We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel lovely people”
Review of The Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hamilton
Ranked #55 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2010

we stayed for 2 nights with a 5 year old and a 9 month old they were brilliant with the children couldnt have made us feel more welcome. rooms were lovely beds were very comfortable. the food was great. would recommend this hotel. thanks again for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westbous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

we booked this hotel last min and paid £120.00 for 2 night (resonable). Rooms were tatty, stains on walls, toilet roll holder hanging off wall, could not turn heated towel rail off, both burnt ourself. Rooms very noisy, did not sleep as could hear the people next door talking or going to the toilet. Floor borads creaked. Hotel needs re-vamping or being a 2* hotel. Breakfast was nice but hey so is the local cafe and that cost £2.50. Will never stay again or recommend, Hotel staff not welcoming at all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsbales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

good hotel and location,good food,nothing to much trouble.rooms suitable for what you need for your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screenstar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Good warm welcome, friendly people and a comfy stay. I have been there a few time and will do on the business trips to come. Recommend it to anyone looking for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

My family stayed in this hotel for 3 days, we found the accomadation to be clean, the food to be very good, although not excellent, and the staff to be more than friendly, will certainally visit again next time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Director4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Thought this hotel was very clean, had comfortable rooms and lovely full english breakfast! Thought the hotel was kept to a high standard and staff were lovely and helpful. With regards to some of the other comments on here regarding the decorating, I believe that some of your comments are unfair. This is a big hotel and obviously all the rooms can not been decorated at once. This would be our 3rd visit to the hotel and we have always found all of the rooms comfortable, clean and more than adiquate. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

I stayed at the Hamilton on business in May. The hotel is clean, the decor tidy, the staff and owners friendly and in general this is great value for money. The room was comfortable, tea and coffee facilities in the room and full english breakfast included.

The Hotel is on the front right by the sea and its a place which is typical of a coastal hotel and a relatively old building which has been done up to higher standards. I am SO glad I was invited to stay by a colleague and didnt get the chance to read some of the terribly overharsh reports on this site before. I would have missed a real gem.

I shall be back at the Hamilton in June and July again on business and wouldnt hesitate to recommend this as somewhere that is clean,tidy and in a great location. Thanks for a great stay and many more to come

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islingtonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Annes Hotel
St Annes Hotel
#59 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elmfield
The Elmfield
#22 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#90 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gable End Hotel
Gable End Hotel
#39 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
242 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Trevross
The Trevross
#61 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hamilton

Address: 23-24 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £47 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hamilton 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamilton is open all year round and is ideally positioned on North Drive overlooking the Venetian Waterways and the beach.The Hamilton is a family run business offering a warm welcome, friendly atmosphere high quality accommodation and excellent food.At The Hamilton we offer something for everyone from holiday makers seeking that special time away to corporate clients seeking a warm friendly environment in which to relax and unwind after a long days work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hamilton Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing