We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Our room was very clean and modern and very spaceious . The staff was friendly and helpful ! Parking was permit £3 for 24hr which was helpful being close by to the beach, shops and a lovely pub on the corner !!!
Breakfast was a buffet help yourself and there was a lot of choice .You could choose what u wanted to eat and put plenty on your plate ! We will return back when visiting Great Yarmouth again .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTD1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    115
    61
    12
    22
See reviews for
62
161
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at the Waverley in March 2013 and were very pleased with the service and rooms at the hotel, there was a coach party staying there and entertainment was put on in the hotel during Saturday evening and the bar was open until late.
We booked to stay there again over the May bank holiday, the room was just as nice, however when we returned to hotel about 10.45pm and wanted a drink the bar was closed, we asked at reception and he said "no closed" we asked again "no closed" we stated that the website said it has a residents licence and that it should be open, he went off to find someone who came and opened the bar, but at 11.30pm he said we could take our drinks up to our room he was closed.
The next night there were already people in the bar but the man behind the bar said it would shut at 12.
On the Monday morning the phone rang at 8.45am to remind us that breakfast was between 8.30am - 9,30am! We already knew that as it was our 3rd morning there and each day we had been down by 9am.
Parking is also a problem at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemagLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights dinner bed and breakfast on a National Holidays trip. The food was good and the waitresses in the restaurant were marvellous. They were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. Rooms clean, the only down side was that there was only a shower, personally prefer a bath.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthYorkshireJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

stayed at this hotel on Sunday 5th May for a Bank holiday overnight break. We booked last minute and we were not disapointed. The hotel is nicely placed for the front, with a good pub, The Pub on the Prom, just over the road on the corner.
The hotel was very welcoming and clean and the breakfast was superb, buffet style. The lift was very rickity and you felt like you were taking off by the speed in which it went up. Maximum people - 2 and maximum weight - 150kg, thats only the equivalent of two 15 stone men!!! bit scary really but that wasnt the worry, it was that the room was right next to the lift and every time someone went up or down, we could hear it as if we were in it. Really loud. Luckily by the time we bedded down, the lift had stopped so all in all a very nice overnight stay. I would recommend this hotel for a short break but if you are staying longer, find somewhere a bit more luxurious.

Room Tip: avoid room 214, too near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldie-Pit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

my partner and i have just been to this hotel with national holidays we had a fab time the hotel was excellent and the staff were first class .they could'nt do enough for us and nothing was to much trouble .the bedroom was first class although the bathroom although big enough could have been bigger as the room was certainly large .it was cold when we first arrived but i understand the hotel had been closed over the weekend so there was no heating on however i recommend this hotel its certainly the best we have stayed in as regards the staff .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

My wife and myself recently went on a National coach trip to the Waverley Hotel in Yarmouth for a 4 day trip, never having been that way befor we were pleasantly surprised at the niceness of the area and the friendliness of the local population.
The hotel was fine, clean, staff looked after us extremely well and anything we asked for we got.
The staff we very good in fact we could not fault our trip there at all,food good, room clean and tidy, beer prices a bit on the high side but heck we were on holiday.
Thank yo to all the staff at the hotel for making our time with you worthwhile.

Room Tip: Would go again when the weather got a bit warmer it was a perishing NE gale blowing whilst we were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a three day excursion with National Holidays. The hotel itself is very clean and welcoming. The staff very pleasant. Our room was very very cold even though it had a heater, but very clean with a lovely shower and bathroom. I suppose the lack of double glazing contributed to the coldness given that the temperature outside was exceptionally cold. The lift is very noisy and I felt for the people whose room was nearby. The food left a lot to be desired, they maybe thought they were catering for a 'care home' trip - a choice for main of Liver & Onions or Cauliflower Cheese one evening, the following Beef Stew with Dumpling or Corned Beef hash - no teeth required! We actually ate out as the choice was very limited. We would only stay here again if we had some confirmation that the food had improved in standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Bay Carlton Hotel
Bay Carlton Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#19 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Property: The Waverley Hotel
Address: 32-37 Princes Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful brand new two floor fully renovated hotel with all 47 en-suite rooms having LCD T.V., tea-coffee making facility, Intercom Facility and lift access to all the rooms. We are one minute away from the sea front and the main town center(Britannia Pier) and the opposite the famous Pub on the Prom. Full English Breakfast consisting of fresh farm sausages and egg are served to our elite customers in our most lively 100 seater restaurant on the lobby level.Fully stocked bar and lounge on the lobby level for people to relax and enjoy their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth
The Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing