We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved and tidied up...”

Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Hollywood Cinema Great Yarmouth! Situated on Marine Parade at the start of the Golden Mile we show the latest movies from Hollywood at the best value! Treat yourself on your visit to Great Yarmouth with a great movie in one of the most iconic buildings on the Sea Front. Original the town Aquarium, the building has a rich history of entertaining visitors since the Victorian times. From Theater to Cinema the greatest have graced our auditoriums over the decades. Prices at the Best Value are: Adults £7.30 per person Children (14 & Under), Senior, Hollywood Cinema Gold Card & Student £5.99 person Family (1 or 2 adults + any children) £5.99 per person Bargain Monday £4.99* per person Gift Vouchers: The Ideal Gift For Any Occasion available at the Box Office. Available in £5 & £10. CEA Card: CEA Card which entitles the holder to one free ticket for their carer. Telephone Bookings: You can book for all our films using a credit/debit card (surcharge applies) please telephone during normal Box Office opening hours. *Bargain Monday is not available on Bank Holiday Mondays.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Improved and tidied up...”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We visited this cinema last year and even though we enjoyed the experience we could see that it was a bit grubby and run down. However we visited this year and were glad to see that some investment and improvements had been made.
There are new seats and a new sound system, the price of a ticket is still fairly low compared to the larger chain cinemas, £7 for an adult ticket beats any of my local ones.
The concessions area is small but well stocked and again somehow the prices are kept low.
Outside we could see that the ageing building has had some clean up work and some maintenance was going on on the roof during the day, so i guess the owners can see that it is a fine old building and needed some TLC.
Bargain prices at an improved old cinema. take a look if you are holidaying nearby.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MJI_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodCinema_Team, Manager at Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for your review MJI_9,

We have a new Management team for 2016 who are working hard to make the cinema even better value for money and will use your review to improve the service to patrons.

Our team aim to provide the best value tickets and great customer service to all our visitors.

We hope you will visit us again soon as our new structures are put in place and we bring some tlc to the building and movies we show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    34
    37
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Needs air conditioning”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is an old cinema but not originally designed as a theatre or cinema, and it shows. I hope a new 'old' cinema takes over one of the old, closed theatres instead of this place. Incredibly hot inside on a 22 degree day and desperately in need of air conditioning.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HereOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodCinema_Team, Manager at Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for your review HereOnHols,

We have a new Management team for 2016 who are working hard to make the cinema even better value for money and will use your review to improve the service to patrons.

We will use your review to improve the service we now provide and update the air con issues you mentioned.

Our team aim to provide the best value tickets and great customer service to all our visitors.

We hope you will visit us again soon as our new structures are put in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Okay if you like to hear the film next door, or Silent Movies”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We visited the cinema on a rainy Sunday afternoon.
The choice of films was not very inspiring but we paid our money and went to screen five.

The seats were very low and uncomfortable.
Twenty minutes into the film we lost all sound on our film. We had a picture, but no sound. A man came into apologise but it took 6-7 minutes to get it going again.
Once the film restarted, they did not re-play the section we missed so I did not properly understand how the plot developed.

At several points during our film (not just during the silent bit) I was able to hear noise from an adjoining screen, which rather spoiled my viewing pleasure.

I would re-visit but, based on my experience on rhis occasion, I have to grade it as being a poor experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pitacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodCinema_Team, Manager at Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for your review Pitacus,

We are sorry you experienced issues on your visit. We have now upgraded the cinema to deal with these issues with Sony 4K projectors and improved sound insulation.

We have a new Management team for 2016 who are working hard to make the cinema even better value for money and will use your review to improve the service to patrons.

Our team aim to provide the best value tickets and great customer service to all our visitors.

We hope you will visit us again soon as our new structures are put in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really nice older style cinema”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Went here to see Muppets Most Wanted whilst in holiday in the area. Lovely older style cinema and great value. Not for those wanting the latest 3D multiplex

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodCinema_Team, Manager at Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for your review jakenight23,

We have a new Management team for 2016 who are working hard to make the cinema even better value for money and will use your review to improve the service to patrons.

Our team aim to provide the best value tickets and great customer service to all our visitors.

We don not show 3D so to keep the price of our films to the best value.

We hope you will visit us again soon as our new structures are put in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Looked through the windows, very entertaining!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We didn't watch any movie here but the building itself is pretty fine and we spent a couple of minutes gawking through the windows at proceedings inside the entrance hall. The bored looking youths flogging overpriced popcorn provided amusement and the ticket prices were not a complete rip. Recommended length of visit: 5 min.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodCinema_Team, Manager at Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for your review nb888,

We have a new Management team for 2016 who are working hard to make the cinema even better value for money and will use your review to improve the service to patrons.

Our team aim to provide the best value tickets and great customer service to all our visitors.

We hope you will visit us again soon and come and watch one of our great priced movies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Cinemas, Great Yarmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing