We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Hollywood Cinema Great Yarmouth! Situated on Marine Parade at the start of the Golden Mile we show the latest movies from Hollywood at the best value! Treat yourself on your visit to Great Yarmouth with a great movie in one of the most iconic buildings on the Sea Front. Original the town Aquarium, the building has a rich history of entertaining visitors since the Victorian times. From Theater to Cinema the greatest have graced our auditoriums over the decades. Prices at the Best Value are: Adults £7.30 per person Children (14 & Under), Senior, Hollywood Cinema Gold Card & Student £5.99 person Family (1 or 2 adults + any children) £5.99 per person Bargain Monday £4.99* per person Gift Vouchers: The Ideal Gift For Any Occasion available at the Box Office. Available in £5 & £10. CEA Card: CEA Card which entitles the holder to one free ticket for their carer. Telephone Bookings: You can book for all our films using a credit/debit card (surcharge applies) please telephone during normal Box Office opening hours. *Bargain Monday is not available on Bank Holiday Mondays.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Having read some of the reviews of this cinema, I wasn't sure what to expect when we went to see Star Trek - Into Darkness. I even apologised to my family before we went in, just in case it was an awful fleapit. I needn't have worried. There are no 3D films which suits us fine because, as a family of 4, at least one of us normally leaves the cinema with a 3D induced headache. The screens are not very big but that didn't detract from enjoying the film. We saw the first showing of the day and the auditorium was very clean. The cinema also has some personal touches like a mini Dr Who exhibit. I think painting the walls in a warmer colour or wallpapering would make the place feel more hospitable. The toilets weren't great but I have seen (and smelt) much worse in some multiplexes. The upshot is that if you are living or staying in striking distance of Great Yarmouth, don't want to go all the way to Norwich and don't care about 3D, I would recommend visiting this cinema.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clint_Swagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodCinema_Team, Manager at Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for your positive review Clint_swagger,

We are pleased you saw this film in such a positive way and hope you will visit us to see Star Trek Beyond on July 22nd.

We have a new Management team for 2016 who are working hard to make the cinema even better value for money and will use your review to improve the service to patrons.

Our team aim to provide the best value tickets and great customer service to all our visitors.

We hope you will visit us again soon as our new structures are put in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    37
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ash, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“In desperate need of an update”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We thought we'd go and check out what was on at the local cinema, having never heard of Hollywood Cinemas.
I know this is an independent cinema but it seems that it's behind the times, when asking them if they had Star Trek in 3D, I got a look of "we don't do that round here" and was told it was in 2D.

I can't help but think this place could do better, their prices ARE good at £7 a ticket but lack of 3D stopped me seeing a movie here and with so many of them coming out I can't help but think they're loosing customers due to their lack of technology.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magicmerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodCinema_Team, Manager at Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for your review Magicmerly,

We are sorry our staff responded like this regarding Star Trek. We don't show 3D films simply to keep the cost down to our patrons and a lack of requests for this service by our visitors. Our projectors are 4K technology by Sony giving you the best quality images available to date.

We have a new Management team for 2016 who are working hard to make the cinema even better value for money and will use your review to improve the service to patrons.

Our team aim to provide the best value tickets and great customer service to all our visitors.

We hope you will visit us again soon as our new structures are put in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Naff and run down”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This cinema is in need of major refurbishment. Or even to the point of being demolished and rebuilt.
The chairs are old, stained and uncomfortable. The screens are really bad quality, the toilets stink.
I cant remember this being any different for my whole life and i have lived in yarmouth since i was born.

My advice is pay the extra to get the train up to norwich and visit odeon.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ADX92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodCinema_Team, Manager at Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for your review ADX92,

We have a new Management team for 2016 who are working hard to make the cinema even better value for money and will use your review to improve the service to patrons.

To date we have upgraded the cinema decor and outside signage. All our screens are now Sony 4K screens providing the best picture quality available. We aim to add more services and improve the building as time goes by.

Our team aim to provide the best value tickets and great customer service to all our visitors.

We hope you will visit us again soon as our new structures are put in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great but old”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

showing good films, also all the new films that came out are in cinema straight away, with no dely.
Prices are not too high, but on food its high.
The negative side is that atmosphere is old, chairs and surrounding is old. Screan is small, could be bigger.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sabin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodCinema_Team, Manager at Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for your review Sabin A,

We have a new Management team for 2016 who are working hard to make the cinema even better value for money and will use your review to improve the service to patrons.

Our team aim to provide the best value tickets and great customer service to all our visitors.

We hope you will visit us again soon as our new structures are put in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent cinema”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Only £6.99 entrance or half price with a Hollywood Gold card (free to apply). They have several screens and films for all ages. Usually shown a week after premier release in London!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bablicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodCinema_Team, Manager at Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for your positive and glowing review bablicious,

We have a new Management team for 2016 who are working hard to make the cinema even better value for money and will use your review to improve the service to patrons.

Our prices are now £7.20 an adult or £5.99 for others. We do a special £4.99 Monday bargain film and still show our Kids Club at £1.49 each. Always the best value!

Our team aim to provide the best value tickets and great customer service to all our visitors.

We hope you will visit us again soon as our new structures are put in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth also viewed

 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing