We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty place”

Merrivale Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 9 Dessert in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pretty place”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Merrivale tea rooms lived up to their expectations. It might not be the Ritz but it was a brilliant place to go and staff were very nice having a conversation to us over the counter. The tea rooms provide breakfasts, lunches, dinners and cakes and I would recommend the cream tea yum yum! One member of my family ordered a bacon sandwich and it arrived swiftly and was freshly cooked. It isn't the cheapest place to go but you get what you pay for and so I don't mind spending a little extra.
Great place to go overall.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    90
    14
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Whenever we go to Great Yarmouth we usually visit the Merrivale tea rooms. This family run business has been part of the Yarmouth scene for many decades and you always receive a lovely welcome from the proprietor, even when they are very busy. Their food is good basic cooking and they have an extensive selection of cakes. It's well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven for all foodies”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this beautiful cafe surrounded by flowers and exquisite hanging baskets many times over during our holidays.
The food is homecooked, the menu a varied choice including gluten free. The staff are friendly. We ate a variety of meals from cottage pie to afternoon cream teas. All tasty and the cream scones are worth breaking a diet for !

Helpful?
1 Thank leedsFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Family meal with lots of different tastes. They were able to accommodate us all.
Food was freshly cooked & delicious.
Cakes were yummy!

Helpful?
1 Thank TrishaMead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to expectations”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The outdoor seating area is very inviting but if you are looking for a light snack or tea and cake there are other places nearby that offer a better quality and price. Nice enough place but do not be won over by the "old fashioned/ quaint tearoom" approach save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shutterbug04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merrivale Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Merrivale Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing