We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but have stayed in better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marine Lodge
Ranked #41 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok but have stayed in better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Having recently stayed in this hotel, we found it to be a bit bland and was suprised that breakfast was an extra and not inclusive for a basic B&B.

We certainly wont be returning to Great Yarmouth, We as a family found nothing Great about the place or accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    50
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
56
75
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

I have been staying at the Marine Lodge for the last 5 years, and have truely enjoyed every visit! The location is fantastic, right on the seafront, just a few minutes away from all the local attractions. The beach is literally over the road and the theatre is too, whicj is great when there are great shows on! The rooms are lovely, really clean and modern. We always have a great nights sleep in the comfortable beds. The staff are always really friendly, happy to help with anything. The restaurant is kept clean, and breakfasts are delicious! The bar is great, serving all your favourite drinks at reasonable prices. There is seating outside so you can enjoy a drink on a pleasant summer's evening without going too far. The car park is great, you can leave your car there even after you check out which I think is fantastic! I've been visiting Yarmouth for the last 26 years, since I was a baby. I love Yarmouth and will always visit, and after discovering the Marine Lodge, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Brilliant prices just make this the number one place to stay in Yarmouth! We'll be back in August and we can't wait!

Room Tip: Anything with a sea view, is just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine_rainbow25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

First, the context. Great Yarmouth is without doubt the armpit of East Anglia. It makes Blackpool look like Cap Ferrat. If you are thinking of staying in Yamouth, think twice and then think again. Well, we had to because we ran out of options, then spent an hour driving around looking for somewhere half decent to stay, repelled by surly staff, crumbling facades, peeling wallpaper and the smell of rancid food. Finally, we settled on Marine Lodge because it did at least look smart and did not smell bad. We had ignored it on the first pass because of a huge sign advertising "Rooms from £58", which you tend not to see outside a classy hotel. However, we had made a good choice. The receptionsit was most helpful and showed us a selection of rooms. The basic one looked quite small, though clean enough, and we took the Premium King-Size Sea-View Deluxe or some such, £95 a night, room only. It was a beautiful room - Room 7 - clean, spacious, comfortable, huge bed and a modern and well-equipped en suite bathroom with jacuzzi, no less. Despite the fact that it overlooked the parade (and a night club) from the first floor, the double glazing was extremely efficient and we spent a quiet and undisturbed night. There is only a breakfast restaurant so we had to go out to dinner - itself a challenge in Yarmouth, but reception recommended a very good Greek restaurant just around the corner. There is, however, a quiet and civilsed bar in the hotel. Breakfast was excellent, £8 for the full English. I would qualify all this, however, by saying that the hotel was extremely quiet when we were there, only half a dozen rooms let out of 40 or so. Don't know how things would change when they are busy. But thanks, Marine Lodge, you saved us from what could have been a nasty blot on our holiday landscape

Room Tip: Room 7 - see decsription above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quadstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

this hotel has to be the best in great yarmouth the staff are very friendly and love to help no matter what!!
the rooms are very very clean and well set out and the new rooms are lushh i would stay in the prem delux super king double with sea view.
breakfast is really nicee too ..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elliemogthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

We stayed here recently for a short break and were well impressed by the room which was clean, very comfortable, with a good seaview.
The service was impeccable and the staff attentive and friendly.
The breakfast is not included in the price but we prefferred this option as it doesnt tie you to the hotel for food,
There are no evening meals avaliable but i believe that you allowed to take food to your room. This again seems a good idea and quite rational given the amount of food outlets in the area.
We are going to visit Yarmouth again for a longer break and will definitely be staying at the Marine Lodge.

Room Tip: Use of the pool at a nearby hotel is included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJI_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

I was booked in here for a business trip stay - a colleague books all my accomodation and i was horrified to see i was booked in on the sea front in a seaside town !!!! HOWEVER as soon as i arrived i soon realised you should not judge all seaside accomadation as the same. The building looks nice from outside, reception were lovely and it appears that they are having a re-furb,. My room was on the second floor with a really comfy bed - i slept all night and often don't when i'm away from home. The room was a good size and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was lovely with a bath and shower.

I would reccomend this B & B for other business people and holiday makers. I don't think they serve evening meal and i didn't have breakfast as i left early.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loudean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

I stayed here with my wife and 2 kids in September for 2 nights whilst visiting some family. I really wanted to find a travel lodge or similar but there isn't any in the town centre of Yarmouth. After much scanning of reviews and horror at the prices of some of the other sea front hotels we went for the Marine Lodge. We were in fact very lucky, this is an excellent family run hotel in a superb location for the bright lights of Yarmouth. We stayed in the family room which was spacious and clean and has a sea view as well as being ideally located for the town centre and sea front attractions. You pay extra for the breakfast but I can highly recommend it, the service is a la carte (makes a nice change from the usual buffet favoured by 99% of hotels nowadays) and the quality of the food is superb for such a small establishment. The staff are also very friendly. If I was being ultra critical I would say that the drinks in the bar are a little bit pricey but the room rate was substantially less than some of the other hotels we looked at so I guess they have to make their money somehow. I will definitely be staying at this hotel again on future visits to Yarmouth.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie_G72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Prom Hotel
Prom Hotel
#11 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Henry's on the Prom
Henry's on the Prom
#5 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gable End Hotel
Gable End Hotel
#35 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Lodge

Property: Marine Lodge
Address: 19-20 Euston Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Marine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing