We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Fjaerland

Fjaerland
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fjaerland
Ranked #51 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Arrived here on the off-chance and had a room with twin beds - no problem. Very friendly hosts. The B&B boasted a bar on-site but it closed 7pm each night and so we did not get to use it as we would get back late from day-trips. Pity. Breakfast was fantastic - a choice of hot meals and continental breakfast (even kippers). Small, narrow stairs so watch out if you have heavy bags. Clean room, tea/coffee in room; beds were comfortable. The shower was way too narrow - I turned and hit the handle three times while showering and so had hot or cold water for a few seconds - we've driven motorhomes with larger showers. Place is just off the main beach-side road, very central. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Badger-acpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

booked to stay here for two nights as we wernt sure what to expect, both rooms were lovely, clean, and comfortable. the owners were very welcoming and loved the idea that they are hands on at breakfast, the hotel is situated in a good place for sightseeing, would definetley stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d0rrism0rris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were looking for an over night stop. The lady was pleasant and friendly and the room rate was very reasonable. Our bedroom was clean and en suite. The bed was very comfortable. In the morning breakfast was delicious and filling and hot. The owners are a lovely couple. Would definitely recommend to family and friends. Thank you for a lovely stay. From Nicola & Paul Reynolds

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NicolaR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We came last minute as a walk in the bedroom was lovely and clean everything you need was available, breakfast was very nice and hot couldn't find any fault at all thank you for a lovely stay. Mr and Mrs Gibbons xx

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sh4ron69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was my fifth stay at The Fjaerland Hotel and as always, ticked all the boxes. On approach, day or night this is the Hotel that stands above the rest. During the day the stunning hanging baskets that cascade down the white wash walls of the hotel, or at night the mood lighting that invites you to 'come on over'. The proprietors always seem genuinely pleased to see us and make is feel welcome from the off. The rooms, nicely decorated with full tea and coffee facilities are very clean and comfortable. I recommend the sea view, absolutely beautiful. The hotel is well located for all that Great Yarmouth offers, with Regents Road a short walk away and the beautiful sandy beach literally a 2 minute walk. I always look forward to breakfast, its up there with the best I have tasted in any hotel with a great selection. A bonus with The Fjaerland hotel is the licensed bar which is great for a night cap. Parking the car right out side is also great which is free, but don't forget to get your permit from the staff, the parking wardens are very strict on this. If your looking for a nice friendly family hotel, then this one is a must.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here in the July after having trouble finding anywhere as most places were booked up. Booked on the phone and felt had an issue with us because we said we may arrive after 7pm but didn't think too much of it.

The two rooms we had were clean enough, one had a slight view of sea and the other looked onto some parking spots and washing at the back of houses. Rooms OK, had tea, coffee etc. Bathroom was a nightmare door wouldn't shut properly, shower you could hardly move in and to get hot water had to run hot water tap in basin for ages then switch the shower on.

The plus point was the very friendly lady who served on at breakfast time and the breakfast was very good and would give 5 stars for her and the breakfast.

We found the landlady very rude and we realised we were correct about the original phone call. In terms we could only class as the school mistress telling off the naughty children when we explained another of our party would arrive after 7pm were told she would not be there to let them in, we explained we would let them in which she looked annoyed at and we felt very unwelcome. She then went onto say the bar would not be open unless anyone went in before 7pm and they usually locked up at this time.

We then had a 'lecture' on not allowing any other guests in incase it was people who were not staying there, a lecture on car parking and basically being told off for folding the parking permit the wrong way! How our party kept calm and been spoken to in this way I will never know!

Any question we asked seemed to be met with a lecture! The final straw came when being shown to the rooms one room was above another guests and we were told that we needed to be quiet as the guest below would hear us (fair enough) then told do not jump up and down on the floor. The guests in this room were over 30 years old, so were not about to jump up and down!!

Would not stay here again and although the lady at breakfast was lovely the attitude of the landlady was shocking. At least it gave us all a good laugh at how random it all was when we went over what had happened!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Was met with a lovely warm welcome, room was spotless with great view of the sea. Breakfast had everything you could wish for all cooked fresh to order. Amazing location especially if you don't have or don't want to drive. Lovely for a solo traveler. Staff immaculately dressed for breakfast all with hotel badges on. A really great traditional English B&B great value, just perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joyful02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Willows Guest House
Willows Guest House
#14 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belvedere Guest House
Belvedere Guest House
#84 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Twin Palms
Twin Palms
#33 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Elmfield
The Elmfield
#16 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spindrift Guest House
Spindrift Guest House
#18 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
3 Norfolk Square
3 Norfolk Square
#13 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fjaerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fjaerland

Property: Fjaerland
Address: 24/25 Trafalgar Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Fjaerland 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Fjaerland Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing