We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70th Celebration”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“70th Celebration”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic four days at this hotel. We had a sea view room and were delighted that we were able to bring our two border terriers with us on this special trip, so a big woof from them too! In addition to the excellent location, the on site car parking, comfortable accommodation and exquisite food & drink offered; we had booked a private event on the Terrace for 40 guests to celebrate the Mother-in-Law's 70th birthday dinner which was a stunning affair. The Owning couple made it extremely easy to make all the arrangements via email and no detail was overlooked. They were also on hand on the evening to welcome the guest of honour and ensure everything was in order. All the invited guests have commented that they had a great time, as did we, so a big thank you Imperial. Special mention to Paula the Hotel Manager and Janine the Duty Manager who really did make us feel very welcome before, during and after the event. You have a really great team Mr & Mrs Mobbs, they do you credit.

Room Tip: 4 individually themed rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzizzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    127
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
129
198
9
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here for one night en route to a boating holiday on The Broads, but very impressed. Great location approx 300m from the pier, right in the sea front with fantastic views over the beach & sea. At the quieter end of town which was great, but only a 5 minute stroll on the sea front to the town centre attractions.

Nice easy free car parking at the side of the hotel & a very friendly greeting from receptionist on arrival. We stayed in the Ruinalt room on the first floor - absolutely fantastic room, very up to date decor, great views of the sea from its balcony, & a lovely modern bathroom with an excellent large walk in shower. Nice big flat screen TV with hi-tech media centre with things like Internet, YouTube, BBC player etc on it. Proper fridge with fresh milk, bath robes, safe, iron etc - really well specd room!!!

All staff were really friendly & helpful. We ate in the Terrace Restaurant & food was great. Good quality food from an interesting menu served by knowledgable staff. Perhaps beer & wine prices slightly high, but given we were only paying £100 B&B tariff for a sea view balcony room view in a well appointed 4 star hotel, perhaps I can forgive them this.

Overall a really enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A very nice hotel.Had a themed room ours was The Ruinart just lovely had everything wonderful
bathroom,fridge just everything.Everything spotlessly clean.The staff are very pleasant and very
helpful very impressed.Food really good dinner and breakfast really well cooked thank you Chef.Will visit again.

Room Tip: Themed rooms Ruinart room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 300Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The staff at this hotel are a real credit to the owners, there are all very well trained, know what they are doing and nothing seems too much trouble for them. If things do go wrong they quickly and efficiently sort it out.
This hotel prides itself on its food and I feel that this may be at the expense of the rooms, which are very bland. Plain walls and carpet and the usual brown hotel furniture, all very uninspiring. I have stayed in hotels with fewer stars that have better rooms. The worst thing for me however was the very thin walls. The next door room was a family room and I could hear everything that was being said and the snoring!
The terrace restaurant with views out to sea is a lovely addition to the hotel since my last stay and we ate dinner here one evening and breakfast on both days. The breakfast is fully served, you can't even help yourself to juice or cereal which seems strange but the choice and quality is good. The dinner of fish pie which they describe as their signature dish was very good although rather oddly was served with a dish of peas, rather than more interesting veg. The desert menu offers such delights as a tub of icecream or a Magnum. I chose something from the menu of the month which I have to say was delicious.
On the whole this hotels gets a lot right but at the price it charges could do better. Would I return? Perhaps I will, the staff look after you so well!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HermioneBaglash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

The Imperial is such a friendly and welcoming hotel. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are amazing especially the fresh kippers. Beds are really comfortable and the showers really good. The sea view is great and the hotel is down the quieter end of the beach so it's very peaceful. Altogether a very happy experience and certainly worth another visit

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trifle100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had our Civil Ceremony here on 8th June 2013, from the day we booked we could not fault the service, everybody worked so hard to make our day the amazing one it was, all our friends and family have commented on how brilliant it was, we also stayed the night, the room was beautiful, spotlessly clean and comfortable, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, it's a credit to themselves and can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We absolutely love this hotel
Great service starting from checking in up to checking out
Breakfast is great, quick and tasty
Breakfast room views are absolutely great, straight view to the beach and the sea, absolutely love it
Staff that is always smiling
Clean rooms and great decor, but a bit dated
Love the lift, not for overweight people at all

Booked a table in CRU restaurant
Starting from restaurant manager up to head chef are very friendly and extremely professional

Great people are working in this hotel and no doubt as the owner is absolutely great person

Love everything about this hotel and the restaurant

Have been with my husband

But will be back there for my next business trip this hotel has a great location and for business and for lesure

Already booked for my next trip with them for 3 nights 4 rooms

Recommend this hotel to everyone
Book in advance to get great deals

Room Tip: do not miss out to have the best of the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is Great Yarmouth's only 4 Star hotel. We are an independent hotel managed by the 3rd generation of the family that have owned this hotel since the 1930s. We have stunning seaviews and provide an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller and can assure you of a warm professional welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing