We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great when on business”
Review of Southern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southern Hotel
Ranked #78 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I've stayed here many times and Sally is always very accommodating. You always know what to expect.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crosonjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2011

I stayed in The Southern for several weeks and couldn't have asked for more. Sally and the whole team were very welcoming, the breakfast was big and good and arrived quickly. The small bar catered for our evening entertainment and there were always helpful suggestions for places to eat out and things to do. My room was large with a good en suite including a powerful shower and it was always impeccably clean. I honestly couldnt fault my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsLGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

I enjoyed my stay at the southern on entering I felt a warmth which made me feel right at home from the moment I entered. Staff were lovely and friendly and cleanliness was at a great standard.
It was only a few minute walk from the pier and seafront which was ideal for our weekend visit. Food was great full English in the morning ( worth getting up for) and lovely waitress service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was looking to book a stay in Yarmouth great stay ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleyg90uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Was greeted by a very rude and abrupt landlady upon arrival. Downstairs smelt badly of dogs and upstairs of an old peoples home. Views from room were disapointing and over priced.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallyhotelier, Owner at Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2010

We were disappointed that Phil found us to be lacking and that he felt I was rude, not everyone understands my sense of humour. We do have dogs but they are not allowed into any public areas in the hotel. My guests would be disappointed to be put into old folks home catagory. I would comment the same as the review previously only 1 week before his stay we were awarded a Silver award by VisitBritain which certainly would not have been awarded if we were smelly. Our photographs on our website and all advertising sites are 100% correct and upto date even showing the view from the room that Phil occupied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My wife and i stopped there for one night, the room was dirty, and for what we paid for the night £85.00. i would of thought it would be better, its out dated, the whole place smells of dogs. the bed was to hard. pillows rubish. god now's how long the milf had been in the room. i will never stop there again

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallyhotelier, Owner at Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2010

The Southern once a Merchant's House with it's wide impressive carved staircase, overlooks private grounds in a quiet position but close to the Wellington Pier, Leisure Centre and Outer Harbour.
The Southern having undergone a complete refurbishment when purchased 7 years ago is continually being redecorated to keep it in the best of decorative order. We now have some “ Premier Rooms” which have Egyptian cotton sheets, individually chosen bed linen, a mini fridge and flat screen Freeview TV.
The sunny licensed bar / lounge area is the perfect place to meet friends old and new, have adrink or read a while
Plentiful home cooked food is served in the comfortable dining rooms with waitress service with a separate table for each room with a choice of Bed & Breakfast & Bed Breakfast & Evening Dinner
All the bedrooms have en-suite facilities and are furnished to a high standard with guest’s comfort in mind.
Each bedroom has a remote colour TV, clock radio and complimentary tea / coffee making facilities
The hotel is fully centrally heated as we are open all year for your convenience and has Free Wireless Internet Access.
The Southern is "4 Star" graded with a Si8lver Award and are pleased to announce that they have been awarded 5 Stars under the new Environmental Health “ Food Safety Star Award” scheme. This assures you of high standards of cleanliness, hygiene and attention to detail whether you are on holiday or business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Booked this hotel for a short break. Having never been to Great Yarmouth before chose the Southern Hotel after reading reviews. Couldn't have chosen better, only 3 mins to beach and in the quieter part of Great Yarmouth (which is really important if you want a good nights sleep). The hotel is in a 200 year old property with lots of original features with an amazing staircase. We chose a superior family room which was decorated lovely with a good on suite with a modern shower and had everything you needed. The standard of cleanliness was excellent and room was cleaned and bed made each day. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choices and we were very well waited upon with very friendly/efficient service and there was a bar if you needed it. Also offered an evening meal if we wanted it. Owners live on site and were constantly asking if everything was OK. Would definitely recommend this hotel and are hoping to stay again next year. One last thing really cant understand the one bad recent review - must have had a bee in his bonnet!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0nd0nFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Walking up the stairs through the doors into the main reception area, the first thing that strikes you is the old Victorian staircase spiralling above the reception desk. From behind the desk Sally and Tony give you with the warmest welcome and proceed to show you in and make you feel at right at home.
The rooms are well decorated and clean with all en-suit facilities. You are able to while away the evening in the comfortable lounge/bar listening to the history about the lovely building over a nice cold drink with Sally and Tony and other guests.
After a nice quiet comfortable sleep you head down for breakfast and receive a good lively level of service from staff with a wide variety of breakfast goodies and the best scrambled eggs.
On the whole the stay at the Southern is second to none, thanks for a great stay Sally and Tony.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rory_D30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
St Annes Hotel
St Annes Hotel
#58 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
433 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#1 of 1 in Hemsby
22 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Hotel

Address: 46 Queens Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southern is a licensed family run property. 4 Star graded guest accommodation and has won awards for it's cleanliness and hygiene.It is situated in a quiet location overlooking private grounds and yet close to the beach and all attractions and amenities. All en-suite rooms have remote controlled colour TV, tea and coffee making facilities hairdryers and radio alarm clock. open all year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing