We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Furzedown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Furzedown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a 3 night stay with a wedding in the middle.The organisation of the wedding meal was fantastic and the food thoughout the weekend was very good. Portions were a good size and the choice was excellent, didn't need to eat out. Room was clean. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We have 2 greyhounds and we were all welcomed. The hotel is in a good position being opposite the water gardens and the beach and just a short stroll out of the centre of town. Parking is a little tight if you have a large vehicle but once we were parked we didn't need to use the car again for the whole weekend.Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and when we go back to Great Yarmouth we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    85
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
95
128
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel.
a nice large spacious sea facing room(room 24),very clean,great shower in the bathroom.
The evening meals were great a nice choice and the portions more than enough.
Great well stocked bar with a very friendly laid back service.
nicely situated away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy area,great view over the waterways and then out to sea.
Paul was great a very nice man who has time for his guests,and he has a great team.
Loved the idea of being able to check in from 10.30am.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrislawrence1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We attended a family wedding at the Furzedown last weekend and the organisation was brilliant from start to finish. All of the staff were friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived, their manner being friendly and casual rather than starchy.The barman even managed to avert a camera disaster by sourcing us some batteries to replace our flat ones at the very last minute!
The food was probably one of the tastiest meals I have had at a wedding reception, the service superb and brilliant views across to the sea.
The rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable and I would have loved to spend longer in the lovely bed but breakfast beckoned, this was great and just what was required after the previous evening!
All in all I couldn't fault it, a brilliant day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family and I stayed for a long weekend at the Furzedown at the end of May 2014. The hotel is situated on the sea front within easy walking distance to the town and the pier. The food was first class, they even cooked the kids meals to their (kids) specific order....never experienced that before, it made the stay very special. The hotel staff were very polite and pleasant and were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the local area where to visit. We had 3 kids with us and were going to visit the zoo, but the staff advised to try Thrigby, which turned out to be a much more suitable attraction for us all. Will definitely go back later this year or early next year. Wel done Furzedown, you certainly know how to help people enjoy their stay in Great Yarmouth and your hotel.

Room Tip: Family rooms have a tv/dvd combo...excellent in helping keep the kids entertained in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We got married in Gt Yarmouth town hall on Friday 13th June and we chose the Furzedown not only for the reception but also to have our guests stay and in all we had approx 30 people stay over the course of 3 nights. From the moment we walked into the hotel back in January we knew it was the right place the friendly welcome , the decor, high ceilings, great views everything looked right. We sat down with Lisa & Paul on several occasions & they could not do enough to help us they also came up with some very good suggestions which were really useful. On the day it all went like clockwork the room & tables were decorated beautifully the food was fantastic in presentation & quality and the waiting staff were all brilliant. Paul helped things tick along by standing in as master of ceremonies and a great time was had by all. In the evening the drinks were kept flowing by Steve in the bar (we kept him busy) he coped manfully and had a joke & a laugh with everyone - top chap ! Our room was lovely , very clean , very comfortable & spacious with a great view over the sea. Breakfast was a bit of a struggle for some the next morning but everyone was glad they made the effort as it was superb.
There really isn't anything negative to say about this hotel as far as we are concerned it was a totally 5 star experience & never mind the previous review I think that this hotel could give lessons in customer service to some of the supposedly 5 star establishments I have stayed at, even the couple of young girls waiting tables were an absolute delight so friendly & helpful they've all got it down to a fine art !
I know some of our guests are already planning another stay & there is no doubt we will , you really have to stay at this hotel if you go to Yarmouth you cannot fail to be impressed !

Room Tip: Sea view is great as you overlook the Venitian Gardens as well as the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I loved to stay here, the beautiful view from the restaurant and the amazing food as well.

The rooms are a little small, but cosy and nice all the same.

The staff are lovely enough and really make you feel welcome.

Couple of things that let it down.

1.) the female manageress (I don't know her name) is rather direct with the way she speaks which can come across as rude. She obviously didn't mean to come across that way however I think a customer service refresher wouldn't go amiss!


2.) car park is difficult to get into which left me worried about being a useless driver on the way out.

That's it :)

Overall lovely stay, but a couple of niggling things which could be worked on.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

As Paul was standing over me holding a water-pistol to my head because I forgot to review our last visit in February, I will do it now before I forget again.

My husband and I have stayed there more times than I remember - every time we go to Yarmouth.

We were there on family business, to move my aunt from Norfolk to a care home near us in Somerset. Hard work driving there, packing, loading car etc..
Good to go back at night to the familiarity of the Furzedown each night. Greeted as old friends on arrival, clean comfortable room, good meals, very helpful finding space to store the wheelchair we had brought with us for my aunt on the return journey (she and I travelled by train) nothing too much trouble.
Dining room staff always so good - polite, friendly, efficient young women, usually students, always look immaculate.
Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Yarmouth.

Ok, Paul, you can put the water pistol away now.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldfinchsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.9 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furzedown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furzedown Hotel

Property: Furzedown Hotel
Address: 19-20 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Furzedown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Furzedown Hotel as been owned by the Garrod family for over 50 years. We have 20 newly refurbished bedrooms. All bedrooms have en-suite with bath & shower. All bedrooms have freeview flatscrren tv's, tea making facilites, direct dial telephone and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Furzedown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furzedown Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing