We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in great yarmouth”
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best hotel in great yarmouth”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

i am staying at the waverley at the moment staff are brilliant with the people , the food is first class like eating in a 5; star hotel the manager will do anything you ask ,carnt fault the hotel i am here for 3 weeks and enjoying every moment

Room Tip: 208 is quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham1964_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    121
    65
    12
    23
See reviews for
65
170
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed for our wedding anniversary, although nothing special was offered having informed the hotel that it was our anniversary, we still had a great time. Room nice, bed comfy, shower AMAZING! Breakfast good although not buffet for hot food.

Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimAndLauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Had a wonderful time in this hotel, the hotel was extremely clean, staff were welcoming and
helpful, food was well prepared and inviting, plenty of choice at breakfast, and plain wholesome
food at evening, well cooked. Would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lift, this is quite dated and doors are noisy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wivenhoe
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had read the reviews and were unsure what we would find but we were very pleasantly surprised. Yes the lift is 'an experience' but we stayed in a suite... reasonable price and, it was a suite. Too often a suite is just a large bedroom. This had two large rooms and an enormous bathroom and bath/jacuzzi. At last a nice buffet breakfast! I didn't think it was possible but everything clean and food nice. Staff were very helpful, the only downside was the lack of parking that would apply to any hotel and is the fault of the council for a strange parking permit system and lack of car parks. All in all it was a lovely hotel and I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: if you can afford get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieCCCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

The bad news is we only stayed two nights. A big modern comfortable room in a hotel just off the sea front in the middle of the night life but no noise pollution so a peacefull nights sleep had by all. Help yourself buffet for breakfast, wonderful friendly staff, i could go on, but i want to get back to enjoying myself, you should too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewiscyphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Our room was very clean and modern and very spaceious . The staff was friendly and helpful ! Parking was permit £3 for 24hr which was helpful being close by to the beach, shops and a lovely pub on the corner !!!
Breakfast was a buffet help yourself and there was a lot of choice .You could choose what u wanted to eat and put plenty on your plate ! We will return back when visiting Great Yarmouth again .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTD1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at the Waverley in March 2013 and were very pleased with the service and rooms at the hotel, there was a coach party staying there and entertainment was put on in the hotel during Saturday evening and the bar was open until late.
We booked to stay there again over the May bank holiday, the room was just as nice, however when we returned to hotel about 10.45pm and wanted a drink the bar was closed, we asked at reception and he said "no closed" we asked again "no closed" we stated that the website said it has a residents licence and that it should be open, he went off to find someone who came and opened the bar, but at 11.30pm he said we could take our drinks up to our room he was closed.
The next night there were already people in the bar but the man behind the bar said it would shut at 12.
On the Monday morning the phone rang at 8.45am to remind us that breakfast was between 8.30am - 9,30am! We already knew that as it was our 3rd morning there and each day we had been down by 9am.
Parking is also a problem at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemagLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
383 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Property: The Waverley Hotel
Address: 32-37 Princes Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful brand new two floor fully renovated hotel with all 47 en-suite rooms having LCD T.V., tea-coffee making facility, Intercom Facility and lift access to all the rooms. We are one minute away from the sea front and the main town center(Britannia Pier) and the opposite the famous Pub on the Prom. Full English Breakfast consisting of fresh farm sausages and egg are served to our elite customers in our most lively 100 seater restaurant on the lobby level.Fully stocked bar and lounge on the lobby level for people to relax and enjoy their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth
The Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing