We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Visited for a weekend break with National Holidays 18th to 20th July 2014. My sister an I had booked a twin room through national holidays. Greeted warmly by staff and told we coul go in the lift or take the stairs to the 2nd floor. (Nobody available to help with cases) We took the stairs as the lift would only take 2 people at a time. The corridors and stairs were carpeted with very old green, grubby carpet which had been patched in several places. When we reached our room we noted that the decor and furniture was very dated and in need of a revamp. There was a built in wardrobe which did not have any clothes hangers and was full of dust inside an out. The free standing wardrobe was adequate for two people but only had 4 coat hangers. The bathroom was very dated an the shower base was scuffed and dented, the bathroom door was a sliding one but only had a top runner, door would not shut fully which left a large gap, the bathroom floor was dusty although the toilet, shower and basin were clean. The food at dinner was very basic and only three choices of starters and main course and two puddings. Breakfast was much better, plenty of choice and hot food and tea and coffee. The second evenings food was really quite appalling, fish and chips or cottage pie, the fish and chips were almost Inedible, the fish was brown and the batter was CHEWY!! Frozen chips with no taste. Bread and butter pudding or ice cream, for pud, my sister could not eat the bread an butter pudding as it was so stodgy and tasteless. On the positives, and there wasn't many, the staff were helpful and polite and the beds were clean an comfortable.
Very very disappointed as we have been on holiday with national holidays several times and have had lovely hotels but this one needs a complete revamp and defiantly a more imaginative chef.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EVP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    115
    61
    12
    22
See reviews for
62
161
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed in the Waverley for a week in June. Given a room on the second floor that was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was hot and plentiful and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The only downsides were the very antiquated lift and, as our room was at the rear of the building overlooking a yard, the noise of both the children playing there and the loud voices of the kitchen staff. Had to shut the window even though it was very warm at night. Even saying this, it wouldn't stop us staying there again if we had to go back to Great Yarmouth. This is not likely as disliked the town intensely. All amusement arcades and fish and chips!

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not overlook the rear yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked two single rooms for a friend and myself.for a 5 day break away On arrival we were greeted with a polite and plesant mannered guy and was given our room keys promptly. Arrived in our rooms although small were adquately equiped with all the essentials including shower gel and soap and the decor was nice and clean and bed was comfortable. Staff were busy at breakfast (buffet style) with a coach party that were staying on the same dates as ours but could not fault the food the sausages were not the cheap crap you normally get in hotels and the coffee was lovely and hot. Can't comment on evening meal as we were only B/B but some of the coach party were saying there was a wide choice to choose from and very nice. The young lady behind the bar was lovely pleasant with a gsoh The management were also very plesant and welcoming. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone its location was ideal to the main shopping centre, bus station and all other wonderful amentities Great Yarmouth has to offer including the beach. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stapleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

First impressions this hotel are great,reception staff really helpful room nice ,although,bed rather small.
Restaurant first impressions terrible ,the French waitress was rude unhelpful and barked orders at guests but every other member of staff in the restaurant was fantastic
We were part of a coach tour and the set 3course meal was, to be generous ,very very basic,although as we were travelling with a group of Northern people I'm not sure if the food was aimed at them but for me being offered a veggie option or liver and onions or a pasta dish for the first evening was really disappointing .second night beef casserole or jacket potatoes or chicken and mushroom in a garlic sauce again not to my taste.3rd night cottage pie ,fish and chips or salad . The dessert option every night ice cream or 1rice pudding 2 treacle sponge 3bread and butter pudding not very imaginative ,water was provided with the meal but it was warm and horrible , I at least expected ice and lemon would have been nice too. Bread rolls were only ever offered if soup was ordered as a starter .i must admit that most of the elderly people on the trip seemed ok with the menu but I suppose it is a matter of taste and again possibly what they grew up eating .
However breakfast , a self service option was very good quality and plentiful
At no time during our stay was the dirty bedding ever changed ,The large windows in our room were chained shut ,the room although at first look was reasonably clean on closer inspection corners had been cut , around the windows was filthy,on the top of the wardrobe you could write your name in the dust ,the bathroom shaving light didn't work for our entire stay ,vast areas of sealant in the bathroom was missing , basically our room needed a really good spring clean
the lift could win prizes on the antiques road show and was forbidden to be used after 11pm or before 8 am
Our request in the bar for ice to take to our room resulted in us being offered a glass containing 6pieces I did not realise there was still rationing in Great Yarmouth !
. the hotel claims 3 star class in its brochure it certainly needs more work to achieve this
Would we stay again, yes but only on a bed and breakfast basis and only then if the price was very attractive , I've stayed in better quality ,cheaper ,basic bed and breakfasts in the town .

Room Tip: 112 good location at front of hotel , but it needs a clean and is very noisey at night with people s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I booked a single room for one night direct with the hotel at a very reasonable rate including breakfast. The room was absolutely ok for one person, tidy and clean, with a large and comfy bed and a good and clean bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful. Everything was ok. I slept through breakfast so can't say anything about that.

The property could do with new carpets, but there are more important things than that and on these the Waverley certainly delivered.

A hospitable place with good rates, would happily book again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We booked through National Holidays, for 5 days. We arrived Just after 4pm We were greet with politeness and given our room keys promptly. I had a single room, at the front of the hotel second floor. The room was small, but contained everything i needed. The bathroom was modern and very clean, plenty of hot water. Meals were at set times 8:30am breakfast evening meal 6pm. Buffet style meals you could have as much as you liked or as little as you wanted. Evening meal you had a choice of 3 starters , 3 main meals and all served with an assorted vegatables, also a choice of 2 desserts, All meals piping hot, (we later found out we could have cheese and crackers), plus tea and coffee afterwards. The hotel also had a bar area with a televison confortable table and chairs, and two lounge areas.
The hotel is in a good location close to the sea front and the main shopping area. I slept like a log. The staff where polite, friendley, helpful. There was entertainment 2 nights a week, not my cup of tea, but this did not stop us enjoying ourselves. All in all this was an enjoyable break for the price l ha paid. National Holidays also organised 2 sightseening trips out side of Great Yarmouth,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whittlesey cambs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is clean and tidy the rooms are nice. The things that are wrong with the hotel the breakfast are buffet style but very good we did not have dinner in the hotel as they only have evening meals if they have a coach party , the menu that we was did not have a good selction on only two main courses. there was only enterement on one night

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Bay Carlton Hotel
Bay Carlton Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#19 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Property: The Waverley Hotel
Address: 32-37 Princes Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful brand new two floor fully renovated hotel with all 47 en-suite rooms having LCD T.V., tea-coffee making facility, Intercom Facility and lift access to all the rooms. We are one minute away from the sea front and the main town center(Britannia Pier) and the opposite the famous Pub on the Prom. Full English Breakfast consisting of fresh farm sausages and egg are served to our elite customers in our most lively 100 seater restaurant on the lobby level.Fully stocked bar and lounge on the lobby level for people to relax and enjoy their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth
The Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing