We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Furzedown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Furzedown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just stayed for 4 nights for a reunion in Great Yarmouth. What a lovely family run hotel, clean comfortable bedrooms. A great choice for breakfast - cooked to order. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Thanks to Lisa, Paul and all their staff for a great weekend. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 660sarap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a lovely friendly family-run B&B on Gt. Yarmouth seafront. Good value for money, friendly staff, big quiet rooms, lovely views, comfy beds, excellent service and good English breakfast. We booked this hotel for a wake and about 25 guests stayed at the hotel afterwards. The staff were amazing and did all they could to accommodate everyone. We also had a buffet and the food was lovely. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

After looking at TripAdvisor for a recomendation for a stay in Gt Yarmouth and picking this hotel i have to say all the positive reviews are totally accurate. From the warm welcome we got right through to checking out the stay was excellent. They are also pet friendly which is a must for us as we have a dog. Nothing was too much trouble for them to do for us. We had lunch, dinner, and evening drinks in the bar followed by breakfast in the morning (breakfast was included in the room rate) The food was excellent and very good value for money. The bar is well stocked and the Rioja with dinner was one of the best ive tasted. The place is very well maintained and also has a warm family friendly air to it, so we found it very easy to relax and enjoy our stay. Our room was of a high standard also and very comfortable. Its also very central to everything as its on the sea front and just a short walk to the pleasure beach. Lovely views of the sea from the bar also. So if your staying in Yarmouth you wont be disappointed with this hotel. I think its the first time we have booked for another stay in the same hotel on checkout.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NateB321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Recently held my wife's 70th birthday party celebrations here. A fantastic evening for 80 family and friends. Paul and Lisa the proprietors were more than helpful in suggesting/accommodating our requirements and assuring arrangements in the period leading up to the party. Although they weren't there on the night they left us in the capable hands of manager Stephen and David running the bar. Stephen couldn't do enough for us to ensure the evening was a great success and the service at the bar was brilliant. Great food and music much appreciated by all the guests. Particular mention must go to the staff who impressed so many of the guests with their welcome at the door and their attentive and efficient service at the tables. Many who stayed over on the night really enjoyed the accommodation and breakfast too.
In summary a thoroughly enjoyable experience for us all - many thanks Paul, Lisa, Stephen,
David and all your staff. Very happy to recommend this as a venue for any celebratoion.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Have to say this hotel is lovely. Went away with a couple if girlfriends and this hotel was ideal.
10 minute walk to the town, pubs, clubs, shops.
The owners are fantastic and can't do enough to help you.
Breakfast was lovely too and even got us black pudding :-)
Rooms are good with nice comfortable beds and hot hot water :-)
We will defo be going back again, and after this visit,we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.
Well done guys :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manic007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Revisited the hotel for yet another fantastic trip with my Grandson over the Easter weekend.

All the staff continue to be very hospitable and nothing is too much for them. The rooms and facilities are great and the location of the hotel is great for a walk to all that Yarmouth has to offer.

Thanks again, Paul & Harry

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great location very pretty front garden, excellent hosts, family friendly, well maintained and comfortable bedrooms and public lounges, good breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again on our next visit to Great Yarmouth.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
470 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,089 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furzedown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furzedown Hotel

Address: 19/20 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £64 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Furzedown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Furzedown Hotel as been owned by the Garrod family for over 50 years. We have 20 newly refurbished bedrooms. All bedrooms have en-suite with bath & shower. All bedrooms have freeview flatscrren tv's, tea making facilites, direct dial telephone and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Furzedown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furzedown Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing