We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“drains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swanvale Lodge Hotel
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“drains”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

been to the swanvale lodge several times ,always found the hotel,very basic,(you get what you pay for, £130 for five days ) if you want better pay for better . my only gripe is the bad smell of drains in the reception area , we,my wife and i , first noticed it last june, 2012. we thought this year ,29th april -3rd may it would have been dealt with , BUT !! we could still smell it again, not quite as bad as last year ,but nevertheless it was still there .PLEASE gee vee get it sorted. i
do want to come again ,but my wife and my cousin and his wife who went with us are in two mind,s wether to go again .

Room Tip: we always have a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aljones466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    17
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
36
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

i expectedbetter as hotel is owned by gee vee travel this is the 2nd worst hotel i have stayed in drain smell inreception near kitchen ,ancient decor dodgy electrics in bedrooms cleansheets but reused duvet covers. pillows old and stained.threadbare carpets our bathroom nt cleaned properly,poo smears in loo,everything substandard even the food manageress has a like it or lump it attitude it needs a health and safety inspection

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Despite staying in 101.Found it ok not the best place to stay. first impressions matter missing letters and peeling paint do not help. Day trips outside Great Yarmouth offered by coach firm went with made up for the state of the hotel. Food ok Christmas Dinner not up to expectations turkey tasted bland. Had Whetherspoon one next to make up for it. Hotel rooms having repaint week starting 10th Dec 2012.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steven280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
x_smartie, Manager at Swanvale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Thank you for staying at the swanvale.
We are owened by GEE - VEE Travel.
101 is one of our smaller rooms but you can request which room you stay in when you book you trip at any of the GEE - VEE Travel offices.GEE - VEE Travel have had the front of the hotel repainted.We are very sorry that you didnt like the food , our CHEF has all the qualifications available and is fully trained and has over 10 years experience in the food industry. Our council has given her food and kitchen 4 STARS however the hotel is NOT star rated. Our rooms are nowbeing repainted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

I took a party of 11 friends to this hotel.Oh my what a shock. The paint is peeling off the front and some of the letters are missing from the name over the door. It reads SWAN--LE LO--- HOTEL.
Theres an incredible stench of drains from inside the reception which travels through to the lounge and bar. Most of the bedrooms we used were water stained from previous leaks, my room had no top on the hot water tap so when I tried to turn the tap off I burnt my hands on the screw. Barely any of the Tv's worked in the bedrooms. The whole place was a shambles and should be closed down. Worst of all there's no DISABLED TOILET.

Room Tip: In my experience there are no good rooms
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank marjorie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
x_smartie, Manager at Swanvale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Thank you and your friends for staying at the swanvale.
We are owened by GEE - VEE Travel.
We are happy to tell you that the front of the hotel has been re-painted and new letters have been put up. GEE - VEE Travel are also trying to sort the problem with the drains, they are also refurbishing the bedrooms one at a time. As a manager i am very sorry about the tap in your bedroom but i was not aware of this problem.GEE - VEE Travel do know about the tv's and they do not advertise that they have a disabled toilet on site.

Thanks
Swanvale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Nelson Hotel
The Nelson Hotel
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Beach Hotel
The New Beach Hotel
#10 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swanvale Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swanvale Lodge Hotel

Property: Swanvale Lodge Hotel
Address: Standard Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Swanvale Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swanvale Lodge Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing