We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, from locals.”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I took my parents to lunch on Sunday (Father's Day). It was our first time dining in Cafe Cru. The menu was varied and well priced, wine list good, with plenty of options by the glass. Our lunch was one of the best I've had in Norfolk. What really stood out for my family and I was the level of service. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff, they were attentive, well informed and and were all locally employed staff, this meant a lot to us, it is rare to go out nowadays and be so well looked after by a local.
Really can't recommend it high enough, we will be back to try The Terrace soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulufw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here in June. Really good. Great location on the see front with panoramic views from the rooms at the front - although the road outside can be noisy. Clean and modern room. Excellent food and service in the restaurant and breakfast on the terrace in the morning was very pleasant, especially with an interesting and varied breakfast menu. Different from most places. helpful and pleasant staff. Will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just been to cafe cru for the first time, had a lovely time, food was great, but most of all the staff were fantastic, Alistair in the bar was so polite and helpful,he had a very good work ethic, as did they waiting staff, would definitely go back

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank nicola18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked to stay here for 3 nights but only stayed for 2 due to the awful weather! We choose this hotel mainly as we were able to take our dog and it was 4 *. The decor was a little dated and our family room fairly small but comfortable, we were at the back of the hotel but had a nice view of an athletic track . The best part of the hotel IMO was the lovely Terrace restaurant ( where we could take our little dog) where we ate one night ,very good , and had drinks both nights ,cosy with the heaters on. We also ate breakfast in there which was gorgeous very good quality, I recommend the Breakfast Sundae. All in all we had a good stay and all the staff were great.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank southpawLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Last month I posted a review which at the time reflected how I was treated at this hotel, my main issue was how It lacked a little of the personal touch and the fact I felt their beers could have been looked after and pulled in a slightly better way.
This trip to the hotel has seen what I can only describe as vast improvement many thanks, the rooms are always comfortable and well kept and the staff always pleasant, I enjoyed my stay and felt that some of the staff really made an effort to ensure this was the case. I look forward to my next visit.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank r16ksw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for one night, having used some RCI points rather than pay. The room was small, but well appointed. Perhaps if we had been paying customers we would have been allocated one of the large superior rooms mentioned in other reviews. Breakfast was good and waitress served, a rare treat now in most hotels.
Staff were friendly and there were a lot of them.
Probably would not have paid the price asked if we had not used points.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the room when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the Imperial Hotel for 4 nights. There is just nothing that could be improved on. The staff are all so friendly, nothing seem to be too much trouble for them, The room was fab, cleanliness to a high standard. The food was excellent at breakfast. We had Sunday Lunch in the restaurant, the food was fab, especially the Yorkshire pudding. We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
524 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
405 reviews
0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £84 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is Great Yarmouth's only 4 Star hotel. We are an independent hotel managed by the 3rd generation of the family that have owned this hotel since the 1930s. We have stunning seaviews and provide an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller and can assure you of a warm professional welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing