We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“leaving party”
Review of The Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Thank you xx the evening was excellent all round from music,food, the room was very well decorated and the exceptional service from the staff, i would not hesitate in recommending for a private function

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

So sorry to hear about the previous guests' experiences (of 2 weeks ago) but feel we really must put in a good word for 'The Star Hotel'. The building itself is beautiful and has a wonderful, 'olde worlde' feel to it. The wood-panelled lounge with its roaring log fire is straight out of an Agatha Christie novel. Delightful:-)) The food is delicious, the rooms large and the beds really comfortable. We always find the staff to be extremely polite and friendly. Any small problems are dealt with swiftly and with a smile. We have stayed at 'The Star' several times over the past couple of years. Our trips to Great Yarmouth are not for pleasure but 'The Star' always makes us feel at home and creates a wee bit of 'holiday atmosphere' for us. Thanks a lot, you guys!
Fran and John, Alanya. Turkey.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FranandJohn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

booked this hotel for my mum and dads re-newal of vows, booked them into a "luxury room", myself and my daughter had a twin room, Twin room was spotless although one of the beds were broken, we were offered a different room which we declined as we could do with the room with had, my mums room was disgusting, hadnt been cleaned at all, the manager soon put it right and it was cleaned, the room also had bare lightbulbs and one was hanging off the wall, bathroom had black mould,went for dinner that night and food was awful and wasnt how it was described on menu, i was kindly offered mine for free. next day we waited nearly 2 hours after the arranged time to get the function room ready, i have to say the function room looked lovely once it was done,arrived back from church, and there was a bit of a muddle up with the arrival of food which i have to say was my fault but the kitchen staff worked hard to get the food out to us,the bar staff had to keep going downstairs for our drinks during the night as the "owner" didnt want to put a barrell on upstairs as it was only a small function and he didnt want beer wasted, not acceptable we had to wait for drinks and the poor bar staff were shattered and embarrassed, at keeping us waiting. next morning i had to check the menu for the function (i had no way of doing it earlier) and realised that there were 5 items missing from out buffett, when i complained about this when handing keys in the owner was rude to me and was saying hes never had complaints before and that the weekend cost HIM money, my mum only got half her menu!!! the chef had since let it out that it was the owners fault as he didnt order in the food for the function, i have rung the star since this day and have asked for half the money back on the buffet. i think this is fair as we only had half the food and loads of hassle, phone calls havent been returned, so i phoned today to inform the hotel i will be taking them to small claims court, the owner then phoned me back, shouted down the phone thats fine takes us to small claims then put the phone down on me, i then phoned back to try and talk but he wouldnt listen,i must end by saying the staff and manager are all lovely people, the owner is a vile man, and yes i did get very annoyed and yes i did shout at him on reception but it was more like fawlty towers than the star hotel, AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!

Room Tip: avoid luxury rooms standard ones are better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dawn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I booked my room via late rooms and paid a single rate but upon arrival at my room I found it to be a beautiful double bedroom with an additional single bed.... the room was a great size and had a huge flatscreen tv and lovely bathroom. The bed itself was very comfy and after I had adjusted the radiator the room was very comfortable but the cold shower in the morning with a trickle of water coming out from it was hugely disappointing as the room had obviously been decorated to a high standard.
The staff were very friendly and more than happy to assist they even opened the bar up for us again on the first night as it was quite early but no other guests were using it, the lady who worked in reception seemed to be there all the time and worked very hard she was an asset to the hotel but unfortunately some of the other members of staff didn't seem to know what they were doing which let the hotel down.
The breakfast room was nicely laid out but we found that the cups and saucers and some of the plates / cutlery were not clean and appeared to have been left out all night, the breakfast was nice with plenty of choice but unfortunately the water for the tea was luke warm and the coffee wasn't great either. We also found that the sausage was cooked the night before and re-heated and this gave us all stomach upsets once we worked out what had caused it!!
All in all this hotel is in a good location with parking for guests and has all the right facilities but quite a lot of things let it down so I think there needs to be a few changes made to bring it up to scratch but this could be easily done with some deep cleaning, freshly cooked breakfasts (perhaps pre ordered night before when hotel is quiet) and staff training.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor at the front appear to be the nicest but they will be noisy at weekends from p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanBoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

On arrival receptionist gave us our key, we went with our friend and went up in the quaint old fashion lift, we went to our room 201, it was in the back of the hotel, a small window which looked out onto a brick wall, with pigeon muck all over the window, we went to see our friend who had only booked his room earlier that day to find his room was lovely, 207, he had a double bed, single bed huge tv, and paid £20 quid less then us.
We went to reception and complained, they took us to 204 again the back with more brick walls and a roof with chairs on. Again we said no, after going to reception again and talking with Emma we were given room 210, it was a nice room, the following morning we had a shower first of all there was hardly any water then it was tepid.
Breakfast was full English but the sausage tasted like it had been cooked night before and reheated. It kept on repeating on us all
What looks like a lovely hotel from the front is a let down inside, the staff do try, but all seem very inexperienced

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My family and I have our Sunday carvery here every week. The food is fantastic, the portions are good and the veg, rosties and yorkies are always fresh and hot. The staff are always helpful and very friendly, my 7 year old son is always looked after well and loves his dinner and chocolate cake. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The staff were absolutely nice and helpful. The room was ok, but full of small little things that didn't work. Must avoid pub downstairs. The whole downstairs is smelly and not clean. But restaurant on first floor is nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PWTPWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,089 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prom Hotel
Prom Hotel
#11 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Hotel

Address: 24 Hall Quay, Great Yarmouth NR30 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Hotel has recently undergone major refurbishment. We have 19 modern, up to date bedrooms, and a newly refurbished bar and restaurant. We continue to work on other aspects of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing