We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Having read some of the reviews on here we were concerned.. We stayed in a family room (114) as a couple with two small children on a Friday and Saturday night. The room was a good size with two double beds. The bathroom was small but very clean. The shower unfortunately was leaking where the head attaches to the hose so there were various sprays coming out at right angles which hit you in the face and were impossible to get away from. However the shower was hot and pressure was pretty good (unlike a lot of other places we've stayed).

The room was clean and quiet. We weren't disturbed by any noise from inside the hotel at all, just some noisy revellers in the street outside.

The bed was fairly uncomfortable and creaky.

Breakfast was fine, the cooked breakfast was all fresh and hot (although we were there on the dot of 8.30 when they started serving). There were plenty of staff around to help.

Yes the lift was old and quirky, kids loved it and all added to the charm.

The weather was a lovely hot weekend but we never felt the room to be uncomfortably hot and didn't use the fan (am guessing this was due in part to the room being larger than the average).

We got parked a little way up the street and left the car there for the whole weekend.

Yes the hallways smelt a bit "fusty", the design of the hotel doesn't really have any windows in the internal corridors so it never gets an airing.

All in all I'd say we were happy, we paid £95 a night for four of us including breakfast. It could have been a lot worse and we'd probably stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cl_nadasdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    121
    64
    12
    23
See reviews for
64
169
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Last weekend my wife and I spent a very pleasant two days at The Waverley Hotel in Great Yarmouth. The staff were extremely helpful. They provide a parking permit for all the time you are there to be used in the nearby public roads. The hotel is in a very good position near the beach, restaurants and shops. They provide just bed & breakfast but do have a bar. The full english breakfasts are buffet style and very appertising. Water & tea making facilities are in every room and the hotel clean & spotless. It is also very reasonably priced. I would definately stay there once more if should I visit Great Yarmouth again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Booked in to The Waverley for one night. On arrival we were met by an Indian guy who seemed very friendly. We did notice the musty smell everywhere but thought something may have been spilled. We were given a parking pass and told to park anywhere in the surrounding streets with a zone "A" sign. There were simply no spaces anywhere so parked maybe 4 or 5 streets away. The lift is something off Noah's Ark. The smell was awful everywhere,the room was ok but the mattress on the bed was like a pile of rusty springs with a blanket over it. Enough was enough. We walked out without even asking for our money back. It simply wasn't worth arguing with the Indian staff. We checked in somewhere else which was superb. Avoid . Avoid. Avoid

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Have just got back from this hotel, with my partner and 2 year old son! We had a lovely time, room was large and beautifully presented! We were also brought a fan after the gentleman realise how hot the room was whilst setting up our travel cot!
The breakfast was brilliant! Excellent location, definitely be returning!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjane2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked a double room via booking.com at a rate of £75.00 including breakfast, we requested a comfortable bed due to my bad back.

Firstly, when we arrived we had to park a ten minute walk away from the hotel, this area is very congested with traffic, upon entering the hotel the room tariff is displayed on the front windows, a double room with breakfast is quoted at £65.00 a suite costs £75.00.

We were allocated room 221, the lift is an old wooden affair only in use from 8 am to 11pm, the room was very small there was one old wooden chair in it, the bed was very very uncomfortable.

Straight away we went to reception and refused the room, I explained the pictures of the doubles advertised all had two leather club chairs with a table and were a lot bigger than what we had been given. I also explained about my back, we were told they had noticed my request that morning, we had booked for the room several days before.

Long story short after 10 minutes the Manager appeared and told us there were no other rooms they were all the same and so were the beds, we argued our case this was not what we had paid for, the room was a downgrade etc etc he made me explain my back problems in front of all the queue awaiting their rooms before finally giving us a room of the type we had paid for. The bed had all the springs poking through, had to sleep on the top of it.

Was awoken at 5.30 a.m from revellers outside the hotel shouting and swearing they must have woken the whole street, 45 minutes later they dispersed, no attempt was made by the hotel reception to ask the police to move them on, all in all our worst hotel stay ever.

The only saving grace was the breakfast, this was ok, but its all self-service. So, if you dont mind discomfort, overpayment, noise, trouble parking, this is the place to go! and as a p.s they are charging £85.00 next weekend for the doubles, they really should remove their tariff, it means nothing

Room Tip: Did not use the wi-fi, no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we booked two rooms for a weekend, and if we will visit Great Yarmouth again we wont look for any other BB. the location is great , one street away from the sea, one street away from the restaurants, few meters away from the pub (where you can get lovely local beers) staff is very kind, always smiling and very helpful. I really felt like everyone makes extra afford to make sure we have good time.
rooms are nice and clean, coffee facilities available if you need it. from 8:30 to 9:30 full English breakfast is served, fully stocked bar, building has only two floors, however there is an elevator if needed. It is great place for couples and families, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JA1002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked a last minute holiday. The staff is friendly, the elevator unique, the rooms are ok, the building is old but maintained.
Really close to the pier and the beach. There is parking permit needed , but the front desk provides it to guests.
Breakfast is buffet style and the bar is well equipped.
Easy going place.
We did not have dinner there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Property: The Waverley Hotel
Address: 32-37 Princes Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful brand new two floor fully renovated hotel with all 47 en-suite rooms having LCD T.V., tea-coffee making facility, Intercom Facility and lift access to all the rooms. We are one minute away from the sea front and the main town center(Britannia Pier) and the opposite the famous Pub on the Prom. Full English Breakfast consisting of fresh farm sausages and egg are served to our elite customers in our most lively 100 seater restaurant on the lobby level.Fully stocked bar and lounge on the lobby level for people to relax and enjoy their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth
The Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing