We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone should visit The Terrace”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everyone should visit The Terrace”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I treated my friend to lunch at The Terrace for her Birthday as she has always wanted to go but never found the time.

As always Food Superb, Service out of this world and the views stunning. We have been numerous times to Bar Fizz, Café Cru and The Terrace and each time we have been made to feel like Royalty.

My friend commented on how lovely the food was but she could not get over how well we were looked after. Everyone so friendly and could not do enough for us and the views were lovely. She had a great afternoon and felt very special and would like me to say a Huge THANK YOU to everyone who looked after us. Thank you Becky for exceptional service and Aileen for coming through to say hello and to everyone who made my friends Birthday one she wont forget in along time..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    127
    39
    11
    3
See reviews for
133
204
9
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have stayed here for a few nights and find the staff pleasant and helpful, the surroundings are good and the food is excellent although a bit pricey.
This hotel lacks a couple of elements which make it very run of the mill. Firstly the beers are very unkept and none of the staff are interested in trying to pull a decent pint despite it's overinflated cost, as the experience of staying in the hotel seems to be a relatively lacklustre.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r16ksw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed in the Imperial for two days on business. It is a comfortable hotel that caters for both holidaymakers and business people. The rooms are very good with comfortable beds. My room had a modern shower room that was clean and well appointed. Each rooms also had an air-con built into the ceiling that was very effective at regulating the temperature.This is an unusual feature in seaside hotels in UK and it was much appreciated.

The bar was well run and cosy and the bar staff were always pleasant and helpful. There are two other restaurants in the hotel, which cater well for the holiday and local trade. The food was good. The steak ordered was better than average in the UK and fairly reasonable in price. Breakfast on the terrace was excellent. There was plenty of staff so there was no delay for those in a hurry. The staff are the best feature of this hotel. They are well trained pleasant and informal; all you really need.

Criticisms; only one. The lift, which holds only two, is a museum piece. It was installed probably when the hotel was built many years ago and really needs replacing. Two doors have to be opened to enter and exit, and the effort does encourage you to use the stairs. OK if you are fit and healthy, but not so good for unfit and elderly people. There are probably good reasons why it has not been replaced, cost etc. but thought should be given as it spoils an otherwise very good hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not very good with stairs ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Treated my mum to breakfast on the terrace for Mother's Day and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the service was fantastic nothing to much trouble. Would highly recommend breakfast on the terrace as it is a perfect setting with lovely sea views.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Overall I have had Three perfect meals in the imperial. The Service is great - Everyone is really Accomodating and friendly, so nice and helpfull.


The food is Excellent, We really like it there, the terrace is great to sit out and look out to sea. The wines are really lovely, and Yes again the food is GREAT!

LOVELY FOOD, LOVELY STAFF, LOVELY SETTING - Try it out!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnieplummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on Saturday for one night. Ordered flowers in the room as a surprise for my wife but sadly they'd forgotten - they were very apologetic about it at checkout though.
Hotel very clean, all the staff were very helpful and the food in Cafe Cru was absolutely perfect, and very reasonably priced I thought. I would recommend the fillet steak, cooked to perfection. Service warm and friendly, attentive but not in your face.
Breakfast was spot on too, served on the terrace overlooking the dunes.
I would highly recommend this hotel, we will definitely return here next time we are in the area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank steveleg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

From arriving at the reception, to breakfast in the morning, the staff have the most wonderful manners, are the most polite, friendly and helpful people one could wish to encounter.
Nothing is too much trouble, they are real credit to to the owners of this little gem of a hotel, very comfortable, clean and the food is to die for!!
Full marks to all involved.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is Great Yarmouth's only 4 Star hotel. We are an independent hotel managed by the 3rd generation of the family that have owned this hotel since the 1930s. We have stunning seaviews and provide an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller and can assure you of a warm professional welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing