We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stroke of luck”
Review of Marine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marine Lodge
Ranked #35 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Driving around Gt Yarmouth with no idea where to stay for the night, my wife spotted the Marine Lodge, we parked in the free car park and went to reception, very friendly welcome booked in and had a very pleasant stay I can recommend the hotel the rooms are clean and the food is very good we took pot luck and came up trumps, we had a room with a sea view and had no problems at all.

Room Tip: Room 25 looks out to sea.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul0010_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Marine Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed at this Hotel for a couple of nights, and found the staff pleasant , the rooms spotless and it is in a great location. Also there is free parking at the Hotel, what more could you ask for. We will certainly be paying more visits back to Marine Lodge in the future :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a premier room with a sea view, and it was a proper sea view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We have come back here many times over the year and are never disappointed.
The location is in the heart of the town right next to the beach. Car parking is not a problem as they have a carpark you can use for free. Although it's compact, our Insignia always fits in.
Food here is lovely, the staff are wonderful and the atmosphere is always very relaxed and friendly. The only place we stay now. If it's full, we pick another week!

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank Lsinclair30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Marine Lodge Hotel for 2 nights, it was our 3rd stay at the hotel this year and it seems to improve with every visit. We took advantage of the "2 night special offer" where your breakfast and evening meals are included. Adam the chef, cooked us 2 sumptious evening meals and the breakfasts were just as mouthwatering.
As usual, our room was spotless and cleaned during our stay, the staff were polite and helpful and we enjoyed the break so much we have already booked for Easter 2014. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a enjoyable time in Great Yarmouth.
Once again, many thanks to Nick, Gina, Scott and Adam and the rest of the staff, you all do a wonderful job.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnbignose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Had lovely short stay in Great Yarmouth - very nice hotel with very friendly staff throughout (Reception, housekeeping, restaurant, etc). Would go back again (maybe in the Summer months when the weather might be a little nicer and would / will recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WJackson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just at the end of the busy strip near pier yet far enough away from hustle and bustle the hotel is well situated to walk into town. It is also a several minute cab journey to railway station.

Good bar with outdoor area for when the sun shines whilst the restaurant is airy and food well prepared.

The Exec rooms very smart, one I saw had lovely large bed whilst my room was clean light and more than adequate for needs of long weekend.

Staff are helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

It is a shame... the hotel is a good standard in a great location with reasonably priced rooms and good parking. However the manager and reception staff are incredibly unfriendly.

When we arrived we entered all smiles to be greeted by a grumpy manager who simply stated ' so your the lateroom.com booking'... an instant dismissal. No welcome, no smile.

The attitude of the reception staff didn't get better over our 4 night stay. No good mornings, good evenings or smiles the whole stay.... Not even a good bye and thank you when we where leaving.

We cant comment on the food as we didn't use the restaurant. Simply because A. the rude reception staff made us feel so unwelcome and B. it was overpriced compared to all other options locally.... looking into the restaurant and it being empty should say it all really...

Shame... lovely hotel - but the if your made to feel so unwelcome it doesn't make it at all pleasant. Customer service is everything....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jollyramblingsaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baron's Court Hotel
Baron's Court Hotel
#8 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Annes Hotel
St Annes Hotel
#63 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
3 Norfolk Square
3 Norfolk Square
#14 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Guest House
Spindrift Guest House
#19 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gable End Hotel
Gable End Hotel
#40 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Lodge

Address: 19-20 Euston Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £59 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing