We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barking Smack

Barking Smack
Ranked #109 of 319 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Price range: US$4 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The New Barking Smack Is Open For The 2014 Season Serving Real Ales, Lagers, Wine & Spirits. As Well As English & Chinese Cuisine. Families Welcome!!! (Please note from mid 2013 Bullitt Is no longer trading from the barking smack)
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Been regularly going to The Barking Smack for a few weeks now. The owner Tony is very friendly and welcoming. Also found our new favourite ale in the form of Grain Redwood. Although the Bullitt Restaurant has now closed down, The Barking Smack offers a new and very nice Chinese menu along with bar snacks. We tried a meal on the 14th April 2014 and have to say it was one of the best we have had in a long time. The chef is highly recommended. Thanks Tony, Lee & Lucy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    45
    20
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stopped off for a drink but ended up looking through the menu for a bit to eat. The chinese menu is a must, it is good value for money and very tasty well worth stopping off for. Can recommend the cantonise chicken and rice. Can eat inside and out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmethead06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Steak, but i hear it's gone ???”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Went here in June last year and i have to say it was one of the nicest steaks I have ever had. The food was really good, really tasty and good value for money.
I am really dissapointed to hear that they have moved and hope to find oujt where they have moved to, as i diefinately would want to eat with them again! Such a shamwe they are no more :-(

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend visited here for a quick dinner, Really nice people, great atmosphere. Good Chinese good as well! I would highly recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Samchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food, great service...a hidden gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Amazing food, lovely concept of choosing your own cut of meat! The service was great too and we had the pleasure of meeting the manager and he brought out some spices to go with our meal that he thought we might like.

We were so glad we found this place, as first impressions of the shabby old man pub weren't great!! We couldn't recommend it enough though and we would happily make the four hour journey just to have the delicious steak again!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barking Smack also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Barking Smack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing