We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if in yarmouth, stay at the waverley.”
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“if in yarmouth, stay at the waverley.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I just had a short stay but would have stayed longer and would definitely stay there again. the room I had, though a single, was big enough for a couple, clean comfortable and welcoming. The staff were pleasant and helpful, food was plentiful and tasty. In short I would definitely recommend the Waverley if staying in Great yarmouth

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amagran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    123
    65
    13
    23
See reviews for
66
172
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just got back from a weekend away this hotel is lovely and well situated for everything staff seam like they may be new to the hotel business and at times un sure what to do but are very friendly and always happy to help meals were very nice but only got your starter and sweet served to your table the rest was a Que and get it yourself the lift is very old and has no inside door to close and I think this could be dangerous as anyone who leans on the door could trap their fingers they really need a sign up on this lift to make people aware I would stay at this hotel again we really enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 247linedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just returned from 5 days at the Waverley where all the staff were friendly.
Large clean room but sadly we overlooked backyards full of rubbish!
The restaurant was run like clockwork and all meals were generous, good quality and good value.
The manager was always available, welcoming and pleasant.
On departure he personally thanked us for visiting & waved us off!
Would recommend this hotel for a value holiday.

Room Tip: Aim for a room not overlooking the back, only advantage to that is that it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunisiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Good clean hotel with normal room facilities. Bar available for an evening tipple. Evening meals good value for money and breakfast very nice. Good stay for business , or holiday by the sea.location good for amenities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Excellent hotel close to the sea front for weekend breaks. Room was a good size with larger than average bathroom. Unfortunately though our twin room was located at the back of the hotel and had a view over neighbouring back yards full of rubbish. Breakfast was good value. Cannot comment on the bar as it was not open on the Fri/Sat nights we were there. Overall good value for money and would go again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed two nights as part of an inexpensive coach holiday which prompts me to split this review
The room was clean and warm the bed comfortable the room had flat screen wall mounted TV and new tea making equipmentThe bathroom was new and spotlessly clean with modern shower cubicle ,with shower gel and handwash ,The beers in the bar are no more expensive than the local pub and I slept well only to be woken by seagulls which is par for the coast.
Breakfast was of good quality and self service .Alas the cost savings kicked in as the bread toasted by attenttive staff was as thin as cardboard ,A false saving in my mind as I would only have wanted one thick slice.The cost saving continued to the limited diinner menu but the food was of good quality,The chef needs to look up the recipe for chicken chasseur .good quality chicken and plenty of it ruined as it was floating in a white goo,If you are looking for bed and breakfast only then look no further the staff are excelent even carried up the cases,but I suggest eating out

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colinlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay with National Holidays at the Waverley Hotel, Great Yarmouth. The first night we discovered that the central heating was not working, and that the staff had placed a small fan heater in the room, which we discovered was absolutely useless, in the early morning I was shivering uncontrollably and my wife who is asthmatic was having difficulty with her breathing, we had to sit huddled around the little fan heater and wrap the duvet around us to get warm. In the morning I complained to the manager, and was told later that day, that they couldn't do anything with the heating while the room was occupied, but he would put this right, so he gave us an extra blanket... Really not good enough, Waverley, do not place guests in rooms that are not heated especially out of season when the weather is cold. Everything else in the Hotel was fine, we know that this Hotel is only AA 3 Star but this heating problem should never have occurred, this is a basic hotel function to keep their guests comfortable. We found out before we left that lots of other guests had the same problem, whereas other guests where too warm as their heating was on full and worked perfectly. Sorry Waverley Hotel you failed, which is a shame, as this Hotel has the potential to become a great and successful Hotel with some investment, mainly on employing a heating engineer.

Room Tip: Only stay at this Hotel in the height of Summer when the the weather is Hot, even at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howardtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
503 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Property: The Waverley Hotel
Address: 32-37 Princes Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waverley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful brand new two floor fully renovated hotel with all 47 en-suite rooms having LCD T.V., tea-coffee making facility, Intercom Facility and lift access to all the rooms. We are one minute away from the sea front and the main town center(Britannia Pier) and the opposite the famous Pub on the Prom. Full English Breakfast consisting of fresh farm sausages and egg are served to our elite customers in our most lively 100 seater restaurant on the lobby level.Fully stocked bar and lounge on the lobby level for people to relax and enjoy their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth
The Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing