We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding held here 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Hotel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wedding held here 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

i had my wedding reception at this hotel June 2012 i wasnt happy with the way i was treated at the original place i had booked so with 3 weeks to go till my wedding i looked around and found the star hotel had availablity for the date i required, Lloyd and his sister Tyko were so helpful, in the 3 weeks notice i gave them they organised a 3 course sit down meal for 60 guests and a buffet at night for 100 which the food was lovely the chef was very accomadating as we couldnt have pork and my sister is celiac, and they sorted out disco for us,would definately reccommend this place for a party/wedding all my guests went away happy , rooms were lovely. would definately hold a function here again

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank charleybird81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    36
    33
    26
    35
See reviews for
22
63
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is our second time at the Star and whilst it is slightly dated in terms of décor, it has a lovely oak panel entrance with a roaring log fire, nice to sit and relax.
The bedroom was clean and tidy and well serviced, however, the shower was a challenge! It was very difficult to get the temperature and the flow correct.
The breakfasts were lovely with a good selection and choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

my friend and I visited this hotel on 2oth of February 2013,It was very quiet but the entrance to the hotel was very welcoming .However when we went into the bar the young lady behind the bar was not very friendly and her attitude to the customer was very indifferent,she said "what do you want" when I went to the bar which is not what you want to hear when there was only one other person in the bar and you are there to spend money .My friend wanted to leave there and then but I persuaded her to stay ,we ordered lunch but only one of us could have scampi as they had run out,it was just after noon and there was nobody else having lunch ,so we compromised and changed it .To be fair the food was fine.I did not like to see used packets of mayonnaise left in the condiment jar on the table that should have been checked as the girl was not busy.I don't think we will be rushing back to the Star which is a shame as it is a lovely old building

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirley186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Would definitly recommend arrived on the 13th Feb on a cold night to be welcomed by a huge roaring fire in reception .Booking in was a pleasure the receptionist was friendly and polite and gave us all the necessary information about the hotel meals,restaurant times etc.My room was large,warm and clean plenty of wardrobe and drawer space.TV well placed,huge mugs for tea and coffee plenty of both and decent brands.
Bed was comfy,nice pillows ,good lighting for a read in bed.Bathroom spacious large bath plenty of hot water,heated towel rail,decent towels.
Breakfast was brilliant ,cereal and fruit juice followed by a full english all ingredients chosen from the menu ,ordered then freshly cooked.
The hotel is full of character ,and the staff treat you like a valued customer.Brilliant,couldnt fault a thing.

Room Tip: I was in room 206 ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
177 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

'Let's meet at the Star for a coffee,' he said. It was close by and the leather chairs and log fire were just the job - warm, comfy and welcoming.

We ordered cappuccino and when they arrived, the waitress apologised for the problems she'd had with the milk steamer - but there was some froth so not a problem.

Now the cup had the 'Illy' logo on the side, but the coffee was something else. It tasted like cheap instant and after one sip, I left the rest. Which, is very, very unusual.

My companion said the hotel had new owners and were investing in many improvements. Perhaps we were just unlucky. I hope so . . . .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Lloyd and his staff have gone out of there way to make this listed building a real home from home.
Full of character a great place if you want to relax or let your hair down. Although
Not perfect or modern In every way the character of the building and the owners shine through. Nothing too much trouble and if you have a complaint these are addressed promptly and professionally.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samurai007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is supposed to be undergoing a subtle revamp, according to the notes left in my room. Very subtle, if you ask me.

The hotel is dated. It seems slightly seedy. The main reception areas seem nice, as does the outer facade, but the effort drops as you move into the rooms.

Spend any time here and it will feel like a time warp. Though I think that that is just Great Yarmouth.

Bar is poorly stocked and, for the area, expensive. Restaurant food looked over priced and poor quality. Breakfast was tasty, if limited.

Wouldn't want to stay here when there were a lot of offshore lads waiting for their call.

Nothing is uncomfortable, but it's not somewhere I'd stay if I didn't have work in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
2.5 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Hotel

Property: The Star Hotel
Address: 24 Hall Quay, Great Yarmouth NR30 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment. We hope to be shiny and new by Easter 17 and look forward to welcoming you back to Great Yarmouth's Star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing