We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Carvery”

Gilfreds Restaurant
Ranked #131 of 329 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We visit here most Sundays and have always been well pleased with the quality of the carvery, far better than any of the national chains. The roast potatoes are fantastic! A small friendly restaurant and well worth a visit

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stuarttiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden GEM well recommended!!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This meal was first class totally felt like id had a home cooked roast .... The beef was perfect ..... Yorkies perfect , veg was perfect, gravy tasty! Well worth the money !! Friendly staff ! Very impressed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quinnyleelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent carvery”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Went in by chance and had a carvery in Gilfred's on Sunday 23rd March. Unlike a previous reviewer on the same day. My beef was spot on, and my partners pork was also. All veg was cooked perfectly, with a very good choice, and everything was piping hot. Most tables were taken up, so that speaks for itself. Yes we did have to wait a few minutes, but you expect this for fresh food. Staff were friendly. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“never ever again”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

today we went for the sunday roast carvery, what a mistake! There were many faults so heres a list. (we arrived about an hour after they had opened)
1. couldnt get a meal straightaway, had to sit and wait a good few minutes while the server prepared a meal for a relative?employee?who knows?
2. tables too high, unless your over 5ft 6, you will be eating with the food at chest height.
3. ordered half a shandy, got a pint which was cool but not cold, plus it had lost its fizz.
4. beef overcooked, dry and tough, green beans tasted strange but we noticed they were two different shades of green. Does this mean theyve used up the previous days remains?
5. the most vile gravy ive ever had. Did they use the cheapest instant gravy powder which can be used for ALL meats? or did they just put all the meat juices ( there was pork on the menu as well) together and add a teaspoon of sugar?
6. when asked if i was enjoying the meal, i said the carrot and cabbage were nice but they didnt enquire further, they just walked on past. It was obvious their care about whether i was enjoying the meal was just a courtesy pretence, similar to the Americans when they say 'have a nice day'
The gravy totally spoiled the meal, unless you like dry potatoes and veg with leathery dry meat.
7.Stupidly paid for the meal but there was no receipt. Makes one wonder if they are legitimate in their business records.

On the plus side, the carrots,cabbage and yorkshire were fine as long as you dont put gravy on. If youre elderly and cant taste anything, then this is the place for you as long as youve still got your own teeth!
Upon leaving the premises i turned away four people and i will make a special point of walking past Gilfreds and will continue to turn people away as we visit yarmouth quite often.

Its not just the lousy meal and drink, its the attitude of the staff. They knew by our still full plates at the end, that we hadnt enjoyed it. Either get a new chef or close down as your food is rubbish.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real Gem!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We just spent a week in Norfolk and visited Great Yarmouth for the day last Sunday. From the outside there is little to differentiate Gilfreds from the other eateries close to the seafront but what a good choice we made. The Sunday Carvery was superb! On offer was a choice of beef, pork or turkey and the accompanying vegetables were freshly cooked and well presented. The majority of the patrons were clearly local folk – a good sign in any holiday town. The staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and welcoming and the prices were very reasonable. We did try to go back for a meal later in the week but understandably it seems they restrict opening hours during the winter months.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveandSarah_MidsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilfreds Restaurant also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Gilfreds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing