We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend stay ”
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Have just got back from this hotel, with my partner and 2 year old son! We had a lovely time, room was large and beautifully presented! We were also brought a fan after the gentleman realise how hot the room was whilst setting up our travel cot!
The breakfast was brilliant! Excellent location, definitely be returning!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank sarahjane2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked a double room via booking.com at a rate of £75.00 including breakfast, we requested a comfortable bed due to my bad back.

Firstly, when we arrived we had to park a ten minute walk away from the hotel, this area is very congested with traffic, upon entering the hotel the room tariff is displayed on the front windows, a double room with breakfast is quoted at £65.00 a suite costs £75.00.

We were allocated room 221, the lift is an old wooden affair only in use from 8 am to 11pm, the room was very small there was one old wooden chair in it, the bed was very very uncomfortable.

Straight away we went to reception and refused the room, I explained the pictures of the doubles advertised all had two leather club chairs with a table and were a lot bigger than what we had been given. I also explained about my back, we were told they had noticed my request that morning, we had booked for the room several days before.

Long story short after 10 minutes the Manager appeared and told us there were no other rooms they were all the same and so were the beds, we argued our case this was not what we had paid for, the room was a downgrade etc etc he made me explain my back problems in front of all the queue awaiting their rooms before finally giving us a room of the type we had paid for. The bed had all the springs poking through, had to sleep on the top of it.

Was awoken at 5.30 a.m from revellers outside the hotel shouting and swearing they must have woken the whole street, 45 minutes later they dispersed, no attempt was made by the hotel reception to ask the police to move them on, all in all our worst hotel stay ever.

The only saving grace was the breakfast, this was ok, but its all self-service. So, if you dont mind discomfort, overpayment, noise, trouble parking, this is the place to go! and as a p.s they are charging £85.00 next weekend for the doubles, they really should remove their tariff, it means nothing

Room Tip: Did not use the wi-fi, no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank patunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we booked two rooms for a weekend, and if we will visit Great Yarmouth again we wont look for any other BB. the location is great , one street away from the sea, one street away from the restaurants, few meters away from the pub (where you can get lovely local beers) staff is very kind, always smiling and very helpful. I really felt like everyone makes extra afford to make sure we have good time.
rooms are nice and clean, coffee facilities available if you need it. from 8:30 to 9:30 full English breakfast is served, fully stocked bar, building has only two floors, however there is an elevator if needed. It is great place for couples and families, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JA1002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked a last minute holiday. The staff is friendly, the elevator unique, the rooms are ok, the building is old but maintained.
Really close to the pier and the beach. There is parking permit needed , but the front desk provides it to guests.
Breakfast is buffet style and the bar is well equipped.
Easy going place.
We did not have dinner there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Visited for a weekend break with National Holidays 18th to 20th July 2014. My sister an I had booked a twin room through national holidays. Greeted warmly by staff and told we coul go in the lift or take the stairs to the 2nd floor. (Nobody available to help with cases) We took the stairs as the lift would only take 2 people at a time. The corridors and stairs were carpeted with very old green, grubby carpet which had been patched in several places. When we reached our room we noted that the decor and furniture was very dated and in need of a revamp. There was a built in wardrobe which did not have any clothes hangers and was full of dust inside an out. The free standing wardrobe was adequate for two people but only had 4 coat hangers. The bathroom was very dated an the shower base was scuffed and dented, the bathroom door was a sliding one but only had a top runner, door would not shut fully which left a large gap, the bathroom floor was dusty although the toilet, shower and basin were clean. The food at dinner was very basic and only three choices of starters and main course and two puddings. Breakfast was much better, plenty of choice and hot food and tea and coffee. The second evenings food was really quite appalling, fish and chips or cottage pie, the fish and chips were almost Inedible, the fish was brown and the batter was CHEWY!! Frozen chips with no taste. Bread and butter pudding or ice cream, for pud, my sister could not eat the bread an butter pudding as it was so stodgy and tasteless. On the positives, and there wasn't many, the staff were helpful and polite and the beds were clean an comfortable.
Very very disappointed as we have been on holiday with national holidays several times and have had lovely hotels but this one needs a complete revamp and defiantly a more imaginative chef.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank EVP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed in the Waverley for a week in June. Given a room on the second floor that was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was hot and plentiful and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The only downsides were the very antiquated lift and, as our room was at the rear of the building overlooking a yard, the noise of both the children playing there and the loud voices of the kitchen staff. Had to shut the window even though it was very warm at night. Even saying this, it wouldn't stop us staying there again if we had to go back to Great Yarmouth. This is not likely as disliked the town intensely. All amusement arcades and fish and chips!

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not overlook the rear yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SylviaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked two single rooms for a friend and myself.for a 5 day break away On arrival we were greeted with a polite and plesant mannered guy and was given our room keys promptly. Arrived in our rooms although small were adquately equiped with all the essentials including shower gel and soap and the decor was nice and clean and bed was comfortable. Staff were busy at breakfast (buffet style) with a coach party that were staying on the same dates as ours but could not fault the food the sausages were not the cheap crap you normally get in hotels and the coffee was lovely and hot. Can't comment on evening meal as we were only B/B but some of the coach party were saying there was a wide choice to choose from and very nice. The young lady behind the bar was lovely pleasant with a gsoh The management were also very plesant and welcoming. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone its location was ideal to the main shopping centre, bus station and all other wonderful amentities Great Yarmouth has to offer including the beach. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Nelson Hotel
The Nelson Hotel
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Address: 32-37 Princes Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £52 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waverley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful brand new two floor fully renovated hotel with all 47 en-suite rooms having LCD T.V., tea-coffee making facility, Intercom Facility and lift access to all the rooms. We are one minute away from the sea front and the main town center(Britannia Pier) and the opposite the famous Pub on the Prom. Full English Breakfast consisting of fresh farm sausages and egg are served to our elite customers in our most lively 100 seater restaurant on the lobby level.Fully stocked bar and lounge on the lobby level for people to relax and enjoy their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth
The Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing