We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasteful with a quirky edge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Henry's on the Prom
Ranked #5 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very tasteful with a quirky edge”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We received a warm welcome with a pot of fresh coffee and biscuits from Tom,while we settled into our room that was very tastefully decorated with authentic antique furniture and was bright, clean, well supplied and cosy. The room was facing the promenade which was beautiful to look out of during the day but it was noisy at night with people coming out of the pub on the pier. As it was a Saturday night, this was probably expected but once our heads hit the pillows we slept soundly.
In the morning, we had a lovely breakfast and nothing was too much bother for our lovely hosts.
very much recommended.

Room Tip: try to book a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrys O, Owner at Henry's on the Prom, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thanks for the review, that's a good point you make - the down side of having a sea view room at the weekend is that there may be noise from the various passers-by. It's good to know your sleep wasn't disrupted, but anyone who suspects they may be disturbed should definitely book room 5 which is not just quieter, but also a bit darker in the mornings so is highly recommended for those who like a lie-in! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we will meet again in future. Claire and Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
146
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for one night in April. Our room had a direct view of the pier which was good. The accommodation was OK, the carpet was very old and worn, the curtains are far too thin considering the amount of artificial light just outside, but the room had been recently painted and it was clean. All of this was more than compensated for by the excellent breakfast served with care and attention by the charming people who run the B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrys O, Owner at Henry's on the Prom, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our breakfast, we do our best! And we take your point about the curtains - you're not the first to mention that particular aspect - so we're having some blackout blinds fitted in that room next week. And the poor carpet - what a battering it takes! We shampoo it regularly, but we cannot deny it is time for a replacement. We're unlikely to have an opportunity to replace it before the winter, but then it's definitely on the agenda. Thanks for your helpful feedback and we hope we see you again sometime. Claire and Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago for a two night break with a voucher deal. We had a lovely clean room with a sea view, which was perfect . The couple who run the B&B are lovely and friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them. The breakfast was perfect and they cater for everybody's tastes. We would of loved to of stayed an extra night, but they were fully booked. We hope to stay there again in the near future. we had a wonderful time in Great Yarmouth and this was topped off with a fantastic stay at Henrys on the Prom.
Gina and John.

Room Tip: Room 1 has excellent sea views and is a lovely size room, which is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina_John2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrys O, Owner at Henry's on the Prom, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We're glad to hear you enjoyed Yarmouth and your stay here at Henry's - and great tip: Room 1 has the best views of any room on the property. Sorry about the extra night not working out, but we hope you will be back soon. See you then, Claire and Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

we stayed here last week for 2 nights using a voucher we had bought. The B&B is shabby chic and there are lots of pictures and sayings painted on the walls and even the main stairway. The couple who run the place were so friendly and provided a really good breakfast. Room was clean and tidy. I would have no problem at all in recommending this B&B to other people

Room Tip: we had a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrys O, Owner at Henry's on the Prom, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the shabby-chic theme. We shall pass on your compliments to Jan, the talented artist who decorated our place so well. We hope to see you again in future, Claire and Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I spent two nights here from their Wowcher promotion.From the initial welcome by the shabby chic cafe next door with a welcome cup of tea after a 3 hour drive,Tom helped us with the cases and showed us to our room.Top class view from room number 1 over the pier and sea.Decor is definitely shabby chic/seaside,well thought out down to the details such as mixed cup saucer,cutlery themes.Rooms were spotless and very comfortable.Breakfast was varied with fruits,cereals and full English for me and well catered for my vegetarian wife- nothing was too much trouble and it tasted great!
Cannot fault the service , food, room or location.Top value!
Bill and Cheryl

Room Tip: Room one for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrys O, Owner at Henry's on the Prom, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thanks for your lovely review - it's very encouraging to know what we're doing here hits the spot! You're right, the view from Room 1 is the best from anywhere on the property, as long as you can face 2 flights of stairs to get there! We hope you'll think of us again next time you're in GY. Claire and Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just spent a brilliant two night stay here all I can say is fantastic ,homely and welcoming ,Clare and Tom were fantastic hosts , The place is spotless couldn't fault it from the lovely fresh white linen to the fluffy white towels all brilliant.We couldn't have been looked after better ,the room had a fantastic sea view ,shabby chic décor and quaint touches like tea cosies and mis matched crockery ,plus fantastic breakfast ,what more can I say 5*plus from me the best B&B I have ever stayed in .

Room Tip: we had room 1 fantastic sea view , beautiful bright room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northantsfossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrys O, Owner at Henry's on the Prom, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
That must be the best review we've ever had! Thank you for writing it and we are just delighted that you enjoyed Henry's so much. Homely is exactly the vibe we're aiming for. We hope we'll be seeing you both again soon, Claire and Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Me and my partner came here in may, we were really made to feel welcome, very friendly people, absolutely loved the decor! Its so pretty and fresh clean looking, and the shabby chic look is brilliant, we were shown to our room that was perfect for a weekend away really clean and again the decor was fab! We even had our own little kettle with unlimited supply of tea and coffee, The beds are so comfy and had a brilliant sleep, the mornings breakfast was delicious and not heavy or greasy for it being a full english being that its grilled , and lots of other breakfasts available being a variety of cereal, fresh fruit yogurts, dried fruits and fresh fruit juice, also tea and fresh coffee, the service was amazing and nothing was to much bother to claire or tom, the location is perfect being right on the prom we had a brilliant weekend and would not hesitate to come back, i would recommend this place to any one and every one in fact i am eager to go back :-) it was brilliant thank you for a fantastic weekend break away.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness centre but it would not let me submit with out selecting a rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrys O, Owner at Henry's on the Prom, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you so much - what a lovely review; we have the loveliest guests. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you both again. It really makes our day when we are able to please our guests so much. Claire and Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry's on the Prom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry's on the Prom

Property: Henry's on the Prom
Address: 71 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 2DQ, England (Formerly Hooray Henrys B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Henry's on the Prom 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henry's on the Prom B&B is situated opposite Britannia Pier and just a few steps to the glorious beaches of this traditional resort. The five bedrooms (one with separate children's room) are in the shabby chic style with a soft pastel designer decor with memory foam mattresses and pillows, crisp white cotton linens, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TVs. Three of the five rooms have spectacular sea views. All rooms have a mini fridge, fresh milk in a kilner bottle and mineral water daily too. Included in the price is the ever popular Henry's Norfolk Breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Henry's on the Prom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry's On The Prom Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing