We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Prom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prom Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We visited this lovely hotel on17th August , with our friends for my husbands birthday.
What a lovely welcome from Kayleigh , she was friendly lovely and very helpful, she gave our friends a 2nd choice of room, as she explained there room may be [ a bit noisy], which was very appreciated..
Both of our rooms were spotless, we had lovely sea views ,
Breakfast the next morning was delicious we had full English , good quality sausage, and hot toast unlimited coffee, only one waitress serving but she was BRILLIANT, very hard worker and very efficient, the prom bar/Pub staff were just as friendly , it has a very nice ambiance and nice surroundings .
We will definitely be visiting again .
Thanks again to KAYLEIGH you were so lovely,
Sharon and Vicky

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    42
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
73
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed from Friday 23rd to Sunday 25th August. We have stayed here several times now in different rooms on different floors. This time we were on the top floor bit of a hike up the stairs but it was fine. The room had a nice view of the sea and pier, and parking is right outside in front of the cinema in a locked area. Parking is £3 a day which I think is very reasonable for this area and it is secure. I can defintely advise staying in this hotel it is 1 minute walk to the shops and the beach is right opposite the entrance. The Pub ont he Prom does lovely meals at reasonable prices and its not noisy. Staff are very friendly and attentive. The only downside this time was the bed in our room had a bit dip in it on my side of the bed, it didnt stop me sleeping as I am shorter than my partner but it wasnt that comfortable to sleep on. Also the WIFI in the hotel wasnt working very well and the signal didnt reach our floor of the hotel, but from speaking to the hotel they are looking to replace the whole WIFI system to something stronger and better.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor as cooler and you have less stairs to walk up and down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trickytres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

me and my partner stayed here and it was lovely, rooms are very clean and tidy with sea views, staff are all very friendly and welcoming, the food was abit of let down but great location and pleasant stay,our room was on the corner above the bar and outside area but we didn't have any problems with noise and this was a friday night, previous reviews have mentioned problems with noise. would defo stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend & I specifically booked it due to the layout of the family room, there was a very spacious double with an ensuite & then a hallway leading to a further bedroom with 3 single beds in. It was perfect for us as the kids are older & don't really want to be in the same room as us. It's location is brilliant, the pub is great & both my partner & brother in law raved about the San Miguel (the best they've ever had apparently!) it's right by Regent Road & Britannia Pier a stones throw from the beach. The parking was in the cinema car park which is very close & secure much better than parking on the road. The downsides I would say were that the furnishings in the room could do with an update, the pine wardrobe in the kids room particularly as there was an elastic band around the door knobs to keep the doors closed ... It did amuse my daughter though when they took it off & not only the doors but the drawer opened too! Also we couldn't get the tv to work in the kids room but never got around to telling anyone until we left as we were out a lot so it wasn't a problem for us but obviously would be for some. I did think it was pricey but even so I would definately recommend it due to its fab location, the room layout, the parking & of course the pub. Also worth mentioning is Champagne Charlie's a few doors down, had a lovely evening sat outside with bubbly watching the world go by :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnee15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I do quite like this hotel, I've stayed a few times, but the last time an undercooked burger left me with sickness and vomiting for 24 hours, so I'll not be back.

Some rooms here are very large, and the bathrooms are always spacious and have a lot of surface space for towels/toiletries. The decor is very new and modern, and TV's etc. The power does go off if you remove your room key, which makes sense for cost as well as environmental reasons, but is annoying if you want to charge your laptop whilst out. Plug socket by the bed which is a must for me!

The car park annoys me greatly. You collect a key from reception (my car was in the process of being towed the first time I stayed while I collected the key!) go and unlock a padlock, park, close padlock, return key to reception. The car park isn't even "secure" because it's open to people walking through and therefore vandalism. Keycard access would be money well spent!

It also suffers from noise from the strip club opposite, until 1am, if your room faces it.

Aside from the food poisoning I probably would have dealt with the car park and stayed again (I'm around on business 2 days a week so I'd get bored of my favourites now and again!) but I can't face another 24 hours like that. Yes, it was extra fun negotiating the car park feeling lousy.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the pub and as far from the strip club as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairey83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

we just got back from staying at the prom hotel on Saturday, we stayed in the family room, it was large & clean it had everything you needed the staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely we was very impressed with the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kane0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

The staff are very friendly and helpful... No problems at all with any of them. The room 103 has clean walls but the carpet is nearing its end. The bath panel was hanging off when we arrived so I had too put it back on. There is no Air con so a ceiling fan would have been excellent or even a portable fan on offer in the room as the windows only open 6 inch for security reasons. The decor in the bathroom was a little poor as I had a flake of paint come down on me when taking a shower! The ceiling needs too be fully repainted in damp proof paint... a simple fix. A real concern are the taps for the shower as they are not marked hot / cold and it could be a danger too a child or even an elderly person.... Again, a simple fix. It was stated that a hairdryer and flat screen TV's are in all rooms but they were not in ours? Now for the good points.... A hair dryer was sorted for us by the very good staff!! The bar below is very nice and a big thanks too my personal Cocktail maker ( her first time) as it was very nice. The breakfast was very good and the fruit bowl , full English and service we could not knock. The parking just across a small road is also brill but a little old fashioned with a key and padlock idea. Swipe card system would be an advantage. Overall, it's a shame the little things let it down but I would say give it a try ( take your own fan and flat screen TV).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prom Hotel

Property: Prom Hotel
Address: 77 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 2DH, England (Formerly The Lincoln Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Prom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prom Hotel is situated on Great Yarmouth's golden mile and has recently undergone a major refurbishment. Currently the hotel boasts 33 rooms comprising of double, twins, premier rooms and suites. Seaview rooms also available which have private balconies. New function Suite 'The Green Room' is now available for private functions and conferences. The hotel has also recently opened a brand new restaurant 'Strollers' which serves contemporary modern cuisine as well the renowned Pub on the Prom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Prom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prom Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing