We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just returned from a short break with my family.

The Waverley is perfectly located for the beach area and amusements. Parking is on the street, the manager give you a permit.

I found all the staff friendly and helpful, we stayed in a family room 118 which was perfect for us, loads of space and a huge bathroom. I agree with some of the previous comments about the need for some double glazing, but it didn't spoil our trip. Waking up to the noise of the seagulls instantly reminds you that you're at the seaside when you awake.

The breakfast is buffet style, nicely cooked and plenty of it.

We will be staying here again, for a three star hotel it's great.

Well done Waverley xx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timmy231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    115
    61
    12
    22
See reviews for
62
161
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel need to invest in double-glazing and they should not use devious tricks to check out early. However staff at mealtimes were lovely. One word of caution, I'm slim but i found the shower unit tiny.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wakeyrob71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunniside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay with National Holidays. We were greeted by the manager prior to disembarking from the coach. [ A good start to the holiday] First appearances of the hotel were that it was pleasant and well presented. On entering the hotel, there was a pleasant library reading room to the right, and then the pleasant and airy dining room. To the left a small bar. Rooms are accessed by stairs or a two person lift.
Meals at the Waverley are very good and the staff in the dining room are friendly and very hard working. As in most hotels, rooms vary from double to twin etc. Unfortunately, we were allocated a twin on the first floor, which overlooked a back alley. I know that we don't spend all the holiday in the bedroom, but it's nice to have a nice view. Other rooms at the front of the hotel have a far better outlook. Overlooking the alley, we also looked on to the back of the kitchen, this resulted in noise from staff standing in the alley using their mobile phones and also noise from the kitchen. 4 a.m. is the time for the seagulls to start screaming. These twins don't have double glazing so there's no noise reduction. Having said that, the room and bathroom were clean and quite comfortable. One comment I would make is that there was no drawers in the room, the first hotel I've been to without this facility. Bar prices are a little high but there's a pub not far away where the prices are reasonable.
Would we stay here again? Yes if we ever return to Yarmouth but not in a room overlooking an alley.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room. You may be lucky as the rooms are allocated by the hotel not the travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thumper1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

This hotel was good, Breakfast was great & lots of it, The rooms are very clean, but the front ones are in need of double glazeing, as you hear everey sound cars, people walking & talking as they come out the pubs etc, And the Seagulls wake up early in the morning at Great Yarmouth, about 2.30 am. Apart from that the hotel was good ,but could only award 3 out of 5.
So come Waverley get those windows changed.
Doug.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOUGLAS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateshead
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed with my partner for 5 days, we had a nice room on the 1st floor the bed was ok pillows a bit soft but ok with 2. Had a tv with freeview room was a bit cold even thou it was summer, we had tea, sugar, coffee,milk, cardboard cups with wooden stick for a spoon, plastic glasses to drink out of.Thebathroom with nice and clean but the shower wasnt that good when you put it full on it squirts all over. There was airfresheners everywhere you look i mean everywhere it did smell nice thou. We only used the lift for aresuitcases it seems very old only 2 people will fit in, the bar is small theprices were ok. The dinning room was nice but we had to seat with 2 oldpeople we would of liked to sit on are own but there was no more tables of 2. The food wasnt that good one of the nights we went out for a meal we later found out people had complained about the fish. The manager was everywhere he just stood at the dinningroom watching everyone, the barmen was nice a very helpfull and the young waitress was lovely and the older one was great with everyone cant remember their names. Well what can i say about theentertainment one night was this woman around 50 years old she justwouldnt stop talking her singing was just as bad, a man came on anothernight playing a guitar and singing he was a little bit better. Theres a nice pub a couple of mins along the road which is cheaper than the hotel for doubles. The seafront is mins from the hotel its in a perfect place, shops are around 15mins away plenty to see and do would go to great yamouth again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xbabykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have just returned from 4 wonderful days at the Waverley Hotel, Princess Road Great Yarmouth. we were welcomed by the Manager, A very polite Indian Gentleman, we were given room 220, on the second floor, there is a lift which holds 2 people, it is old and jerks on reaching your floor, but is reliable,
Our room was clean very spacious, we had a shower toilet and wash basin, hand wash and shower gel was provided, and plenty of toilet rolls and lovely soft white towels.
The food was good English meals all served piping hot,A choice of 3 starters,.A choice of 3 main meals with vegetarian option, and a choice of ice cream or Traditional pudding and custard, every meal was very well cooked and plenty of it.
The staff are all helpful and friendly, the Bar opens at 5-30 to 11 pm, entertainment was provided on the Saturday night.
The hotel is next to the main shopping street (Regent Road) and the Britannia Pier is a 5 minute walk from the Hotel. as is the Cinema.
We would recomend this hotel, in my oppinion it is honestly the best hotel we have stayed in on any National Holiday Tour so far.
We will book this hotel whenever it is advertised again on National Holidays.

Room Tip: The seagulls wake you up at 3 am so really it doesn't matter where your room is, all rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel over all was average nothing special. Breakfast was nice and so were the staff. The rooms looked nice but needed a dust. En suite was nice. Was in good location. The manager was ok to us but was rude to another guest, the guest was asking about a ground floor room cause of walking difficulties. But it was average nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leason123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Bay Carlton Hotel
Bay Carlton Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#19 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Property: The Waverley Hotel
Address: 32-37 Princes Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful brand new two floor fully renovated hotel with all 47 en-suite rooms having LCD T.V., tea-coffee making facility, Intercom Facility and lift access to all the rooms. We are one minute away from the sea front and the main town center(Britannia Pier) and the opposite the famous Pub on the Prom. Full English Breakfast consisting of fresh farm sausages and egg are served to our elite customers in our most lively 100 seater restaurant on the lobby level.Fully stocked bar and lounge on the lobby level for people to relax and enjoy their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth
The Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing