We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swanvale Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Furzedown Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andover House Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$174
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Carlton Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Waverley Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The New Beach Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Pier Hotel(Gorleston-on-Sea)
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prom Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burlington Palm Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
53
23
11
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
23
11
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach holidaymobile numbermobility scooterrooms are cleanchest of drawerssea frontentertainment every nightbrilliant holidayturkey and tinseltown centreweekend stayfantastic hostskeep up the good workevery eveningtwin roomnice staycoach party
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have been numerous times to this hotel Paul and Maggie are fantastic hosts food is fabulous bedrooms and bedrs clean what else can I say except roll on June when I will back Edna and jimmy sheffield. Our last visit was 7 April thanks again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martelle E, Owner at Swanvale Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

Hello Edna and Jim
Thank you for staying at the swanvale.
Maggie and Paul would like to thank you too for the kind words.
Our food is rated 4 stars by the local council and im so happy you liked it.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Thank you
Swanvale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We went there soleley on the price of £130 for 5 days provided by Gee Vee travel.which is brilliant for travel, bed breakfast and evening meal. It also included one and a half excursions. The hotel itself is a bit dowdey and as other people have reported there is a constant smell of drains in reception which prohibits hanging about there. The rooms are a bit small with not enough drawer space and the small wardrobe is just about addequet. They are very clean with maid service every day. Meals were reasonable but having toast on the table before breakfast is stupid as who wants cold and dry toast.

Room Tip: If you have a room at the front of the hotel you will be constantly annoyed at the noise level produced by siphonic emptying of shower, wash basin and toilet. Not only in your room but from other rooms as well. It wakes you up in the night from people using the toilet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacko367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martelle E, Owner at Swanvale Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

hello,
Thank you staying at the swanvale hotel.
Yes the holiday was £130 however the coach takes money off that so it all doesn't come to the hotel and i hope you would come and stay again maybe do use the coach and make your own way to the hotel as you will notice huge difference in price.
We are doing the hotel bedrooms up one at a time however because of the money people pay to come here it will take awhile to do so.
There is no smell in the hotel but i believe there was when GEE VEE owned the business.
The size of the room we can not change that is the way the building was built and as for the size of the wardrobe and draws all wardrobes are double doors and draws have at lest 3 draws in each, this is more than enough for 4 night / 5vdays stay.
i am happy to hear your room was very clean as our in house cleaner is very particular in how she does her job.
i am pleased to say that our food has a 4 star rating from the local council and the toast was put on your table seconds before the door is opened foe breakfast so you don't have to wait.

Thank you for staying,
Swanvale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

just had a fantastic holiday, Maggie and Paul and their staff treated us like family. the toilets and rooms were cleaned daily and was spotless throughout the hotel. the food was excellent, I don't know how they do it for £99. My fourth stay and hoping for many more holidays with them. I would highly recommend it to anybody from Tessy and Herbert - Barnsley.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martelle E, Owner at Swanvale Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Hello
Thank you for staying at our little family run hotel by the seaside.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will book again.
Thank you for recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

For £99 for 5 days what a brilliant holiday. Bedrooms and bathroom cleaned daily. Great selection of food and Paul and maggie are very welcoming as are all the staff. Would deffinatly recommend and will go again 100%. Jim and Edna in Sheffield.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martelle E, Waiter at Swanvale Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Jim And Edna

Thank you for the positive review of the hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Swanvale Lodge Hotel Great Yarmouth and as always, from all the staff here, we wish you all the best until we see you again soon.


Devon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The owners of the hotel were great and made us feel welcome, would go again. The food was really good with a few minor niggles, such as the toast being left on the table for a bit so it was dry, but overall I enjoyed all my meals. I went with Gee Vee travel and enjoyed the whole holiday and the hotel was the icing on the cake. There was 2 nights of entertainment and bingo almost every night which made it really fun.

A few minor downsides, it's a old building and needs a little money spending on it, for example my toilet handle was broken, but as I say these are very minor downsides. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martelle E, Owner at Swanvale Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Hello,
Thank you for staying at our little family run seaside hotel.
It is brilliant to hear you liked your stay with us and you enjoyed our food, as for the toast I totally understand what you are saying but I am sorry to say that toast is difficult to keep hot unless it is eaten straight from the toaster which is never the case. We make sure all toast is hot when the staff put it on the tables however because there is 40 people trying to get in one room at the same time to get coffee, fruit juice, grapefruit and then sit at their tables it will go cold and there is nothing we can do about that. we have tried bring a table of toast out at a time when the table is all seated however this slows our sever down and causes people to be sat waiting for breakfast longer than necessary. I am so happy to hear you liked the entertainment and we was the iceing on the cake for you. I am very sorry about your toilet handle I was unaware it was broken and you are right the hotel does need some TLC which we are working on one room at time. Thank you very much for recommending us.
We do hope you book to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews