We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Saviours!! Thankyou!!”
Review of Furzedown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Furzedown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Myself, my best friend and my 2 young children had booked to stay at Knights Court Hotel, just a few doors down from Furzedown, on bank holiday weekend. When we arrived however, we were told they did not have our booking. The lady there wouldnt even offer to help find us somewhere to stay and just brushed us off with "everywhere will be booked".
I went into Furzedown and explained our situation to the gentleman working (im so sorry i didnt get your name!) and he offered us a twin room for the night as that was all he had available to suit us. The beds werepractically doubles so were perfect for us all to fit in!

While we took the bags up to the room, the man searched local hotels for availability the following night and found us a number of another nearby hotel.

The room itself was lovely, 2 large beds, a nice sized bathroom, TV and drink facilities, everything you need really. There is a book that explains absolutely everything you need to know about the hotel, the food menus, the local area, a really nice touch that not many hotels offer!
It is only a short walk from the town and attractions. Breakfast was lovely.

I really cannot complain about a single thing from this hotel. You saved our weekend so much and we are so grateful!

Would recommend you to anyone and will definitely be booking with you in future.

Again, thank you!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank LauraMillerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for Furzedown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights and enjoyed it very much. Staff are all lovely and rooms very clean. Carpark was a bit tight to get into and stairs to family room were a bit much after a long day at the beach but they are my only criticisms. Breakfast was nice and children made to feel very welcome. I personally liked the decor(loved the wallpaper). Will definitely stay here again in the future

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank gemma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

So glad we chose this hotel for short break with grandson. Great location overlooking waterways and beach, in quiet end of town but within easy walking distance of main attractions and also on little road-train and bus route. Owners were "hands-on" and all the staff were efficient, friendly and helpful and made us very welcome. Breakfasts were good and evening meals delicious ('tho the size of the portions almost defeated us!). Family room was large, clean and comfortable with dual aspect windows - although bit of a haul to second floor via the stairs for us oldies - but worth the effort for the sea view! Secure parking a bonus. Would definitely stay again, a big thank you to all.

Room Tip: Lovely sea views at front, but no lift if any mobility problems.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceegul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I revisited this great family run hotel again with my Grandson. Yet again we were made incredibly welcome by all the staff.

Rooms, breakfast, bar service & amenities are all great and offer everything you need for a short break.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed at the Furzedown for two nights this week with our 5 year old daughter. The room was lovely and our daughter was very excited about having bunk beds. The food in the evening was delicious and the breakfast was lovely, they even made our daughter a 'chocolate toast bear' as she had seen a picture of one in a magazine.
The staff were really friendly, welcoming and patient and couldn't do enough for you.
The location in great and is only 15 minutes walk from the pleasure beach but is out of the way so as to be quiet at night.
Would highly recommend to anyone who is consisting a stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Only one night, but very enjoyable, didn't eat other than breakfast which was very good, the girls serving were delightful, friendly and helpful. Comfortable room with excellent sea view, but tiny bathroom which wouldn't hurt the room if it was bigger. Easy to walk into Yarmouth or on the beach/promenade.

Room Tip: Room 12 has lovely sea views and comfortable chairs to sit and watch the world go by.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank foodyjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

An excellent hotel where the management are always front-of-house to ensure a very warm and welcoming environment. The Team are always on-hand to ensure that everything is perfect and are always striving to go the extra mile! The meals are excellent with a wide variety,with the only complaint being that the portion sizes are massive! The rooms are modern and tastefully decorated and clean. As a Bar Manager, I always welcome good tasting draught bitter and lager which is what can be found in the bar in the hotel. We have stayed at the hotel now on many occassions and every experience has been a pleasing and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
460 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,075 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furzedown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furzedown Hotel

Address: 19/20 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £80 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Furzedown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Furzedown Hotel as been owned by the Garrod family for over 50 years. We have 20 newly refurbished bedrooms. All bedrooms have en-suite with bath & shower. All bedrooms have freeview flatscrren tv's, tea making facilites, direct dial telephone and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Furzedown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furzedown Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing