We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't want for more”
Review of The Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Star Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Couldn't want for more”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

A very clean, comfortable hotel. Everyone from the night porter to reception staff to those who served in the restaurant could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. This was a business trip but will definitely stay again when in the area, and hope to take my wife there too.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    36
    33
    26
    35
See reviews for
22
63
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Where to start - this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, never ever again!!

Filthy, dated and all the downstairs areas smelt of the gents toilets - disgusting.
The staff (with one exception - the receptionist) were either very rude (breakfast) or drunk (serving in the bar).
I requested quiet rooms and we were above the function room with loud music until the early hours and no working phone to complain about the noise. Why didn't they advise when we booked as I would have chosen another hotel.
The rooms were dirty and ill equipped but slightly better than the remainder of the place.
The photo of the bar area is extremely flattering - imagine it 10 years later after a rough life!
The carpark is very small and horrible, even if there had been a space (no chance), I wouldn't have left my car here, people double parking, deliveries and staff/guests flicking cigarette butts everywhere.

If you're thinking of staying here choose a park bench instead!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tracey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great yarmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had meal in upstairs restaurant for a party of 20 great meal and value for money x staff excellent worked very hard !
Then had a large 18 & 21 party in downstairs function. Room
Great decor / buffet great value food very fresh / staff again worked hard always happy to help
Overall great evening had by everyone x thanks to all staff members for making it a very special evening
Would recommend to friends and family for any occasion

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Cook3ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel about 5/6 times before over the past few years, but still come back for more, as it offers value for money. We paid £75 for a double room, which included a cooked breakfast.

Good location overlooking the river, and close to the town centre. One of the downsides is the noise of the traffic at the front from the busy road. There is a car park which is a bonus, but only small, taking about 12 vehicles. A lot of rubbish was evident was evident at back of hotel. The Mariners Tavern adjacent to the car park is highly recommended for real ales, and CAMRA mentioned.

We checked in about 2.30pm and went up to our allotted room on the 2nd floor, but the key card would not work. Back to reception, allocated a new key card and entered the room to find other peoples luggage, and the bed not made. Again returned back to reception, and was given cock and bull story about guests extending their stay, etc. The room paperwork seemed rather chaotic. Staff at reception, faffed about trying to find a suitable room, so I suggested Room 304, The Arabian Suite, which we had been in for our last stay, and it was free.

The lift at the hotel is rather ancient, a museum piece in itself, but at least there is a lift. You have to get used to the double lift doors.

Breakfast is now on the 1st floor overlooking the river, with the original restaurant now a function room. There were 3 choice of cereals, 2 fruit juices, but no yoghurt, or fresh fruit. The cooked breakfast could only be described as adequate, with 1 fried egg, 1 sausage, 1 rash of bacon, 1 tinned tomato, and some baked beans. The coffee and tea were both very good. At least the waiter brought the freshly made toast to the table, rather than having to use those catering toasters.

Although this hotel is rather tatty round the edges, loose tiles in bathroom, etc, we will probably stay at this hotel again when in Great Yarmouth, as offers value for money and very convenient for town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at front of the hotel overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V2-60885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Star on a bed and breakfast rate (£75.00 per Night) over the first weekend in August. We were given a nice twin room on the second floor. First thing to say is the old fashioned lift is an experience in its self, real old world probably pre-war I’d say but with a real character although it dose come to a halt with a jolt. Great fun though. The room was a bit a bit difficult to find and was down several narrow corridors and up and down to sets of five stairs. The room was a good size with comfortable twin beds. Bathroom was also a good size with twin sinks and a good shower. Tea and coffee in the room but the supplied mugs were like buckets which meant if you filled them up you needed to sachets of coffee or two tea bags. Had to go to reception for a top-op of sachets. We got back to the Hotel at around 11.00pm after being to a restaurant for a meal. Thought we would have a drink in the Hotel Bar before going to bed but the Hotel Bar was shut and it was a Friday night. Ended up going to the pub next door. The bar being shut was a bit disappointing really in this day and age. In the morning wend down to a very pleasant breakfast room on the first floor overlooking the south Quay. Breakfast was OK with good quality produce, just not very much of it. Overall it is not a bad hotel. Could do with a bit of fine tuning and the Bar Open a bit later an it would be great.

Room Tip: A Typical Seaside Hotel but not for children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famstavros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for a weekend away. The room was way over priced and not what we paid for or what we were expecting. Very noisy and you can hear every step people take because of the creaky floorboards. Room was basic, small and wasn't overly clean either.

We paid for a double suite at 80 quid a night and got a bed, wardrobe, a rusty bath and a broken window with a view of pigeons and a brick wall.

Didn't bother trying the breakfast because we didn't want to stay in the hotel longer than we needed to.

Staff were lovely, and good location but will not be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandraxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

As a rail worker, I work nights and if the company wasn't paying, I would have walked out. First problem when returning from our night shift the night porter disappeared and we were stuck outside for 1h30m, then cleaners ignored my DO NOT DISTURB sign on my door, despite it being in 10 languages and tried to enter my room while I was sleeping and the Fire Door next to my room my official route should the worst happen had a pile of 8 laundry bags in front of it all week, the only good thing about this hotel is the food and friendly restaurant staff, my room cost £87.50 even in the summer that is a rip off for this place

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
503 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Hotel

Property: The Star Hotel
Address: 24 Hall Quay, Great Yarmouth NR30 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment. We hope to be shiny and new by Easter 17 and look forward to welcoming you back to Great Yarmouth's Star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing