We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavours - Flavours and more Flavours - Very Good”

V-Namese Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 329 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Flavours - Flavours and more Flavours - Very Good”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We read the reviews from other recent visitors and decided to visit ourselves.

Food is very fresh, hot, and full of flavour.

Our first visit we had as starters salt and chillie ribs and vietnamese chicken wings very tasty.
Mains - rice noodles and pork, lemongrass and chilli along with a beef ginger and onion. Full of flavours and presented very well.
Glass of red wine and a coke.

Visited again two days later starters, although this time two chilli beef soups - huge, hot and taste all the different aromas. Excellent.
Also had to finish fried ice cream - new to me very light and refreshing.

Service attentive, nice touches with fresh orange segments after the meal. Family owned and appeard to take pride in all areas, as well as knowledge of all ingreidents.

As we were on a short break, unfortunately will not be able to try more dishes.

Nice venue for birthdays or anniversary meal also.

Wish them well as a previous reviewer mentioned so nice to have a truly fresh meal, not greasy and full of flavour.

Deserve to do well. Go and visit and taste for yourself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mmm_72_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    28
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent - one of the best restaurants in the area”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

It's not been open long but it's already one of the best places Great Yarmouth has had in ages.

Great fresh food, well cooked, brilliantly seasoned and very reasonable prices.

The staff really make the place, they're chatty and very helpful. We asked about a dish we weren't familiar with and not only did they explain it, but at the end of our meal they brought it out and gave us a sample!

If you're in Yarmouth you must try it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BDS713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Fresh Food, Great Flavours & Lovely Service”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I don't often post on Trip Advisor, but this place, along with my previous review of The Patio, have moved me to do so because they are the the 2013 treats of Great Yarmouth and Norfolk. Both go to show that good fresh food can be served well and in excellent surroundings, and they are both exceptionally friendly during any time of the day (serving lunch through to dinner). This restaurant is a breath of fresh air, incredible flavours, staff that take a real interest in you and the sort of food you like, and without wanting to sound like my mum too much, the best toilets of any restaurant in Great Yarmouth! When visiting, it is worth asking what fresh fish they have in addition to the menu. The sea bream I had there recently was incredible. Most definitely worth a go and worth making numerous return visits. Oh, and the prices are very reasonable so make the most of that before it becomes too popular.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

11 of us 4 adults and 7 kids came down from london to great yarmouth to stay in the heaven holiday park. We wanted a change of seniory and food life style and came across this vietnamese restaurant from the outside apperance look nice and on the inside was even better. The food was great and the service was brilliant too. The kids get a box with a drink note pad and pencils inside and there food gets served at a perfect size and is such great value. We come her every year and it will definetly be a place we visit again. We will definetly go b4 we go home 2.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jordanbowen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Fantanstic Vietnamese Food and Great Value”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Only spotted this place as i drove through to the seafront, its on St Peters road where the Barking Smack pub is, been opened only a couple of months they told me so they are still finding their feet, the Menu is simple enough and with help from the Waitress we settled for Fried Chicken Wings and Summer Rolls for starters (see Pics) which where both fantastic and such a fresh taste, followed by spare ribs in a sweet tasting gravy, Beef fried with chilly and lemon grass and the Traditional Pho noodles with beef served in a large bowl, everything was outstanding with all finest of ingredients and the total cost with 2 soft drinks was £24(2 people), so great value too, we will be returning when back in town, highly recommended if you like This style of food, and although chop sticks are on the table just ask for cutlery if you need, and some items you eat with hands....so perfect for a summer evening not too heavy with fresh flavours.

looks like they do a lunch special also, so ideal to dip your toe in first, and is a welcome change to hotdogs and chips coming at you from all angles.

Try it and see for yourself.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Beyondbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed V-Namese Restaurant also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to V-Namese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing