We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kensington
Ranked #36 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Tolleshunt D'Arcy, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have read through the reviews already given by some customers, which has given me a very amusing time of reading. I didnt find the door step dirty (are we back in the 40's where steps were scrubbed for hours??), I also did not mind the hotel being 'locked' at the entrance, I lock my own house before leaving and unlock on my return (normal practice) so I don't see the problem.
I am an animal lover so would always refrain from swinging mice, cats or any other small furries around the room to calculate its size, if it bothered me that much I would have brought a tape measure. Mine was a perfectly adequate size for my stay with a lovely clean, useable bathroom which had all the necessary amenities, I'm afraid mine didnt have moisturiser either but I didnt expect it to so had brought my own.
Our food was second to none, massive portions which was super quality and extremely well cooked. Service was quick and nothing was too much trouble. All amenities were within a few minutes walk and ideally for me directly across the road was a beach and obviously the sea! But then I wanted a hotel that wasnt surrounded by the jangling and rowdy music of slot machines. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and certainly will do. If I make another visit to Yarmouth they will be the first I will ask.
Although the idea of staying in Fawlty Towers sounds appealing as an evenings amusement, I think I would much rather stay in the Kensington as neither Basil nor Sybil appeared at any moment in time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a response I cannot tell you how appreciated it is. In any business sometimes things go wrong but we do everything we can to ensure that guest experience is a top priority. We constantly reinvest and are delighted by reviews such as yours when the effort is noted. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the location, food and all aspects of your stay. We are eagerly awaiting your return. Thank you once again for the kind remarks and addressing points in previous reviews. It has been a pleasure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    90
    74
    41
    14
See reviews for
79
160
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Romford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My friend and I stayed for 4 nights and we had a very pleasant break. Alway enjoying visiting Gt Yarmouth and the east coast

The Positives:

Well priced rooms, nice bed, good breakfast, great location, very friendly & helpful staff and free off street parking

The Negatives:

It was a mission to get to the room on the top floor, I think on one occasion I passed Steve McQueen trying to escape, and found myself unknowingly whistling the theme tune of Tenko. A first floor is a must for those with mobility issue, child or poor orienteering skills.

The bar was seldom staffed and like drinking on the moon.....no atmosphere. Which was a shame as it is a sweet little bar.


Perhaps I'm being a wee bit harsh, as the 4 nights were very cheap indeed and we had no issue with the room itself. However the hotel purports to be a 4 Star which it clearly isn't at present.

Room Tip: Get a ground or 1st floor room, the higher rooms require orienteering skills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a response. I am so pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. We do have a wide range of rooms in various locations as the premises is of a traditional construction. Anyone specifying their requirements on booking will be matched to a room that suits their needs. Can I just state that we do not advertise as a 4 star hotel. 4 are 4 star guest accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Booked this hotel for my boyfriend and I for 1 night. Upon arriving at this hotel we were greeted by a gentleman who told us our room wouldn't be ready for another half hour or so, so we waited in the lounge. After checking in and walking up two flights of stairs we were at our room. First impressions were it was clean and relatively spacious for 2 people for one night, until I noticed hairs on the bed. View from window overlooked another hotel and to the right was the beach which was nice. Upon entering the bathroom I couldn't help but notice numerous hairs (pubes) scattered around the bath which was disappointing. I didn't expect to have to clean the bath before using it.
Food and service was nice. For dinner we had the lamb shank with mash (cant remember the fancy name of it) was delicious!
After working as a house keeper in 2 different 3* hotels, never ever would we be allowed to have pubes laying around. Also lovely clean towels, but could do with a fancier way of folding them up, but maybe I'm just being picky and used to them not just bunged on the rails.
Last but not least, head board was very noisy, it was like a barn door with un-oiled hinges during the gail force winds of winter, which was a shame as this was why paid for a break away from our own noisy ones.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a response. I am so sorry that you experienced difficulties whilst staying with us. All issues when reported are dealt with immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We booked into a family room to take my 2 nieces to the seaside while we were baby-sitting. On check-in, the staff were great and friendly and helpful, we then hit the high points of Gt. Yarmouth for the day, headed back exhausted and all fell asleep in the small, but clean and tidy room. Then...
* At some point in the night the TV randomly turned itself on at massive volume (no I didn't roll onto the remote - that was sitting on some drawers away from everyone). This nearly gave me a heart attack!
*During the night , we heard what felt like every noise that the hotel guests made, so if you're a light sleeper, not sure I'd recommend this place.
*At breakfast was where Basil was really channeled. The chap organising the tables was moving some chairs around and just walked into the 'Wait here to be seated' sign, crashing it over and destroying it.
*When we finally got sat and sorted, the breakfast order ended up coming out of the kitchen three times until all four plates were correct (and small children don't want beans anywhere near their plate if they don't like beans...)
*The breakfast itself was disappointing, parts of mine were cold and the only difference between adult and child portion was the plate size (as far as I can tell)
*Now don't ask my why this bugs me, but we were the last to finish breakfast and as w finished off, the staff were cleaning and setting the tables for the next meal (not unreasonable, but a bit noisy). We then check out about 20-30 mins later and we could see that the restaurant was set for the next meal, aside from where e'd been sitting, which just seemed abandoned.

I'm maybe being overly critical, we only paid around £80, which given the standard of the room (if not it's size), seemed like a good deal, given the other prices we saw. Everything worked, there was free wifi, the bar looked nice and we did want to try the restaurant (but just didn't get round to it) the staff were friendly and I still think its a 4/5 rating, but if you weren't in the right mood, it could rub you up the wrong way.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naranje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I take your point about the issues with the breakfast and will of course fully investigate. As to the TV remote control I truly don't know what happened and as the building is of a traditional construction sometimes there is noise but a phone call to the number in the welcome pack alerts the person on duty through the night to deal with it. As to the crashing into the sign I believe this to have been an accident which anyone could have made. Often tables are reset as we often need to use them twice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Good place to stay Sea Front great food and bar and most of all pleasant staff nothing was any trouble even the early breakfast call Thinking of bringing Grand parents here next year for a short break

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are thinking of coming back. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

An honest review from two contractors staying at the kensington october.
As contractors working away from home luxury is not expected.
However, we felt our twin room was not up to par.Allowing pets at hotels is not a good idea as i found dog hair in our room and a smell of kennels.
Carpet had some strange looking stains on it and also on curtains.
Shower was hot but uncontrollable(requires thermostatic mixer).
On a positive note breakfast was ok and staff very friendly and parking ok.
I would have liked to have given a better review but the room let it down.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry that you experienced difficulties with your room. Any problems if reported immediately can be rectified on site and a room change made if possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed only one night at this hotel, wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is clean and all members of staff are lovely and friendly. We had a room with sea view which was great. We had an evening meal there and it was very nice, the service was spot on.I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. The only thing I would say is check you bill as they were going to overcharge us, but i questioned the bill and they rectified the overcharge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glynne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review it was so lovely to meet you both. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again. As to the bill we keep all copies and encourage guests to check this on departure. We do have staff in training and so always do this as a matter of policy. Kind regards and thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#1 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taunton House
Taunton House
#6 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 29 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the prettiest parts of the seafront overlooking the illuminated Venetian waterways and rock gardens, the Kensington with its stunning sea views is the ideal choice.Set in its own well kept grounds with ample parking, it is opposite the golden sandy beach. The Britannia Pier and the Golden Mile are only a short stroll away.Tastefully decorated in a traditional style, the Kensington has recently undergone a major refurbishment programme. All of the 26 bedrooms are individually designed and furnished to give maximum comfort and many have superb sea views. The premises has no step access to the restaurant, bar and function room. There is a ramp to the front of the property and an accessibility statement is available. Wheelchairs can be accommodated in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel Great Yarmouth
The Kensington Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing