We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seahorse Guest House
Ranked #33 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfort and convenience”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Treated myself to a weekend away to visit the Horatio Nelson Museum, and boy oh boy, did I pick the right B&B. Sandra and Philip are absolutely brilliant -- he even picked me up from Great Yarmouth train station, then gave me a quick car tour of the area, so I knew where I'd be going (including the Nelson monument, which I DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT). Have to note that the Seahorse is smack dab in the middle of everything; location-wise, you can't go wrong, no matter what your plans for your stay are.

Was in a room for one with an en-suite bathroom, and it was just right. Cozy and comfortable, but not at all a squeeze. In fact, it was the perfect place to crash out after a train journey and then a long day on my feet visiting museums. (If you didn't know: Great Yarmouth has six beautifully curated museums, and you should really make an effort to go.)

Cannot commend the full English breakfast each morning enough. This is the standard by which I judge most things, and it hasn't led me astray yet. There's also free wi-fi and a little, reasonably-priced bar in the lounge, which Phil tends each night.

The personalised and personable service made for a really enjoyable, high-value weekend away. So happy to have spent a weekend at the Seahorse. Will definitely return in future.

Room Tip: Cannot go wrong with the location of this B&B, whether you're off to the fun fair or the mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
9
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forres, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A group of us stayed in the Seahorse Guesthouse in Great Yarmouth whilst on a two week course and although I have stayed in several Guesthouses in Yarmouth this is the first time in this particular B&B. I can safely say that in the future I will be asking my company to put me up in Sandra and Phillips Guesthouse which is by far the best B&B that I have stayed in... ever! The friendly welcome extends throughout the two weeks and never fades. The food is excellent all the way from the breakfast up to the evening meal, although I'm sure that Sandra would be very accommodating to anyone with special dietary needs the mere thought of maintaining a diet was thrown away after the first days breakfast and evening meal. All in all a very pleasurable stay in a very friendly family run guesthouse in Yarmouth. I will definitely be back as will my colleagues.... Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DingerB541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay. As a party of 16 we had six of the 14 rooms. It has more family rooms than many other places which is why we chose it, plus the good TA reviews. Prior to our arrival communication with Sandra was excellent, both by email and telephone. Both her and Philip are also very friendly in person and very accommodating (Phil even offered to give some of our older party members a lift to a local restaurant and collect them afterwards to save them walking.) The bar is lovely and cosy with a tv and a toy box for children and a selection of magazines. Rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable with the only drawback being that they could use a little modernisation (ie some rooms didn't have showers, just a bath). My husband and I had a family room with a double bed and bunk beds, plus a cot and there was sufficient space for us all. There was also plenty of storage space for clothes and luggage. Toiletries are provided as are tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was delicious, with a choice of full English (or variations of it), fish, cereal and toast with a selection of delicious homemade preserves. Coffee was served in a cafetierre pot and was just what was needed to start the day! Location wise it's just down the street opposite the sealife centre so is nice and central. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHancock2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We just did a 2 day stay at the seahorse, the guesthose is run by Sandra and Phillip who are excellent hosts. The guesthouse, although a little old fashioned is clean, quiet and perfectly located near the front but away from noise. Food was very nice and nothing was too much trouble for Sandra and Phillip. I will definitely be staying here again and would recommend this place in a heart best.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celestial_scream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Sandra and Philip, the owners, go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay to the extent of asking us if there were any drinks we would like to see stocked in the bar. (Next day they were there!)

Our room was large, clean, light and airy and very comfortable.

Though we were not able to sample the food it smelt delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The seahorse guest house is situated within close proximity to shops, bars , restaurants , the beach and sports facilities. The hosts Sandra and Philip make every effort to make you feel welcome and enjoy your stay. The rooms were clean and tidy and towels and bedding were cleaned daily.The food which was served was delicious and there was plenty of it, definitely worth the money. Lovely hosts and hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris-ratcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed at the guest house run by Phil and Sandra Grey and was made very welcome. I stay away in a lot of places for work and liesure but in this guest house I was made to feel at home. Parking in the street outside is free and you are in easy walking distance of the beach and interesting amenities. I will return again shen I am next in the area.

Room Tip: Book directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Carlton Hotel
Bay Carlton Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Nelson Hotel
The Nelson Hotel
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#18 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandcastles Guest House
Sandcastles Guest House
#31 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Guest House

Property: Seahorse Guest House
Address: 17/18 Camperdown, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seahorse Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade 2 listed, 3 storey victorian building sympathetically converted for use as a Guest House. The property is situated a stones throw from the seafront and just a few minutes walk from the town centre and major attractions of Great Yarmouth. Now owned and run by the Grey family, the property boasts 5 large family rooms together with a range of additional double and twin rooms, all with ensuite facilities. Quality home cooked meals are available morning and evening in the bright and airy dining room, whilst the licenced lounge bar offers a convivial atmosphere for a relaxing evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seahorse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Guest House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing