We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Winter Break”
Review of The Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hamilton
Ranked #53 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
County Durham England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Relaxing Winter Break”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Booked 2 night stay with Wowcher and were pleasantly surprised at the value for money. We had a sea view on the first floor and room was very comfortable with Freeview tv and tea/coffee facilities etc.We were made very welcome. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection of cereals / juices and good old English breakfast followed by plenty of toast etc. We weren't aware that they did evening meals as well which were very reasonably priced and would have saved us looking for somewhere on our first night. Parking is available at the front and rear of the building and it was only a few minutes walk to the sea front facilities and the town . I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    68
    44
    30
    18
See reviews for
40
132
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

only had 1 night stay with my partner and 3 year old but enjoyed it as was just what we needed, right on the front nice bar good value what more could you ask. we will return hopefully for a longer stay soon

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Hamilton for two nights with a wow her voucher for £59 including breakfast! Wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised, greeted as we arrived by the owner who was very helpful and shown to our room, which by the way was a wonderful seaview room! Breakfast was excellent, juice, cereals fruit and full English with toast tea and coffee, very impressed with the whole weekend..... Oh and by the way also free wifi ...... Thank you so much to the owners we had a wonderful sunny relaxing weekend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Samnjack0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a two night stay at the Hamilton with my partner and parents. Mary was standing in for the owners and was doing a wonderful job! A lovely warm welcome and she did everything she could to make our stay enjoyable. Her breakfasts were lovely but unfortunately we didn't get to try her dinners! It was my dads first time away since he had a stroke in October, they stayed in room no.1 and enjoyed it very much! We had room 20 and the only little niggle was the sliding door to the ensuite which didn't close properly but this was a very small negative and didn't worry us very much. We will definitely be going back again and hopefully Mary will be there to look after us.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located on the seafront with free parking at the back of the hotel. The bed was a little uncomfortable as my feet were higher than my head! The room was mostly clean. The hotel was ok given the price I paid. I've stayed in
Better hotels and I've also stayed in much worst!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Will_lou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel now 3 times. I have been impressed on each occassion. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and really make you feel at home. The rooms are tastefully decorated and are obviously cleaned to a high standard. The lounge/ bar area is very inviting and drink prices are very reasonable. I was impressed at breakfast and found it very delicious, obviously all freshly cooked....I will definitely be returning to this hotel the next time I visit Great Yarmouth....A very special thank you to the owners Lorraine and Dave for making us feel so welcome. See you all soon....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

After a very cold and wet day we booked into a superior room but the heating hadn't been put on prior to our arrival so it was cold for first little while. Do not think it was a superior room or four star hotel because of other things we felt needed attention; we had to run the water in sink for at least five minutes to get hot water, so if you went to toilet had to wash hands in cold water. The bedside lights looked nice but were about a metre above the headboard. There was only a summer quilt on bed and no blankets available, and the mattress you could feel the springs. The only good side was the breakfast and lady serving there.
Sorry but we wouldn't recommend this hotel to friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Check everything in room before you pay and unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAndLoraine, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review. Agreed, the weather has taken a turn for the worse and we do have extra room heaters available. In older buildings, yes the plumbing can be a bit quirky! Additional bedding is always available - you only have to ask! All beds and mattresses are replaced on a regular basis and we will replace again if required. And, last but not least, we are a four star guest accommodation, not a four star hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gable End Hotel
Gable End Hotel
#42 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
3 Norfolk Square
3 Norfolk Square
#12 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Swiss Cottage
The Swiss Cottage
#25 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hamilton

Property: The Hamilton
Address: 23-24 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hamilton 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamilton is open all year round and is ideally positioned on North Drive overlooking the Venetian Waterways and the beach.The Hamilton is a family run business offering a warm welcome, friendly atmosphere high quality accommodation and excellent food.At The Hamilton we offer something for everyone from holiday makers seeking that special time away to corporate clients seeking a warm friendly environment in which to relax and unwind after a long days work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hamilton Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing