We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Norfolks Hero”
Review of Nelson Museum

Nelson Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Norfolks Hero”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A great museum dedicated to Norfolks hero. I can't say more as I am a volunteer at the museum, so slightly biased. The museum is situated on the heritage quay on the riverside.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank biggles26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Lots of pictures and facts I did not know about Nelsons life and naval career. Not a very big museum and not very well signed but once you get there it is worthwhile.Recommend a visit

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnc174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
599 reviews
294 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“A must for all visitors to Yarmouth”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I had wanted to visit the museums at South Quay for ages so started with Nelson's Museum and was not disappointed. The ladies at the desk were very helpful and it only cost £3.50 to get in! The museum was very informative about our most important sailor; his life, loves and battles so I came out knowing a lot more than when I went in. There are lots of activities to keep the children interested as well. To link in with this visit it is worth a short drive to see Nelson's column which you can walk up the 200 steps to see the views over Yarmouth. I think there should be more publicity to entice the crowds from the front to these museums at the key.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank R P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nelson insights”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My family only stayed a short while in yarmouth and we decided to explore some new attractions rather than amusement parks etc. one of these is the nelson museum , tucked away at the back of the sea front in one of the oldest parts of town on the south quay by the yare river. Inside the museum its an interesting account of nelsons early life and how he rose up through the ranks to become one of englands greatest heroes. articles and artifacts and memorabilia abound in this former 18th century custom house . although small we were in there for about an hour and a half. youngsters are catered for as there is a competition to find things and out the back in the garden they can play giant chequers. The staff were very helpful but i get the feeling that not a lot of people go there as its out of the way.,but there are also quite a few little gems of interesting places to visit around this quarter. My advice is to go to the english tourist board situated on the seafront opposite brittania pier? where they are extremely helpful and get a heritage pass which gives you aprox £8 discount off all these attractions.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank blaise002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend an hour.”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

A lovely little stop, set in an Edwardian house it consists of three main exhibition areas, detailing the career, private life of Nelson plus the upstairs room has differing temporary exhibits, it was ships of oak when we went, all about Nelsons ships. Upstairs is easy to access with a buggy using the lift and also has an education room with activities for children plus an art corner with a fantastic selection of materials to let their imagination go wild, we now have some lovely ship pictures! Downstairs also has a "below decks," room with life size cannons, it is all set up as if you are actually on the Victory, with sound, lights and props that really captured our boys. There is also a courtyard play area outside, which does look lovely but we didn't stay out long as was very chilly! There is a pay and display car park right next door, with reserved spaces if your visiting the museum, it cost about £1.40 for two hours. The museum was £9 for a family ticket, 2 adults and 2 children.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beckie499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nelson Museum also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Caister-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 
 

Been to Nelson Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing