We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and breakfast”
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed two nights as part of an inexpensive coach holiday which prompts me to split this review
The room was clean and warm the bed comfortable the room had flat screen wall mounted TV and new tea making equipmentThe bathroom was new and spotlessly clean with modern shower cubicle ,with shower gel and handwash ,The beers in the bar are no more expensive than the local pub and I slept well only to be woken by seagulls which is par for the coast.
Breakfast was of good quality and self service .Alas the cost savings kicked in as the bread toasted by attenttive staff was as thin as cardboard ,A false saving in my mind as I would only have wanted one thick slice.The cost saving continued to the limited diinner menu but the food was of good quality,The chef needs to look up the recipe for chicken chasseur .good quality chicken and plenty of it ruined as it was floating in a white goo,If you are looking for bed and breakfast only then look no further the staff are excelent even carried up the cases,but I suggest eating out

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colinlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay with National Holidays at the Waverley Hotel, Great Yarmouth. The first night we discovered that the central heating was not working, and that the staff had placed a small fan heater in the room, which we discovered was absolutely useless, in the early morning I was shivering uncontrollably and my wife who is asthmatic was having difficulty with her breathing, we had to sit huddled around the little fan heater and wrap the duvet around us to get warm. In the morning I complained to the manager, and was told later that day, that they couldn't do anything with the heating while the room was occupied, but he would put this right, so he gave us an extra blanket... Really not good enough, Waverley, do not place guests in rooms that are not heated especially out of season when the weather is cold. Everything else in the Hotel was fine, we know that this Hotel is only AA 3 Star but this heating problem should never have occurred, this is a basic hotel function to keep their guests comfortable. We found out before we left that lots of other guests had the same problem, whereas other guests where too warm as their heating was on full and worked perfectly. Sorry Waverley Hotel you failed, which is a shame, as this Hotel has the potential to become a great and successful Hotel with some investment, mainly on employing a heating engineer.

Room Tip: Only stay at this Hotel in the height of Summer when the the weather is Hot, even at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howardtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed as part of a National Holiday break and really enjoyed our time at the Waverley Hotel. the manager was first class very helpful and attended all our needs. comfortable hotel in a good location and would go back again. we arrived at 3pm leaving Middlesbrough at 815am and had a first class break

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank carole1702uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I along with 2 friends have just returned from a weekends stay in the Waverley, we couldn't have asked for any better service than what we received during our stay. The food was lovely and always hot, it was served by efficient and polite staff and nothing was too much trouble. I reported that my sink wouldn't empty and the problem was resolved within minutes. The room was spotlessly clean as was the bed (no bed bugs at all) I had a lovely relaxing bath both nights of my stay with plenty of hot water.
We found the owner to be very professional and happy to assist and greet his customers at all times. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it as excellent value for money.

Room Tip: I requested sea view, although we were not facing the sea we could see it out of the side window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alison123408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Have just returned this evening from a 2-night stay with National Holidays at the Waverley Hotel, Great Yarmouth and can honestly say that the whole weekend was a weekend from Hell and definitely the worst hotel stay I have encountered!! The definition of a hotel, according to Google is...."an establishment providing accommodation, meals, and other services for travellers and tourists, by the night" The rooms were of reasonable standard, apart from heating not working on the first night and no thermostatic control valve in the bedroom; a fan heater was supplied by night reception to heat the room, but the windows were single-glazed and very draughty -the curtains visibly blowing in the gale-force winds being encountered that first night. I slept for approx. 1 hour the first night due to heavy winds causing the decorative hanging garden balls outside banging against the structure of the building like cables lashing the wall. However during the 2nd night sleep deprivation became even worse due to an influx of single male & females who we were told had booked online at various hotels in the locality in order to join together for social drinking with unfortunate circumstances to other hotel guests! Around midnight noises were heard from a nearby hotel - it turned out to be someone banging on the door to be let in, shouting and causing a disturbance in the street with several people being involved. At around 2am noise disturbance began inside the Waverley hotel, with people from the adjoining room to ourselves banging on the wall and then knocking on our door repeatedly on two separate occasions, then running away when answered. Footsteps were heard running up and down the corridors together with shouting and banging doors & the noise from the lift travelling up & down constantly. Reception were telephoned in order for them to intervene but nothing was done at that time other than relaying to the offenders. The noise continued both inside and outside the entrance to the hotel, which was directly underneath the room we stayed in, so the noise & disturbance was coming from all angles making it impossible to sleep. Other guests were heard remonstrating with the offenders in the corridor to no avail. Later, when I could no longer listen to the on going commotion I opened the door to see two males waiting outside the neighbouring room - I told them that people were trying to sleep but that it was impossible with all the noise and that it was a hotel after all.....their response was "sorry" - but unfortunately they did nothing to change the situation. Around 5am the manager was called in to deal with the escalating situation and he apparently called the Police as the night staff were unable to control it. At 5.20 there was a lull in the commotion and it was possible to drift off to sleep, however 10mins later it started up again so sleep was deprived for the remainder the night/early morning. At breakfast we learned that the offenders had been drinking and smoking cannabis in the adjoining room; there were clear signs in all the bedrooms stating that smoking was strictly forbidden and an on-the-spot fine of £250 would be imposed - other guests had to smoke outside in the cold, rain & wind: I find it hard to imagine that any fines were imposed on those breaking the rule by smoking drugs inside the hotel. Whatever the Police involvement was it didn't prevent the offenders from turning up at breakfast laughing & no doubt finding their antics amusing in front of the remaining guests that they had prevented from sleep during the night - so hardly any worthwhile punishment. The hotel should have removed the offenders from the premise immediately they were found to flaunt the rules. The entrance door was locked when other smokers needed to go out during the night, so why did they allow these offenders back into the hotel to cause such disturbance for the majority? If the situation had been handled in the right manner and dealt with promptly requesting police assistance at the beginning, rather than later, then it would not have escalated in the way it did. The Management were quick to respond that it was beyond their control, however their duty is to the majority of guests who were placed in an unacceptable situation, not to encourage the offenders as they appeared to do, otherwise why were they allowed breakfast. Later 3 females & 1 male were seen departing by car, still with lager tins in hand, arguing and in no fit state to drive! Prior to our coach departing the manager came on board to thank us for our custom and to wish us a safe return journey and hoped we would return some time in the future, no apology for the lack of sleep was forthcoming and in addition he asked for positive reviews on Trip Advisor!! I would recommend all would-be patrons to seriously consider very long & hard staying at this hotel until it takes full responsibility for ensuring the comfort and safety of its guests and undertakes staff training for all staff. especially the night personnel so that a situation like that encountered never happens again; to say that internet bookings are not subject to close scrutiny is not good enough. A hotel should provide a good sleeping environment otherwise it is not performing its purpose and the charge should be reimbursed to the guest. In addition the cost of bar drinks were not ideal, tins of cola they sold for £1 when the price was clearly printed on each can showing 59p - a glass of wine was £5 and a bottle of Echo Falls almost £15; this usually sells on average for £5 at supermarkets - rip off!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smartiedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sphc78, Owner at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Respected sir,
We apologize for inconvenience caused to your good self during the Coach trip through national holidays in our hotel.We would like to satisfy yourself with the problems faced by you on the trip.

Smoking Issue:-
It was a Valentine's day weekend where in we had a lot of youngsters who checked in the hotel through Booking.com for those two nights.We tried to maintain discipline and have clearly displayed "No Smoking Sign" in all our rooms and corridors but they were out of control.We fined them also for Smoking in the room.As the situation got loud we in fact called the Police also to control them and discipline them.

Windy Rooms:-
As you aware UK is facing severe weather conditions this year, the winds have been very rough and thunderstorms are frequent so it is not possible to control Wind cycles beyond a certain degree and we try to do our best to satisfy our customer to the maximum.

Noise from Neighboring hotel:-
Sir, We can control our guest but unfortunately we have no control on the guest of other neighboring hotel.

Bar Menu Rates:-
Sir, you would appreciate that as a Hotel we also have cost which have to be met by our Food & Beverage Sales so it is impossible for us to Sell goods at Supermarket Rates, we should be allowed a certain Mark Up in order for us to sustain our operations.

Further I again apologize for the inconvenience caused to you but as it was one of those Valentine's weekend and we cannot Deny entry to any guest, we tried to do our level best in disciplining them and even called the Police to help us in assisting them.

I hope you understand our situation,

With warm regards,

rohit verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We discovered bedbugs after retiring on our first night, some of them having bitten us as the evidence was there when squashed. We advised the management who moved us straight away, but showering at 23.00 was now how we expected to spend a relaxing night and it left us feeling very uncomfortable. On leaving the hotel thought that moving us to a superior room was compensation enough. I hope the relevant authorities have been advised in case the problem has occurred in other rooms & need to be fumigated. The hotel is obviously geared up for large coach parties many of whom will be elderly & will not be aware of this problem.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sphc78, Owner at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Respected Sir,

We thank you very much for staying with us and taking out time to write a review.

We at The Waverley Hotel are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you due to pest problems faced during your stay.At that hour of the night it was most appropriate measure for us to change your room and investigate the matter thoroughly next day.

We got the room checked first thing next day by our maintenance and housekeeping supervisors and they performed a complete round of fumigation overall and the pest maintenance team did 100% pest control services thought the hotel for precautionary measure.

Our Hotel is a brand new renovated Hotel and all our rooms are well occupied on a regular basis, but we have never come across any such issue before. We would like to assure your good self that all our rooms and carpets are periodically treated with cleaning chemicals for maintaining health & hygiene.

We have regular health & safety checks and have always tried to maintain excellent standards.This is the first time we have come across any such issue.

We sincerely apologize once again for the inconvenience caused to you and would request your good self to come and stay with us again in the future and avail our services for a pleasurable stay.

Thank you,


Rohit Verma
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Staff very welcoming and looked after us extremely well. We were on a National Holidays break for a private party of 47 people from a group we belong to. The rooms were spotless and looked as though they may have been recently been refurbished. They were basic but very comfortable and the whole hotel was very warm with the rooms being heated all the time. Ideal for December. The food was extremely good home cooking and always hot.Thanks to Pam the cook! We had breakfast and dinner each day with a choice of menu at dinner. When the coach left all the staff came out to wave goodbye and the manager came on the coach to wish us a safe journey home. A nice finishing touch which makes a change from the impersonal service that we get used to in the mass catering hotel industry. I believe the owners have had the hotel for just over 2 years and have improved it enormously.

Room Tip: We were in a double room no. 109 at the back. It was quiet and out of the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Address: 32-37 Princes Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £52 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waverley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful brand new two floor fully renovated hotel with all 47 en-suite rooms having LCD T.V., tea-coffee making facility, Intercom Facility and lift access to all the rooms. We are one minute away from the sea front and the main town center(Britannia Pier) and the opposite the famous Pub on the Prom. Full English Breakfast consisting of fresh farm sausages and egg are served to our elite customers in our most lively 100 seater restaurant on the lobby level.Fully stocked bar and lounge on the lobby level for people to relax and enjoy their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth
The Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing