We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic last minute booking.”
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic last minute booking.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed just for the one night and had trouble with a previous booking at another hotel so this was very last minute! Despite this however we still got a fair price and had no trouble booking in. The room was lovely! Perfect size just for the two of us and a nice bathroom, looked fairly recently renovated. Bed was slightly springy but still very comfy and we slept like logs.
Staff were very friendly even though a couple seemed unsure at breakfast? Breakfast was very nice being a nice fryup with toast and cereal options.

Parking had the potential to be a problem however we got a 24 hour permit (perfect for the amount of time we were staying) and we managed to find a spot on the next street.

Overall a lovely stay and I wouldn't have minded doing a full weekend or even longer there. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekkii G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    120
    63
    12
    23
See reviews for
63
168
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The bare minimum of hotels. Cheap, small and simple. The entire staff was great. Breakfast was mayhem- reserved tables aren't really reserved but since there are bus loads of retired people, the staff wisely corrals them to tables so people like us (just a couple on their own) can have a table to ourselves.

The room was small and the full size bed was too, we were glad it was a pit stop kind of stay otherwise it would not have been fun.

Parking could be rough but we lucked out on the street. Great location to all that goes on seaside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This Hotel has been by far the best hotel I have stayed in Great Yarmouth. Very local to the main shops, restaurant and sea front. Staff are very freindly and welcoming. The rooms are so nicely decorated, clean, fresh and airy with a modern touch. Beds are very comfy I felt like I was home from home. We stayed in one of the family rooms big enough for the four of us.. there was complimentary bottles of water in the room, such attention to detail. Breakfast was yummy. Will defo stay again. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

i have just came back from a week in this lovely hotel 24th may till 31st may what a wonderful hotel lovely breakfast as much has you can eat,very friendly staff,clean a spacious rooms,close to beach,town and all ammenaties will definatley be returning very soon.

Room Tip: large rooms throughout
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORFAEN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I found this hotel good value for money at only £60 per night plus breakfast on a bank holiday weekend. It is very close to the Britannia Pier, Joyland and beach attractions only being 2 to 3 minutes walk. The local shops are situated in the next street along and again only a few minutes walk. We arrived early before check in time but went to ask about parking and reception kindly wrote out and gave us a parking permit to park anywhere in their particular zone which was very convenient. When we did check in we were greeted in a polite and friendly manner and given the information we needed to make our stay a good one. Our room was quite small but very clean, light and airy with tea and coffee facilities and bottled water. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and very spacious. The bar prices were reasonable and the bar area very clean. Breakfast was standard but good with a self service system, the breakfast room itself was bright and comfortable and the staff were very helpful. All in all I would stay at this hotel again, it provided everything we needed to make our stay in Great Yarmouth a good one but it's main assets I would say would be, it's very clean, it's good value and a great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

just back from 4 night stay at the Waverley with my Wife( May 19th to may 23rd) and have never stayed in a more disgusting hotel in my life
Single room passing of as "double", food almost inedible and certainly not the cooking of any chef .Poor quality and cheap ingredients. Shower inadequate and only for small people,with cheap quality toilet sink and shower not to mention toilet paper.If the manager was "managing" properly he would ask the chef why the plates were being returned full. All in All a guests nightmare and I would not return to the Waverley free of charge ,or indeed if I was paid to go.
As for all the "positive" reviews, wake up and smell the coffee !!!!!!!!!!!.These owners have no idea how to run such a business and must be laughing all the way to the Bank! All a big con.

Room Tip: Go there at your peril
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is clean, well run and friendly. I stayed there with a group of friends for the May 2014 Caister weekend. It is reasonably priced at £40 a night. Caister weekend is unique as any booking in that area has to be for a minimum of three nights. The only suggestions I have is that breakfast from 8.30 to 9.30am isn't Caster friendly and too rigid. The breakfast itself lack choice or consideration for the many of us who are vegetarian, vegan or dairy intolerant. It included cereal and fried breakfast but no so soya milk, fruit, honey or even a choice of teas or eggs.
The staff are helpful and efficient. The reception is manned 24 hours a day which made us feel safe. Also it was brilliant for one of our party who temporarily misplaced her room key.
It is a comfortable hotel but maybe better suited to holidaying families, rather than Casiter die hards.

Room Tip: all rooms are en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Property: The Waverley Hotel
Address: 32-37 Princes Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful brand new two floor fully renovated hotel with all 47 en-suite rooms having LCD T.V., tea-coffee making facility, Intercom Facility and lift access to all the rooms. We are one minute away from the sea front and the main town center(Britannia Pier) and the opposite the famous Pub on the Prom. Full English Breakfast consisting of fresh farm sausages and egg are served to our elite customers in our most lively 100 seater restaurant on the lobby level.Fully stocked bar and lounge on the lobby level for people to relax and enjoy their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth
The Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing