We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice!”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great choice!”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed for one night only to finish off a short break and we're very glad we did. We stayed in one of the themed rooms (Villa Maria) with a balcony/seaview. Recently refurbished to a high standard the room was great and the bathroom fab! Yarmouth didnt look very exciting so we decided to eat at Cafe Cru and again we were glad we did. The food was the best we have eaten for a long time, service brill and the staff attentive, reasonably priced too. Breakfast and breakfast service also very good. Great stay and would definately return if in the area. Well run hotel with professional, but friendly staff. Only constructive critism would be to divide the two front balconys to make them private.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilloandkevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    127
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
129
198
9
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with a large group of friends and family over the jubilee weekend last year. I was very impressed with the room quality, it was quite modern considering i was expecting a very tired, old looking room before arrival, the classic case of never judge a book etc.
Our breakfast and evening meals were included in the deal and every meal was fantastic. Ive never been to Yarmouth before but my wifes dad had paid for us all to go down and we had a great time. I would definately stay here again if i return to the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We had an excellent deal for bed and breakfast when we attended a function recently at this hotel. The weather was extremely cold with a wind being called "the beast from the east" blowing in off the sea. This meant that we didn't linger outside, although I imagine the sea front position is very good. Inside the hotel is lovely and warm with a cosy room and huge double bed. Bed linen, pillows and duvets of good quality.

The food was good and the staff friendly and efficient. Some confusion over breakfast orders but nothing major.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Very friendly with good food and very pleasant and helpful staff. I stay here regularly on business and find it to be one of the most comfortable hotels that I have used for this type of stay. Standards are always consistently high and an amiable atmosphere exists at all times.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonygalente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Ruinart , a great room with a view and a balcony. The room was recently refurbished , still got the new carpet smell. Bathroom brand new .
Smashing bed, whole thing was excellent .
To be fair when you see the pictures of the place it looks like one of those old really tired seafront hotels, well our new room wasn't. !
Had dinner in la cru resturant, the service was first rate and I had a ribeye steak which was better than excellent.
I'm not easily pleased but this place deserves its number 1 spot.
Breakfast was first rate, nothing was too much trouble , breakfast was excellent , sausages were really high quality which for me is always a good indicator .
Whole thing was great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyreman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swannington, Norfolk,UK.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Norfolk Area of the Triumph Stag Owners Club held their annual party at the Imperial for the 17th year! As in previous years over 70 of us were pampered beautifully from Friday evening to Sunday morning. Service, food & drink are always of the highest standard and many of the rooms have been refurbished. We are already looking forward to our 18th Imperial Party next year - need I say more?

Chris Liles Stag Owners Club. Norfolk Co-ordinator & National Honorary Vice-President.

Room Tip: Request a sea-view room. For that special stay pay a little extra for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfolk-Stag-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in July during a business trip and I was well pleased with the hotel.

Staff are friendly and helpful from front desk to bar and restaurant staff. Food was really nice as was the service.

rooms are a decent size, and are clean and with good decor.

the location is fabulous if you want to be close to the attractions without the noise.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasticbag19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
443 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is Great Yarmouth's only 4 Star hotel. We are an independent hotel managed by the 3rd generation of the family that have owned this hotel since the 1930s. We have stunning seaviews and provide an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller and can assure you of a warm professional welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing