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#2 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilbrannan Guest House
Kilbrannan Guest House
#3 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtyard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtyard Guest House

Property: The Courtyard Guest House
Address: 23 Trafalgar Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtyard Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gareth and Donna Brookes welcome you to The Courtyard Guest House. We offer high quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation. With our large spacious double and family rooms, and our fantastic full English breakfast. Whether you are on holiday, visiting friends or a romantic weekend. We are sure you will feel right at home. We offer accommodation that is friendly, comfortable and affordable. All rooms have been recently refurbished and tastefully decorated and furnished to a very high standard. We are located 50m away from the beautiful sandy beach, and a five minute walk to the town centre. The most popular room is our large family premier room with its own private balcony with bistro table and chairs, overlooking the green and excellent sea views. Most of our rooms have en-suite facilities and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your The Courtyard Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtyard Guest House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing