We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“crammed in a giant eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Troll Cart

The Troll Cart
Ranked #46 of 324 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Part of the Wetherspoon chain of pub eateries: pub plus food
Sunshine, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“crammed in a giant eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

we were led to a table by a young man who left us to our devices for at least half an hour, we had to really push to get our drink order. there isnt a lot a varied choice its all very basic all very same-y. my friend and myself had a chicken cesar salad each. i honestly could have made it myself, dry prepacked salad, and half drowned in dressing, it was soggy and all i could taste was vinegar. the tables are crammed in and i was an inch from bumping elbows with my neighbouring diners. i would recommend it to be honest.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    121
    54
    14
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Weatherspoons! No problem, its fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Nothing wrong with this place - a Standard weatherspoons. You know what to expect and it does exactly that. The food is Fine, Cheap Beer and some pretty funny people watching to take part in. Its fine!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonnieplummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite good standard for a Wetherspoons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I ate at the Troll cart last Tuesday (Steak Night) the 18/03/14 with my wife and two year old son whilst we were staying in Great Yarmouth. My wife ordered the sirloin and asked for it medium rare and it came out just right. I opted for the mixed grill with an added chicken breast for £1.50! The mixed grill was well cooked with the steak medium and the rest of the meats all quite juicy and not dry, with the exception of the sausage. We also ordered sides of hot and spicy prawns, and onion rings which were also good. My son had the chicken nuggets and chips. All in all we we're quite happy, and for just over £25 which we thought it was quite reasonable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jontee45, Manager at The Troll Cart, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi George,

Thankyou for you review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit here and we hope to see you again soon.

The Troll Cart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Honest review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Visited this pub on the 2nd date with my girlfriend, was very impressed with the huge selection on the menu and they had some amazing deals! Service was very quick and friendly! Food tasted amazing the only thing i can say is it would have been good to have a few more chips as we only got about 15 and have to visit the local chippie after as we were still a bit peckish! Overall this was a very pleasurable dining experience though and will definitely be coming back again! Keep up the good work Troll Cart!!

Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food, fair prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Food was up to Wetherspoons good standards. Service was fast. It was suprising how busy it was at 10 in the morning. Although they will never set the world alight with the dishes they serve at least the food is well prepared, hot and there is a good plate full. I have eaten in quite a few Wetherspoons and the standardisation may be a bit boring but at least you know what you are going to get.
The surrounding in the Troll Cart are are getting a bit shabby and they probably do need a refurbishment but it was still clean and tidy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Troll Cart also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to The Troll Cart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing