We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Weekend Retreat”

Great Yarmouth Marine Parade
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Retreat”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

There was something for everyone at every age group. We were blessed with the sunny weather and everyone seemed to be out and enjoying their chosen activities. We will definately go again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jadejenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    100
    51
    25
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Getting worse every year!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great Yarmouth is somewhere we have visited for several years, its not too bad during the daytime, as somewhere to take youngsters it has the beach, arcades, rides etc etc. Everything a plenty.

Even during the daytime now Great Yarmouth is host to unsavoury drunks/addicts who are off their heads and consuming alcohol as soon as the shops are permitted to sell it, they are a nuisance to day trippers. The early evenings are getting worse every local pub we went into we witnessed at tea-time people very drunk, performing lewd acts, prostitution is evident in the town pubs, so much so after being approached ourselves out as a middle-aged couple we have decided not to frequent Yarmouth anymore, dive is an understatement, if you cant go out for a couple of drinks without having to witness all of this not to mention being approached, then thanks, but no thanks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank patunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Ok, for a short break”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just had a week here with the kids and the misses, plenty to see for a day in Yarmouth itself, with the usual slot machines, and a smallish town centre. The beach is clean and tidy and really nice if the tide is in, and the weathers good. I would not spend too much time in Yarmouth, and would recommend sight seeing the local area, there is the broads, plenty of old house to see, Lowestoft and surrounding area etc, during our stay we took in a boat trip, the greyhound racing and a day at the horses, so never short of something to do so go enjoy, a holiday is only what you make of it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tangsoored_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The good and bad of Yarmouth...”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have visited Yarmouth several times over the past few years and it has always provided us with a good holiday. This year we decided to review the area because we can see some emerging issues which may threaten the towns future.
First off, the good points: Marine Parade is a busy and vibrant mile with plenty to do and has lots of places to eat. The landaus and road trains add to the character of the mile and are a fun way to travel up and down the Parade. The beach is clean and expansive and the two piers also add to the area. The pleasure beach at the south end is again busy and thriving.
Regent St has a plethora of all kinds of shops and is always a pleasure to walk down. At peak times it can get a bit busy, but it buzzes with energy. the market is on Wednesdays and is also worth a look.
Bad points: You dont have to stray too far from the nice areas to come across some really run down places. Some of the back streets are poorly maintained which spoils the town. We dont want to name any streets specifically, but it highlights that these places are crying out for support, investment and improvement. Seaside town are not just about the fun bits. they are places where people live and need council backing . The mile itself has its bad areas though, the winter gardens and the old Empire are looking in dire need of a revamp and re-invention.
Money has been spent recently especially on the new car parks which have been needed for years but more needs to be done. Council budgets are tight but the town needs help. personally we would hate to see the town get any worse as we love it for our holidays and despite all its faults the crowds continue to come.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MJI_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Never returning! The place is run down and needs a lot of money ploughing back into it! A lot of derelict buildings and alot of unsavoury people which we had watched a few being arrested (not a very nice holiday memory for our kids!)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank siobhan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Yarmouth Marine Parade also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Great Yarmouth Marine Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing