We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no chance of going again”
Review of The Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hamilton
Ranked #54 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“no chance of going again”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

the bedroom was small, the ensuite tiny, we are slim, anybody a wee bit bigger would not have fitted in. there is no shelving for toiletries - a towel rack above the toilet, hand and shower gel half full so obviously used by other guests. dark red towels which were hard. I bought some to use. no chair in the bedroom ( no room for one) one bedside cabinet (no room for two). old tv. just channels 1.2.3.4. only room service for one night out of three. good choice of breakfast.very nice dining room. friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flicky12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    64
    42
    27
    18
See reviews for
36
125
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I stayed at The Hamilton for business for two nights. I found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself is a tired and in need of some tidying up around the grounds, (mattress in car park) . My room was room two. It is a single bedded room with en suite facilities. its 7 foot by 11 which i believe to be tiny! The mattress is so shattered that it has no life in it what so ever, and the bed itself is in need of a few screws tightening.

I wish people reading this to take on board that i do realise that it is difficult times for small business's but there are certain standards that must be made. Even more so when they are displaying a four star AA review certificate in the entrance way.

In summary this is a very basic hotel which does the job. Just don't expect any frills.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traynord16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed here with friends in February. The room was spartan, the en-suite just a partition with a sliding door. There is no heating in the en-suite and I would not recommend visiting in winter. The bedroom itself was cold and the radiator was turned down whenever we left. The bedding was thin and an extra blanket was put on top of the quilt and I slept with my clothes on. I have stayed in lots of B&Bs who deserve the 4 star status, however, this property does not merit a 4 star. The website does not match any rooms that we saw. The large bar was cold and clinical and not welcoming and unnecessary. I think the property is too large for a B&B "guesthouse". Breakfast was eaten wearing a coat. English Breakfast was only so so. There is plenty of room for improvement. If bedrooms are too small for en-suite, don't make them en-suite, better to have excellent furnishings and a bathroom down the hall, rather than try cramming something horrendous into the bedroom. I hated having to pay so much money for such a let down.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debs600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I booked this hotel over the internet,which shows images of it being rather modern and spacious,but in fact it was very small,dated and tired,in much need of a face lift.You certainly do not get vaule for money with this place.You can stay in far better places for the same sort of money.On a positive note the staff seemed friendly.Apart from that I was extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stigofthedump25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2011

My stay at the Hamilton was a pleasure...........
The location was ideal for both the beach & the Town centre. This family run hotel takes the time to greet its customers with a smile & very polite. The room was of a generous size & the breakfast was tasty & great value.

I have stayed at many Bed & breakfasts & this is one of the best.
Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerrickStevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hamilton early in March, we were very pleased with the beautifully designed web site and we trusted that the hotel would live up to this. Unfortunatly it did not.
I have read the previous e mail and I am pleased that the couple had a very enjoyable stay. Unfortunatly my experience was the exact opposite. Most probably the owners were having an off day, but they do need to realise, that we have paid for this experience, one I will not have again. I could write all day, but I do not feel I would get any where. To fellow travellers out there, I felt let down by the over all accomodation and mannerism of the staff and owners, but again a fellow travellers previous review is glowing.
Please do not always put your faith in the accomodations websites, as you will only feel let down.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lockieheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonGY, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
The review really does not say anything except that perhaps our visitors should have booked a 4 star hotel and not 4 star guest accommodation. As always as we would say to all our guests, if there are any queries, please speak to us - we cannot help once you have departed!!

David & Loraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend at the beggining of February. I am not one to normally write reviews but must say that the level of service and the approach of the two owners was brilliant. I was made to feel welcome, The hotel has a lovely homely feel to it and I must say has the most comfortable sitting room I ever been in. It helped that the owners run the hotel personally so you got that extra little bit of service that you wouldnt get on a run of the mill place. This hotel is great value for money......They are always willing to go the extra mile. I have stayed in yarmouth on various ocasions and I am so happy that I ended up here I will be coming back for years to come.
One quick tip is book a sea view room for that little bit extra it makes the difference to waking up looking out to the sea.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlton_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kensington
The Kensington
#40 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hamilton

Property: The Hamilton
Address: 23-24 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hamilton 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamilton is open all year round and is ideally positioned on North Drive overlooking the Venetian Waterways and the beach.The Hamilton is a family run business offering a warm welcome, friendly atmosphere high quality accommodation and excellent food.At The Hamilton we offer something for everyone from holiday makers seeking that special time away to corporate clients seeking a warm friendly environment in which to relax and unwind after a long days work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hamilton Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing